Clean House

CleaningWith Eid just a few days away, my cousin-brothers in Karachi, aged 19 and 22, decided to help out their mom by cleaning the house.  My aunt is very particular when it comes to cleaning, and despite having a full time job, she still musters up enough strength to keep the house neat and orderly.  A lady comes in daily for a few hours to do the cleaning and laundry, but my aunt is never satisfied and would end up doing the task herself.

My aunt’s only daughter is now married and settled abroad.  My aunt has been recently diagnosed with hypertension and is on medication.  And since it is mandatory to clean every nook and corner of the house a few days before Eid, my brothers, for the first time in their lives, took it upon themselves to do this crucial task.

They mutually agree to start off with the living room.  Karachi is a very dusty place.  You wipe your furniture clean in the morning, and by noon, dust will settle ever so gracefully on them.

Ammi, just relax yourself.  We’ve got this covered!” yells the younger brother from the living room.

And so, armed with a vacuum cleaner, the brothers step in to face the challenge.

First, they vacuum the entire carpet.  Then, they push the sofa aside, revealing a generous layer of dust on the floor.  The younger brother spends a frustrating five minutes trying to suck the dust with the machine.  The dust remainedvacuum cleaner subbornly scattered on the floor.  It didn’t occur to both of them that the bag in the machine is already full and the filter needed cleaning.

The older brother assesses the situation and announces that he has a plan.  He decides to take over;  he pulls the floor brush off the machine’s hose and turns on the blower.   This brilliant technique of his worked;  he is able to successfully lift the dust off from behind the sofa.

Only problem is that the dust is now all over the room – brown powdery dust, lightly floating about everywhere.

Alarmed, the older brother orders the younger one, with great urgency in his voice, “Get two old tshirts, wet – stat!”

The younger brother rushes back into the living room a couple of minutes later, with two of their old tshirts, soaked in water.

“Quick, now wave that in the air,” instructs the older brother, holding one the tshirts and swirling it in the air in an attempt to catch the dust.

At that exact moment, my aunt decides to come out of her relaxing state and get a peek into what her noble sons are doing.  Luckily, my uncle is nearby; he probably had caught her before she fainted.

PS:  My own house is still a mess.  While the public sector enjoy 12 days off straight, we get three days.  I have tomorrow to clean the house and prepare our clothes.  Eid is on Monday, InshaAllah.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Clean House

  1. LOOOOL!!!!!
    Omg, I would have LOVED to have been there. Or… I guess I could always ask my brothers to clean something, sit back, and enjoy the show… and the resulting mess. Guys can be so clueless. *rolls eyes*
    Your poor, poor aunt.

    When I caught one of them on Yahoo Messenger, he was like,”Everything was under control until Mom came.”

  2. masood says:

    LOL @ my two brother in laws. I myself don’t know how I am holding my laugh here in the office, while the network-being-down issue is still in my head.

    Take it easy. I’m glad you finally smiled after this very stressful day 🙂

  3. Umm Travis says:

    OMG! LOOOOOOOVE THE NEW BANNER! HOW DID U GET IT TO SNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW?!?!?!?!?!

    Thanks, sis! The snow is pretty cool, isn’t it? Thanks to the people behind WordPress. Just go to your dashboard -> appearance -> extra, and click to activate the snow effect. It’ll be snowing here at WordPress until January 4, 2009 🙂

  4. Haleem says:

    Here it’s snowing in real. Light snow .. just makes it good and Christmassy.

    Lol at your cousins’ attempt to catch the dust. I could see myself doing the same thing. LOL!

    You could imagine yourself doing the same?! *shocked* Okay, perhaps it’s a guy thing to catch the dust 😀

  5. Amir says:

    hahaha…that would have been quite a sight to see. Oooh snow too. We get the real stuff…don’t need it on my blog too…haha….except at least I won’t have to shovel it here :p

    See, that means WordPress snow is still better, hehe.

  6. Pingback: Clean House | Tea Break

  7. mubi says:

    i love snow!!!!!!! brrrr 😀 hehhe nice! i like ur snow theme and desert banner, umm do they go together?

    lol, just keep the boys out of cleaning, i mean if u really want REAL cleaning hehehe

    Thanks, Mubi. No, the snow theme doesn’t go with the desert banner, and that’s why I love it!

    Or, we can supervise the boys while they clean, hehe

  8. Abid says:

    “i like ur snow theme and desert banner, umm do they go together?”

    Antarctica is the largest desert in the world, and it’s covered with ice 365 days a year 🙂

    Oh, haan na. Antartica is the world’s driest place, receiving less than two inches of precipitation annually. So that justifies my combination of snow and desert. Thanks, Abid bhai!

  9. hfm says:

    I don’t know why but the idea of catching dust and flapping towels in the air reminds me of Northern Lights. Strange.
    😐

    I always tell my mum that the lads in the house should have their equal share of housework to do-amazingly, my brother is pretty great at ironing so on Eid day when the boys are back from namaaz and the girls are trying to get ready,my brother will iron any last minute clothing. It’s brilliant!!

    Ohh and Eid Mubarak.
    🙂
    Love the snow!

    Northern Lights is about dust, the mysterious elementary particle, that’s probably why this post reminded you of it.

    Aww, that’s really sweet of your brother! It’s one thing to know how to iron clothes efficiently and another to actually do it. You’re lucky, hehe.

    Eid Mubarak to you too, sis 🙂

  10. Sabiha says:

    😀 Guys are so great when they try to clean, my little brother would definitely think it a wise idea to try to catch dust if we had that issue here. Alhamdulillah, my husband is great at doing dishes, but anything else…hehehe. Eid Mubarak Sis!

    Masood hates to do the dishes; he prefers to cook.

    Eid Mubarak to you too. I’m looking forward to read on how your first Eid prayers went. Have a joyous and blessed Eid, sis!

  11. Niyaz says:

    Eid- Mubarak Sis 🙂

    Khair Mubarak, bro. Lucky guy – surrounded by all family members 🙂

  12. Niyaz says:

    clean & nice theme !!!

    Thank you! 🙂

  13. Jus says:

    Oh well… its the tot that counts.

    12 straight days! NICE!!!

    We only get 1 day in Singapore. But even then, we dont celebrate much either.

Leave a comment