Bumper to Bumper

Photographed by Nadia Masood

This really doesn’t happen everyday, fortunately.  I believe there was an accident this morning.

Photographed by Nadia Masood

Despite being stranded on the road for hours, the drivers waited patiently, unlike in Karachi where everyone would’ve started honking their horns endlessly.

Why don’t you take a virtual tour at That’s My World and discover something new?

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Bumper to Bumper

  1. The only thing to do in such situations is to be patient, but traffic like that IS nerve-wracking. I would hate to deal with it daily.

    p.s. The ballet was fun!

  2. sylvia says:

    Seems as though patience is generally sadly lacking in traffic jams, particularly one as big as this one! Great shots! made me thankful I’m not out on the highway or in downtown Seattle right now!!

  3. I’m glad the traffic is not always bumper to bumper where you are. The roads into and out of Toronto are nightmares!

  4. Carver says:

    You got some great shots while waiting in traffic. That is good that people were patient.

  5. falakk says:

    There is nothing I loathe more than a stupid traffic jam…except maybe ICT coursework. They’re tied. 😛

    Love, Falak

  6. Arija says:

    There is something to be said for taking a Zen moment or hour when in a situation like that.
    I would not want to be stuck in that traffic in an emergency though.

  7. Klaus says:

    Great post! Traffic jams are truly part of our world…
    Cheers, Klaus

  8. Fishing Guy says:

    Nadia: That was a neat view of all the traffic. That is quite a busy street with 8 lanes.

  9. SandyCarlson says:

    That’s quite a lot of traffic! Glad it’s not an everyday thing for you.

  10. Esther Garvi says:

    I loved this post! Great reminder of why I like the outback / the desert. Whenever I go to Kano (Nigeria) – where it actually looks worse than above as on top of the bumper to bumper traffic, no one follows any rules… – I am always relieved when I am on my way out of the city again. Just not a city person! 🙂

  11. ewok1993 says:

    Traffic is a regular part of my world. When I am caught in one (which is twice a day) I just let my mind wander what to post next in my blog 🙂

  12. koala says:

    Hate to stack in those!

  13. babooshka says:

    More cars there tahn on my island. .Three cars here is a jam

  14. Geogypsy says:

    Great shots. Sure glad I don’t have to deal with traffic. Guess it should be a time of patience, which seems to be rare in a traffic jam.

  15. wren says:

    I used to live in a city that had traffic like that every day. I’m glad I’m not in that situation any more.

  16. Guy D says:

    Thats what I call a traffic jam, great shots.

    Have a great week!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  17. Dirkjogt says:

    Not so funny when you got stuck in the traffic for hours. It happens every day all over the world.

  18. lawstude says:

    you are very to only have that scene occassionally. here in manila, that is a usual sight.

    My contribution this week is the beautiful island-paradise of Camiguin posted here

  19. Pingback: Bumper to Bumper | Tea Break

  20. bettyl says:

    Looks like some of the cities that I don’t miss in the US!

  21. Umm Travis says:

    HAHAHA that is nothing compared to Cairo! Suddenly a 4 lane road becomes 6!

  22. masood says:

    Traffic has always been a headache in Dubai/Sharjah. I remember some one said to me that the people spend half their lives in the traffic here.

  23. Reader Wil says:

    Very interesting! Cairo is more crowded . I was there in November.

  24. These are great shots!
    It all looks quite orderly – here (with only male drivers allowed) lanes are totally ignored and where there’s only supposed to be 3 lanes, somehow they turn it into 5 – no kidding! And honking starts before the red light even has a chance to turn green.

  25. This reminds me of my daily commute when I used to live in the UK!

  26. John says:

    Great post!
    I’m glad I do not have to run there. 🙂

  27. Abid says:

    Nice pictures!

    Br. Masood said: “Traffic has always been a headache in Dubai/Sharjah.”

    Understandably so; my uncle told me that they built a lot of these roads in the 1970s and 1980s.

    What they didn’t know was that the population of the country was going to quintuple in fifteen years, and so couldn’t possibly build infrastructure to accommodate for it!

  28. Neena says:

    True but Karachiites know they’ll be stuck in traffic forever and most have no ACs in their cars, offices or homes plus they don’t makes tons like those UAE’s.

    BTW I’m based in the US and people too are too jumpy whenever traffic jam hits them. If its not for the police enforcement everyone would die of some kind of road rage.

    Just curious how people behave in lines because couple of times on Dubai airport I saw people disregarding any kind of line and Arabs just don’t respect women.

  29. Niyaz says:

    OMG wat a traffic :-O

  30. Antigoni says:

    In some streets in Athens this happens every day.
    I hope nobody injured in that accident.

  31. Syaa says:

    In Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia where I live, this kind of traffic jam is common especially during peak hours. Anyway, nice photos. Where are the motorbikes?

  32. Sumera says:

    If you’ve got AC in your car, you’d live in it 😀

  33. Mary says:

    Wow! I’m not sure how patient I’d be in that mess. Thanks for the heads up on the cool site. I’ll definitely check it out!

    Hope all is well with you, Nadia. I’m sorry I’ve been absent for such a long time. Life’s crazy!

  34. Haleem says:

    wow this looks huge

  35. Haleem says:

    I guess Dubai was going for World’s Biggest traffic jam as well LOL

  36. Cavaliere says:

    This post wasn’t worth posting on your blog.Pardon me for being so blunt but I ve always seen good photographs from you & these two are just not the type.These are ordinary.

    These pictures are meant to be ordinary, just like the post 🙂

  37. Specs says:

    In Islamabad, we call a anything more than ten cars a ‘traffic jam’ 🙂

    Though I must admit, compared to karachi’s pictures, this looks like a NICE traffic jam (if such a thing exists!) No three lane road being used as a six lane, hehehe!

  38. Asma Ahsan says:

    In Karachi – I got used to being late – so I used to leave house early – used to take fifteen minutes to cover half a kilometre sometimes! 😦

Leave a Reply

