A Funfilled Weekend With The Girls

With Masood away for three whole days,  I have had the chance to spend the entire weekend with Mom and sisters – of course, Masood and I spoke on the phone, like 5-6 times a day, updating each other – but being with the girls helped me not miss him that much.

My sister picked me up on Friday, right after the prayers, and I learned that they have planned for a  BBQ  party at Zabeel park!  The weather was perfect and we had a fabulous time.  Masood took the camera with him, so I played around with my sister’s fancy Sony camera.  As expected, I failed to take good photographs because:  the touch screen menu totally confused me and it was already pretty dark.

Mom won the ludo match, while I won the snakes ‘n ladders.  It was heartwarming to hear her laugh during the game.  We spread a blanket on the cool grass and talked while staring at the cloudless sky.  It was almost midnight when we reached home.  Then we talked some more!

Next day, we went for a long drive (it’s not technically long, but we didn’t know our way and went through all the wrong exits on the highway) to meet my sister’s high school classmate and Mom’s former student.   When we reached their place, my sister panicked, “Oh my God, I can’t parallel park!”  None of us were good at parallel parking, so we asked our host to park our car for us.

I had great bonding moments with the girls over the weekend, Alhumdulillah.  I loved it when I didn’t have to worry about cooking and depended on Mom to feed us.  I found it so cute when my youngest sister, aged 23, jumps onto my lap and hugs me tight.  I felt so much comfort sleeping besides Mom, and with my sister crawling between us in the middle of the night.  I loved the fact the when we’re together, there’s only love and happiness – and a lot of talking and giggling, of course.   I am filled with so much love at the moment!

Just a couple more hours later, Masood will be home, InshaAllah.  In fact, his plane is expected to land anytime soon.  I reached home from work at 9:30 pm (office felt so empty and lonely without him; specially missed him during prayers) cooked dinner, cleaned the house and changed the sheets.  Our home is now ready to welcome him back.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Funfilled Weekend With The Girls

  1. Umm Travis says:

    Awwwwwwww ma shaa Allah! So cute! Glad u had a nice time!

    Yes, Sis – cherished every moment spent with the girls 🙂

    PS: A thousand thanks for the precious “One Lovely Blog Award”. It’s on My Shelf page already 🙂

  2. Haleem says:

    the love you have for each other is an inspiration!

    Thanks, Haleem 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Funfilled Weekend With The Girls | Tea Break

  4. Abid says:

    Nice post! Good to hear that you had a nice time :). Where was your husband visiting?

    [[When we reached their place, my sister panicked, “Oh my God, I can’t parallel park!” None of us were good at parallel parking, so we asked our host to park our car for us.]]

    LOL. The thought of a couple of women attempting and then failing to park their car is just hilarious. Hahaha!!

    Most probably the same thing is going to happen in a few weeks again – my mom is visiting my grandma (her mother) in Pakistan at the end of this month and she will stop over in Dubai/Sharjah for two days as well (my uncle/aunt live there).

    And it is a known fact that my mom and my aunt will go shopping at some mall as well, and they will probably struggle to park their car also lol.

    Yeah, yeah – hans lo all you want. We’ll get better at this someday 🙂

  5. Aadil says:

    Its nice to hear that you’re doing great with the family!
    May the love remain intact and may it increase manifolds!

    Hope Masood bhai arrived safe and sound! 🙂

    Ameen to your dua. Yes, he arrived last night safe and sound, and happy – Alhumdulillah.

  6. Sumera says:

    Aww you both are cute! I also did a mini spring clean -just for the fun of it 😀

    So now you live in a spic-and-spac home 🙂

  7. mubi says:

    “Our home is now ready to welcome him back.”

    cute

    🙂

  8. Specs says:

    Is 9:30 pm early? :S You guys work late hours!

    Glad to know you had a good time with your mum and siblings.

    P.S. You’ve been awarded the ‘Honest Scrap’ award. Congratulations and keep blogging!

    Hehe, that’s only because we start late – 12 noon 😀

    Honest Scrap Award – now that’s a pretty cool one! Thank you soooo much *hugs*

  9. Sabiha says:

    Awwww, alhamdulillah, really great to hear you had a good time. Really sweet that you are so close, wish my family was like that hehe.

    Awww, thanks, Sis. How are you doing? Sorry I haven’t been visiting your blog lately. InshaAllah, will stop by soon 🙂

  10. Ubaid says:

    a post dedicated to all good people i know … including u 🙂 !! http://ubeee.blogspot.com/2009/03/hijrat-mumkin-nahi.html

    Thanks, Ubaid!

  11. um almujahid says:

    mash’Allah what a nice and relaxing week-end 🙂

    Yes, Sis – it most certainly was a much-needed relaxation 🙂

  12. Asma Ahsan says:

    I was back home too. Every time I go back to my parents home, memories hit me like a truck full of bricks. I am bulldozed by the sheer force of them. 🙂

    I get upset the day I come back. Its the same everytime. 😦

    I understand the feeling, though we all live in the same city. Cheer up, Asma Jee 🙂

  13. Asma Ahsan says:

    It was a good trip… 🙂
    Allah ka shukar hai – Its just that I have to ration phone calls because calling home is so expensive!

    I try to get them to keep contact over the net more now – but they are so lazy. 😡

    They call me more than I call them since its cheaper to get calls from home than to make them from here. 😦

    I’m glad you had a great time with your family 🙂

Leave a Reply

