Another Sandstorm

Photographed by Nadia Masood

Dust-laden winds blew across Dubai this afternoon, lowering down the temperature and reducing visibility.  Just a few weeks ago, we had experienced a sandtorm, which I wrote about here.   Fortunately, weathermen describe this storm as “a short and weak spell”.

Photographed by Nadia Masood

The picture above shows Shaikh Zayed Road, the longest road in the United Arab Emirates and home to Dubai’s skyscrapers, including the famous Burj Dubai.  With reduced visibility, you can barely see the buildings just after that toll gate.

Photographed by Nadia Masood

The weathermen predicted moderate winds to continue at the speed of 12-24 kilometers per hour, blowing up sand and dust, for the next 24 hours.

So today we have gray, cloudless skies with lots of dust and sand.  Wonder how the skies elsewhere look like today?  Well, simply click on the image below.

Skywatch Friday

This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Another Sandstorm

  1. Pingback: Another Sandstorm | Tea Break

  2. Guy D says:

    Great shots, I can’t imagine what it would be like in a sandstorm.

    Have a great weekend!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

    It’s nothing pleasant, specially for someone who’s terribly allergic to dust – like myself 🙂

  3. Gill says:

    It almost looks foggy, I bet it hurts when then wind whips up the sand and hits your face?

    Gill in Canada

    Actually, the temperature is quite pleasant and the winds not too strong, so it’s not painful when you’re out there. But open your mouth and you can practically taste the sand 🙂

  4. ewok1993 says:

    If you don’t know, it just looks like a foggy day. It must be pretty cool and at the same time a bit of a hassle.

    My entry is here: http://calrat.blogspot.com

    I’d say it’s a bit cool and pretty much a hassle 😀

  5. kden says:

    I’ve never experienced a sandstorm but we do have dust storms around here. Great shot although it makes me want to sneeze 😉

    The way I see your gorgeous, cloud-filled sky, can’t imagine you having dust storms 🙂

  6. Steffi says:

    Very beautiful photos. They are really interesting to see. Thank you for sharing!

    Thank you for stopping by, Steffi 🙂

  7. Umm Travis says:

    Ya I think it is pretty cool too. But the husband keeps saying “oh what bad weather!” ALL DAY! I think it was great! HAHA specially cuz we dont usually get much weather changes. Just hot and less hot.

    I know! I’d accept all these sandstorms for as long as the temperature remains below 40 C. I feel as if we’re going to have a horrible, hot summer this year. Maybe your husband has had seen enough sandstorms already 🙂

  8. Not sure which I like better, a sandstorm or a snowstorm. Hmmm.

  9. sylvia says:

    I do know about sandstorms from my childhood and can still feel the stinging sands on my skin. It wasn’t in Dubai, but if you can believe it, in west Texas! It’s amazing how they take the color from the skies! These are terrific shots! Thank you for sharing! Happy SWF!

    Yes, Sylvia – sandstorms definitely take the color from the sky – leaving it all grayish and dull.

  10. Michele says:

    Gosh, so different from the snowstorms we are currently experiencing here!

    Mountain Retreat Photos

    And I saw your mountains pictures – they’re so beautiful! Your part of the world is so different than ours – both unique and special in their own ways 🙂

  11. Margy says:

    I was caught in a dust storm once in Death Valley in California. We were driving on a dirt road exploring at the time. It was a very scary thing. When we got back to the airport the wind had smashed the tail of our plane into the tarmac so much that the clip used to tie it down was scraped and bent. Now I am in the wet north. I invite you to come see my March snow shots from Powell Lake, BC. – Margy

    Hi Margy. That must’ve been such a bad storm indeed! But your place up north is breathtaking!

  12. Bill B. says:

    Airplanes can’t possibly fly in those conditions, can they?

    This was a “moderate and weak spell”, as the weathermen said, so flights weren’t canceled.

  13. Hi Nadia… I have never experienced sandstorms, only thunderstorms 🙂 How long does it usually last?

    Hi Sreisaat, this one lasted for 24 hours. I have had experienced thunderstorms when I was in the Philippines – I think they’re more scary than these sandstorms.

    Oh, and since I don’t have a Blogger account, I couldn’t post a comment on your blog about the gorgeous picture that you had posted there: the silhouette of the palace spires, the fading light, the orange sky and the calm water – such a pretty picture 🙂

  14. Asma Ahsan says:

    I dont like sand storm – asthma!

    I like to photograph changes in the weather, so I went out there in the sandstorm to take pictures (took an antihistamine later 😀 )

  15. Cavaliere says:

    I like the last photograph 🙂
    I tried portraying a scene of a desert gone pallid after a sandstorm in a poem. Here’s the link:
    http://cavaliere84.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/a-deserted-heart/

    Thank you, Cavaliere! I read the poem; it’s beautiful 🙂

  16. Haleem says:

    We only have snowstorms!

    Is it true that cars in Dubai don’t slow down even for sand storms?

    The one’s I’ve seen slowed down. Maybe there are those youngsters with sports cars who don’t slow down – regardless of any weather.

  17. Ubaid says:

    i am in love with the shots u take ….

    Thank you, Ubaid.

  18. mubi says:

    where have you been? :/

    i wana see sandstorms too!!

    Hey Mubi! I’ve been away – busy and stressed out. Now I’m rejuvenated and ready to blog and read blogs 🙂

  19. Niyaz says:

    Sand storms makes ma life so uncomfortable , such a natural enemy 😦

    even today we got lite storm again !!!

    I’ve seen the pictures of the recent sandstorm in Riyadh – it’s horrible. Looked like a thick blanket of dust has covered the entire city and it reminded me of The Mummy. Hope the weather gets better soon.

  20. Specs says:

    Looks a bit scary, frankly!! Sand storms have always been out of favor with me even though I like rain and thunder.

    Your city is beautiful!

    It’s more of an inconvenience than scary 🙂 Dubai has been planting flowers all over town; it’s really very pretty.

  21. Asma Ahsan says:

    Surprisingly, I have adjusted quite well to the climate here now – same was in Karachi – After two years there on a single anti histamine, I got used to the climate – here it took me a year only…

    Maybe you should also do a course of anti histamine after consulting a Pulmonologist – It really helps build immunity against the common cold as well. Vitamin C is the best option though. I have good resistance now to colds and flus since I added it to my diet on a regular basis. 🙂

    I do take antihistamine – but only when the allergy gets out of hand. And the Vit C, I’m getting it from fruits and juice. Thanks, Asma 🙂

  22. Pingback: Amazing structures reclaimed by the desert | WebEcoist

Leave a comment