Eid Mubarak!

A very happy and blessed Eid to my beloved readers!

Ramadan 2010 has been very rewarding for me, alhumdulillah.  I won’t go into details, but this year’s Ramadan was truly filled with blessings for me and my family, and I am immensely grateful to Allah for everything.  I pray that all our ibadah and prayers are accepted and answered.

One of the several beautiful and precious moments this Ramadan happened a couple of days ago, when Masood came home from work and handed me an envelope.  I abruptly stopped whatever I was doing at that time – I think I was reading a book – and jumped to grab the envelope and carefully (but very excitedly) tore it open to reveal this very special card …

My dear readers, I must confess that I have never received anything personal in the mail (the regular, not the electronic one!) since Masood sent me a package five years ago in Manila (that was before we were married and he was trying to leave a good impression.  And it worked).  But since then, I haven’t really received a card or letter through mail.  So imagine how excited I was.   There’s just something really wonderful about opening a stamped envelope …

Yep, it came all the way from Malaysia!  Notice the first stamp?  That’s a star fruit.  And in Tagalog it’s called Balimbing, quite similar to how it’s called in Malaysia.

And then, there’s the hand-written note, the one thing that makes any card extra special …

The thoughtful and very kind (mashaAllah!) person behind this card is Hajar Alvi.  She’s one of the several bloggers that I truly admire.  When she mentioned on the blog that she’s organizing her second Eid Greetings Card event (I missed it last year), I e-mailed her my postal address immediately.

Oh, and and tucked inside the card was this beautiful gift …

I fell in love!  It’s a magnet, which I immediately used to bookmark the book I was reading.  It doesn’t fall off – making it a super awesome bookmark that I will use all the time!

It could be for some other purpose, but I’m using it as a bookmark.  At the back, it mentions that the artwork is Indian in origin.  And this is from the Islamic Arts Museum in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Hajar, I can’t express how much I appreciate the card and the gift.  Thank you so much for this kind gesture!  Have a beautiful Eid, sis.

What did you guys receive this Eid?

 

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Eid Mubarak!

  1. sakura says:

    salam,

    eid mubarak sis!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! selamat hari raya!! maaf zahir batin.. this wat we usually say in malaysia…

  2. Mezba says:

    Eid Mubarak Nadia. Have a happy and blessed one!

  3. Sajib says:

    Eid Mubarak to you too. 🙂 It’s really exciting that Eid is finally here, but I’m going to miss Ramadan. 😦

  4. Humaira says:

    Eid Mubarak! That’s such a lovely gift to recieve!

  5. masood says:

    MashaAllah! A very happy eid to you and your friend, Hajar. We get very rare concerns and appreciations through mail now a days but it still has special thing in it. May Allah bless us all on this Eid. Aameen.

  6. Sweet nothings between two sweet people!! This is what I feel reading your mind (the article above!)

    I am happy to see you in joy receiving a cute gift, Nadee 🙂

    Have a happy Eid!

  7. Sounds like you have a wonderful friend! That’s a lovely magnet/bookmark. So glad to hear things are going well for you and Masood. Take care of yourself!

  8. Eid Mubarak to you and Masood! 😀
    Have a wonderful day

    PS: Thats sucha beautiful gift!

  9. Lat k says:

    Eid Mubarak,Nadia! That is one awesome bookmark! And it’s so very nice of your friend to send you Eid gifts! Hope you enjoy a very happy Eid!May Allah bless you much in this world and in the hereafter!

  10. reedssss says:

    eid mubarak nadia bajiiiiiiiii
    hope u enjoy ur eidddd well 🙂

  11. Haris Gulzar says:

    Salam sis. I received Eidi… 😛
    Eid Mubarak to you and your Family. May Allah SWT bless you all 🙂

  12. Hajar Alwi says:

    Assalamualaikum Nadia ~~~ !

    Only in your capable photographic hands can simple items turn out to be a work of art! I didn’t realize stamps can look that good … haha! Alhamdulillah, I’m glad you received the card & bookmark. Have a blessed Eid sis! Hugs & love to you and your loved ones! 🙂

  13. Mohammad says:

    Wishing you and masood a very happy eid baji … may this year bring a lot of joy and happiness for you.

  14. nadia says:

    Thank you so much, everyone! Your sweet and thoughtful comments made my day extra special!

  15. Mohammad says:

    Nadia baji can u mail me the password for the stolen post i read it yesterday where in the restaurant used your snap for the biryani…would like to know what happened next

  16. Eid Mubarak my dear Nadia!!!! So nice to hear about your lovely eid!
    I had a great eid too with my hubby around for Eid after two years! 🙂

  17. nadia says:

    Mohammad – sorry for the late reply. But I can see that you got the password since you’ve left another comment on that post 🙂

    Mrs. Umer – Yay at spending eid with the hubby! 🙂

  18. Sarah says:

    Hi Nadia, I was searching for eid mubarak card & came across ur blog. We really do sending cards to family & friends in Malaysia and always feel the same feeling u did. It is wonderful & excited opening the envelope…this year I will be celebrating in Dubai & wonder if I can find local shop selling eid mubarak card during Ramadhan, I would love to have a visit instead going to mall….thanks.. & hope you may enjoy this year Ramadhan & Eid Fitr.

    • nadia says:

      Assalamu Alaikum Sarah! Thank you so much. Regarding Eid cards, there are several bookshops in the city that carry really nice Eid cards. If want to know anything else about Dubai, I’ll be glad to help you. Just drop me an email at admin@nadiamasood.com.

  19. Sana Javed says:

    Amongst various Muslim festivals, the Eid-ul-Fitr is counted as the most popular festival which holds great religious importance. The day is celebrated after the completion of the fasting month of Ramadan. It is said to be the holy month and therefore, every Muslim fasts strictly and follows the commandments of the religion. According to the holy book Quran, Prophet Muhammad was blessed with spiritual knowledge during the thirty days of this month. On Eid, people wake up early in the morning and prepare sweets and other dishes and then share among the family and friends. People also exchange gifts and prays for the happiness and prosperity.

    I am using ‘Post My Greetings’ a gifting portal that offers a wide array of greetings for every occasion and you can also find numerous greeting cards on Eid. To know more – http://www.postmygreetings.com/greeting-cards/festivals/eid-ul-fitr

Leave a Reply

