‘tis the Season of Dates!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s the season to go crazy over dates!  They’re everywhere.  But they look specially spectacular when they’re still hanging off a branch.  I’m told that it’s illegal to just go and pick dates.  So a lot of them just ripen on the branch, get eaten by birds, or eventually fall on the ground and get squished.

The pictures that I’ve posted were taken just behind my office building, where a man-made pond or pool (water evaporated completely, so there’s just a layer of salt) is lined by dozens of date palm trees.  I went out with my precious Nikon and as I removed the lens cap, I saw the moisture rapidly condense over the lens, and I gasped! It was that humid!  My poor Nikon.

Tip:

If you find yourself in a dry and humid place one day and find it extremely necessary to take pictures, put your camera and lens into a plastic bag. The idea is that when you go outside, the condensation forms on the bag, not on the contents. You would then have to wait until the temperature equalizes before you take the camera out.

And now, back to the dates.

A 100 gram portion of fresh dates is a premium source of vitamin C.  Each date provides about 20 calories, and is a good source of carbohydrate, fiber, and potassium, also providing some calcium and iron along with other vitamins and minerals.  Hence, after looking around and making sure no one was watching, we plucked a couple of dates off a branch and munched on them.  Yum!

I think I might even bake a date and honey cake again sometime soon.

Oh, and I’ve also read that dates can be eaten with whole milk for relief against stomach ulcers. You’ll need to soak the dates in the milk for sometime and peel them before eating.

More info about the medicinal properties of dates here.

This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to ‘tis the Season of Dates!

  1. Raheel says:

    Both fresh and dry dates are my favourite and not to forget the super-heavy milkshake. Picture with trunk & red dates is my favourite amongst the bunch.

  2. masood says:

    Soft dates are my favorite, desperately waiting for Ramadan to have dates regularly 🙂

  3. 'liya says:

    Love the pics! And yum, gotta love dates, who doesn’t? 😀 You’re right, there’s something extra special about eating dates in Ramadan!

  4. Pingback: ‘tis the Season of Dates! | Tea Break

  5. reedssss says:

    lovely post n lovely dates

  6. Mezba says:

    There’s nothing like dates and Rooh Afza in Ramadan!

  7. Pingback: ‘tis the Season of Dates! | Tea Break

  8. Atie says:

    Good quality dates are very expensive here in my country 😦
    I wish I could grow my own huge date palm tree just behind the house and be merry with the supply every Ramadhan!
    Oh! Ramadhan is coming soon! The whole family were tested last Ramadhan when my husband was warded for almost 14 days. I hope this time we could nicely complete our tadarus Qur’an, insya-Allah. Take care, sis Nadia. You are simply wonderful!

    • nadia says:

      Atie, you are too sweet, mashaAllah. Last Ramadan must have been so difficult for you and your family. May Allah make it easy for you – and the rest of us – this year.

  9. sharmila says:

    It’s been a long time that i haven’t seen dates (hanging from its tree) … i m not that fond of dates but in some particular dishes – it taste heaven !! Love those pic.

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Sharmila. Actually, we do not eat dates regularly even though we get the best dates here in the U.A.E. all throughout the year. It’s only during Ramadan that we start shopping for dates and eating it on a daily basis 🙂

  10. Very pretty pics! (I’ve never seen a date tree living in Midwest US!) can’t wait till Ramadan…I agree that dates taste best then!

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, LavendarClouds! Date trees are pretty when they’re heavy with all those ripe, juicy fruits, otherwise, they’re just … simple, plain trees. You can’t even hang a swing on it 🙂

  11. Tes says:

    Wow.. It’s near to Ramazan, so we have to stock up some dates…. I have never seen a date on the tree before. This looks so amazing. I wanna try growing this.
    The pictures are so beautiful!

    • nadia says:

      Hi Tes! For as long you have the right amount of humidity and warm temperature, you’ll be able to grow a healthy date palm tree 🙂

  12. Alisha says:

    Nadia!! *screams* I just made the date ‘n honey cake last night!!! Talk about coincidence!!!!

    Okay I guess it came out a touch dramatic. 😉 But really I had every intention of leaving a comment on your date ‘n honey cake post about how well mine came out. And you’re absolutely right about the heavenly aroma of dates and honey…my dad said that he could even smell it from outside our house which is of course an exaggeration on his part. But nevertheless, I am very happy. Thank you!

    • nadia says:

      Alisha, what a wonderful coincidence!!! LOL, your dad is so sweet 😀 I’m happy your cake came out wonderful – now I’m craving for it 😀

  13. Lat says:

    Wow! I’ve never seen a date tree! They look gorgeous! I’t just a week or so away before the dates become a regular feast here.Thank you for sharing these beautiful pics!

    • nadia says:

      You are most welcome, Lat! Date trees heavy with ripe yummy fruits is a wonderful sight … and they’re everywhere in the city! I get so excited looking at them all on my way to work everyday, lol 😀

  14. Lat k says:

    Just wanted to know,if you don’t mind answering, whether the fasting month coincides with any month long holiday there.Or if everything goes on as usual as before? Thanks!

    • nadia says:

      Hi Lat. This year, school summer break coincided with the month of Ramadan, so the students will be returning to schools after Eid. But, we all do get shorter working hours for the entire month: government employees get to work 4 hours a day, while private ones work for 6 hours.

      • Lat k says:

        Oh thank you! Not bad for students,er? At least they get to ‘rest’ the entire day! The same can’t be said here! But they can be excused from physical activity classes.And thank you again,Nadia!

  15. Sumera says:

    I’m not that keen on dates, find them too sweet.

  16. Atie says:

    Dear sis Nadia,

    It seems too long now since your last post. Where are you? I’ve been missing you a lot!

    Anyway, wishing you a happy, prosperous Ramadhan this year. I pray you stay healthy all along so that you can double up (or even triple) the effort in gaining barakahs and forgiveness from Allah the Almighty.

    Take care sis. *Lots of hugs from me*

    Wassalam.

  17. д§mд says:

    lovely datey pics 🙂

    I’m so looking forward to eat scrumptious dates this ramadhan … we get to have best variety only in this ramadhan season here :>

  18. Specs says:

    OMg, that date cake is… awesome. I’m gonna make one.

    When I can be bothered getting out of bed and putting the ingredients together. I blame the taps with two nalkas for hot and cold water. 😀

    Ramadan Kareem!

Leave a Reply

