My Bucket List and A Cool Award

Nadia's Bucket ListWho would have thought that a simple, innocent-looking bucket could be associated with death?  Well, not that my bucket list literally translates into my death list!  My bucket list would then be, more appropriately, a list of things that I would like to accomplish before I kick the bucket. Funny phrase.  Since when did someone die as a result of kicking a bucket?

I actually Googled this up and found that the link between buckets and death was made by at least 1785, when the phrase was defined in Grose’s Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue:  “To kick the bucket, to die.”

One theory as to why, albeit with little evidence to support it, is that the phrase originates from the notion that people hanged themselves by standing on a bucket with a noose around their neck and then kicking the bucket away.

Why such a fuss over a bucket list?  Well, that’s because my lovely sister, Umm Travis, has tagged me into this game.  Here’s the rule:

Simply state any number of goals you want to achieve in the next 8-10 years. Let them be small goals, big goals, silly goals. It is always nice to think about a bucket list, write it down, and share it. But most importantly, tag others to do the same when you are done.”

Okay, now back to my bucket list.  I have, Alhumdulillah, covered most of the items on my bucket list, which I had mentally prepared several years ago.  Henceforth, my list would include:

1.  Perform hajj

2.  Have and raise well-mannered and God-fearing children.

3.  See all the seven wonders of the world with my husband.

4.  Take my parents abroad with my own money.

5.  Own a home with a beautiful garden.

The list is actually quite long, but I’d rather stop here least I bore you all.  Also, this tag is open to all my delightful readers.  Just link back and let me know that you’ve posted your bucket list, so I remember to stop by and take a look.

And now, for the award.

The Butterfly Award

See that cool award?  Oh yes, I just received that!  When I started blogging, I had never thought that people would actually spend time reading what I am posting, let alone think my blog is cool.  So this award really means a lot to me.  Thank you so much, Umm Travis for this beautiful award.

I would love to pass on this Butterfly Award to the coolest blogs that I read regularly.  Honestly, all the blogs that are listed in my Friends page are equally cool for me, that’s why they’re there in the first place.  So guys, this award is for you!  Feel free to paste this cool award in your blog and pass the coolness around!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Bucket List and A Cool Award

  1. masood says:

    You deserve more and more awards, my sweetheart. I love reading your posts and you are my inspiration to start my blog. I never thought I would be writing blogs and will soon complete hundred posts. The credit goes to you and hence imagine this is an award from my side. Keep doing great work 🙂

    Jaan,

    Aww, thank you so much! I’ll bake you something special tomorrow, InshaAllah 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Bucket List and A Cool Award | Tea Break

  3. Abid says:

    “1. Perform hajj”

    This is one thing I learned in this last year:

    Before I used to think that the closer you live to Mecca, the higher the chance you have of performing hajj.

    Now I believe that one’s distance from Mecca has nothing to do with it. A poor man from New Zealand can perform Hajj if God wills it, and a rich man from Mecca will not if that’s God’s will.

    I know this was the most useless anecdote ever, but I felt like sharing it. 😛

    Abid,

    It’s not a useless anecdote, my brother. In fact, it makes full sense. And I agree with you that distance has absolutely nothing to do with a person’s chances of performing hajj.

  4. misspecs says:

    Congratulations on the award: you SO deserve it because this is one of the best blogs I know!

    Your bucket list was inspirational! You’re so selfless, Nadia!

    Specs,

    Aww, thank you so much. Your sweet comment has made my day *hugs* 🙂

  5. mubi says:

    i hope you complete all the things in ur bucket list, inshAllah 🙂

    indeed the coolest blog :)!!

    Mubi,

    Aww, thanks, sis 🙂

  6. Haleem says:

    are the seven world wonders still there?

    Hajj has become so expensive now ! Looks like the Saudi gov is minting money with hajj.

    I’ve been to Taj Mahal and it’s very much there, got to see the rest to make sure, hehe.

    Oh yeah, and hajj is getting more and more expensive each year plus Masood has heard rumors that we can’t go hajj from the UAE, we have to go to our home country first and then go to hajj from there. I think it has something to do with meeting quota and all. Not sure.

Leave a Reply

