Date and Honey Cake

Nadia's Date and Honey Cake

Wanting to reach out and get to know her neighbors, my lovely sister, Umm Travis, took the initiative and baked  her infamous (her in-laws absolutely loved it) Date ‘n Honey Loaf.  By doing so, she not only shared this yummy food with her neighbor, but lots of love as well.

And since I am into baking these days, I had to try her recipe out!  However, I don’t have a loaf pan so I used the round one that I have.  And therefore, this recipe is called the Date ‘n Honey Cake instead.  Also, I played a bit with the ingredients, using butter instead of corn oil, and added vanilla flavor, cinnamon and eggs.   Here’s the recipe:

Soak:

1 cup of de-pitted, chopped dates in 1/2 cup of hot water.  Set aside.

Beat:

1/4 cup soft butter

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs (beat in one at a time)

2 tbsp vanilla essence

Add:

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup milk

the softened dates (soaked earlier)

Bake:

Grease the pan lightly and pour the cake mixture uniformly into it.

Bake in a pre-heated oven at 160 C for 40 minutes.

The Result:

Piece of cake

A piece of cake!

The entire house filled up with the heavenly aroma of vanilla and dates as the cake baked in the oven.  This cake tastes very good;  not too sweet and the taste of the dates just melts into your mouth.  My husband, who can’t even finish a piece of cake, actually insisted to bring some to work!

And by the way, this cake tasted much better the next day.

Umm Travis, thank you so much for sharing the recipe and love.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Date and Honey Cake

  1. masood says:

    It was very delicious and now, being the head of our family, I am making a formal announcement that every weekend, we would like to have this kind of cake baked from your soft hands 🙂

    “Huqm ki Taameel Ho” 🙂

    Aap ka huqm sar aankhoun pe 🙂

  2. falakk says:

    Mmmm, that looks so delish!
    *Blissful sigh*

    Love, Falak

    Too bad it can’t be Twittered to you 😀

  3. Umm Travis says:

    Yum yum yummers 🙂 Im gonna try that too… and I need to buy a new baking pan, cuz yesterday i tried to bake cookie bars in a cake loaf and it was a big disaster LOL

    Oooh, cookie bars! You have to share the recipe for that one too, pretty please 🙂

  4. Ubaid says:

    yeah i just love the smell of vanilla essence. was making yogurt cake yesterday with my mom and all day i smelled like a cake lolz … but i just love the vanilla smell its uff !!

    and this cakes look scrumptious but can’t make this one … as dates are warm !! so totally NOOOO for me :p

    I find the scent of vanilla very relaxing. In fact, I have scented vanilla candles, vanilla room freshener, vanilla body lotion, and vanilla perfume.

    You can, perhaps, substitute the dates with raisins?

  5. Specs says:

    Wow, its SO yummy and nice looking.

    Wonder what it’ll taste like with a cup of coffee…. or some vanilla ice cream. YUMMY.

    When I bake a date cake, I usually brush the top with some warm honey and then sprinkle it with lines of powdered sugar just as a decoration. Though its just as nice this way!

    We tried and it was perfect with coffee! Vanilla ice cream would add too much calories, hehe.

    I did initially intend to sprinkle powdered sugar on top, I had done it with the apple pie which gave it a glossy appearance, but I’m too calorie-obsessed lately, so I decided not to.

    Do bake and share the recipe (and picture, which is a must) when you feel better. I’m so into baking!

  6. Haleem says:

    this looks lovely and will probably break my new year resolution of losing that extra 10 kg.. but what the heck! we will bake it…

    You should bake this! It’s so very yummy.

  7. limeandlemon says:

    Looks delicious … nicely posted .. Laila

    Thank you, Laila. Welcome to the blog!

    You’ve got a very interesting food blog, with lots of step-by-step pictures. The Musakhan recipe looks very, very yummy. Will try that out soon, InshaAllah.

  8. Abid says:

    Ohhh mommy!!! I’ve got a recipe for you!

    This recipe is amazing because in Ramadhan I have this annoying habit of going date-shopping on the first day of the month.

    Naturally, I am hungry, and I therefore purchase about 5 kilograms of dates from different places (KSA, Morocco, Algeria, Iran, Tunisia, California etc.)

    However, no one in our house has a habit of eating dates outside of Ramadhan. So the dates sit there until next Ramadhan, and before my mom has a chance to take them out, I have already purchased another 5 kg for that year!

    This recipe will hopefully get rid of some of those dates. BTW which dates are the best for this? Which ones did you use?

    In that case, this is the perfect recipe! And it’s so easy to bake too. I used the soft, juicy dates from Iran. After soaking in them in warm water for 30 minutes, these dates can be mashed very easily with a fork. Eat this cake the next day – guaranteed to be yummy 🙂

  9. Nikki says:

    I like ur improvisation 😉 good one and yeah most of the cakes taste much much better the other day, far more softer and tastier 😉

    Thank you, Nikki. I just saw your boneless chicken on shashlik sticks – very, very yummy looking! I HAVE to try those 🙂

    Welcome to the blog!

  10. Nikki says:

    And yeah will share the recipe too. Along with that ur tagged =D

    Thanks for the both the recipe and the tag 🙂

  11. Roohi says:

    Asalaamu Alaikum,

    How are you? This might sound freaky but I used to visit your blog…back in the day when I had my own before I deleted it, but I never commented on anything. I was just blog hopping and came across your blog again which I had totally forgotten about. Anyways, just wanted to say hi and I should try to make that cake! Looks yummy! I’m sure my husband would appreciate it if I started to learn how to cook! LOL!

    Excellent blog Mash’Allah!

    Take care! 🙂

    Walaikum Assalam!

    Welcome to the blog, Roohi. I’m doing very good, Alhumdulillah. I’m so glad you found your way here again and finally commented 🙂

    LOL – yeah, you better start cooking! This is my first attempt at this cake and it turned out perfectly yummy, so go and bake 🙂

    Why did you delete your blog? If you ever create a blog again, please let me know so I could stop by.

  12. д§mд says:

    Looks absolute yum :o)

    Thanks for recipe too =)

    You’re most welcome 🙂

  13. Wakas Mir says:

    Ohhh looks so goood. Gonna try it soon 😀 Just had one that looked similar but well not with same stuff 😛

    Thank you!

  14. Asma Ahsan says:

    Wow – bhook lag gaee hai dekh kar hee!!!

    I will try it too – havent baked cakes for ages! 🙂

    And when you do, post up pictures and recipe 🙂

  15. hfm says:

    My baby sister’s the head baker in my house,she made carrot cake and it was heaven on my tongue!
    🙂
    yours looks super scrumptious but Im not too keen on dates mixed with anything else.

    But you won’t really taste the dates so much, just a hint of it 🙂

  16. Humaira says:

    Sounds really yummy! Thanks for sharing and Inshallah I’ll try this out!

  17. Pingback: ‘tis the Season of Dates! «

  18. Pingback: How to make a Honey Date Cake « OuT oF sCoPe

Leave a comment