Bits and Pieces from Childhood

I am tagged by Debosmita to post three childhood memories.Β  The thing is, my childhood memories are almost exactly like hers, so I will just provide you the link then you can go and read her post πŸ™‚

On second thought, I think I’ll play fair and do this post (before she comes rushing in here to tell me that I’m cheating).Β  So here are some bits and pieces from my childhood.

1.Β  My fairytale dreams were shattered pretty early

My mother had read fairy tales and fables at bedtime long before I could start to talk comprehensively enough to interrupt her with a thousand questions.Β  I grew up with Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty and Snow White.Β  Adults say these stories instill good morals in the little ones, basically imparting the idea that good wins over evil (along with the notion that a girl needs to be white, slender and pretty in order to be loved and taken to the palace and live with immense wealth and be happy.Β  Oh, and that step parents are evil). Also, these stories made me dream of brave and super handsome princes.Β  When I grew a little older, I finally saw a picture of a real prince:Β  Prince Charles.Β  And my dreams shattered into a million pieces.

2.Β  I’d sit in one corner and read books all day

Unless I was in the mood to break things and involve my sisters in it.Β  But most of the time, my childhood was spent reading books.Β  I saw my mother reading a lot (most probably because there wasn’t Star Plus to keep housewives busy back then) so I find it very normal to spend time with books.Β  The day I attended my very first class, I was able to read and write very well.Β  When I finished reading my first grade books in just a week, my mother shoved Readers’ Digest in my hands (and listened as I read the words aloud, albeit with difficulty.Β  Parental guidance was necessary).

3.Β Β  If I’m not in my room, then find me on a tree

When I wasn’t breaking things or reading quietly in my room, I was up hanging around on a tree branch.Β  Growing up, we were always surrounded by trees – mostly guava and mango.Β  My sisters and I – after making sure the adults are busy elsewhere – would climb up a tree and pretend that it was our home.Β  Being the eldest, it was my call to decide who gets which branch.Β  I would take the one with the most fruits (ripe ones, of course) and announce that this was my room.Β  I would explain to them nicely that they couldn’t have this particular branchΒ  because it was way to high, unsafe, etc.Β  I remember sharing the fruits, so I’m not totally evil.

What was your childhood like?

Debosmita blogs at Life’s Many Whispers.Β  She aspired to be in the Air force, then medicine, but ended up being a lawyer.Β  And a good one at that! She has been rewarded a gold medal for standing first in order of merit in Property Law.Β  She writes very well.Β  And looks stunning in a sari.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Bits and Pieces from Childhood

  1. masood says:

    I like this line : “Being the eldest, it was my call to decide who gets which branch. ” We have got these privileges for being eldest in our family and I enjoyed a lot imposing rules on the below rest πŸ™‚

  2. Sajib says:

    πŸ™‚ Liked this post.

    I have some unpleasant memories of my childhood, too. But I cannot write them on my blog because I have insufficient knowledge over English language to write them up. 😦 This always makes me feel terrible. I wish I could be a fluent English writer and speaker as well.

    • nadia says:

      Hey, how about you e-mail me the post and I’ll proof read it for you? Then you can go ahead and post it after wards. I mean, what better way to improve than pushing yourself harder? πŸ™‚

      • Sajib says:

        First line made me think you’re willing to proofread my posts. Second line made me think you’re telling to keep trying all by myself. It’s a little messed up. 😦

        However, emailing is a good idea. But I don’t think you have as much time as necessary to do so (for free πŸ˜€ ). So, if you just read my posts (both personal one and http://www.aisajib.com one) and let me know about the errors you find, that maybe easier for you.

  3. Divaa Divine says:

    i had a lot of beating in my childhood πŸ˜›

    yes i was not a very genius kid and my dad expected really good marks all the time – so far that i had been the cinderalla child πŸ˜€ but i m happy – i have grown up sane

    • nadia says:

      But you can’t be a Cinderella unless you have evil step sisters πŸ˜€

      I had my share of beatings too, but I do not want to discuss them in public πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Bits and Pieces from Childhood | Tea Break

  5. Hahaha Nadia you’re hilarious!

    “When I grew a little older, I finally saw a picture of a real prince: Prince Charles. And my dreams shattered into a million pieces.”

    Amazing!

    • nadia says:

      But it’s true! Since then, I’ve stopped believing that princes were unbelievably handsome πŸ˜€

      • Sajib says:

        Since then, I’ve stopped believing that princes were unbelievably handsome!

        πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† Can’t stop laughing πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  6. 'liya says:

    “I finally saw a picture of a real prince: Prince Charles. And my dreams shattered into a million pieces.” hehe πŸ˜€

    I too was the eldest and did the exact same – not with trees (we didn’t have any big enough to climb), but with everything else because that’s like the unwritten rule for big sisters I feel!

  7. debosmita says:

    OMG! that intro about me was stupendous! (bowing and blushing deeply) πŸ˜‰

    With re your childhood memories – laughing about the fact that Prince Charles shattered your image about Prince Charming πŸ˜‰ For a long time, I was in love with Prince William and thought he fit the description of a fairy tale prince nicely..

    We share common interest about books.. and tree???!!!! you must be blessed to have grown up amidst so much greenery! My dream house is a tree-house πŸ˜‰ wondering whether that will ever come true..

    it was lovely to know of your childhood memories πŸ™‚

    • nadia says:

      Lucky you because Prince William wasn’t born when I was a young girl πŸ˜€

      “My dream house is a tree-house..” Mine too! Have you seen that mango juice ad on TV where the father loves mangoes so much that he built himself a house on top of the tree? I’d love to have one like that!

  8. I am so with you on the prince Charles thing! they shattered again on their wedding day, Diana looked like a beautiful princess and him..well he just…you know…

    && you broke things? :O seriously Nadia, you broke things?

    • nadia says:

      Diana looked like a fairy tale princess in every way, specially in her wedding gown!

      Sshh! Do you have to say it over and over that I broke things?? I’ve put that all behind me now πŸ˜‰

  9. Sajib says:

    By the way, your first para includes lots of important stuffs. I think it should have been written and noticed earlier by the writers of those bedtime stories. πŸ˜€

  10. mubi says:

    aww thank you for letting us take a peek into ur childhood πŸ˜€ lol @ number 1…. seriously eww πŸ˜€

    aww, trees…must have been lovely ! πŸ˜€

  11. Short Poems says:

    Thank you for letting us take a peek of your childhood!
    It was very interesting and lovely to take a read πŸ™‚
    Warmly,
    Marinela πŸ™‚

  12. Specs says:

    Wow, we have had pretty similar childhoods!! πŸ™‚

    I was rolling around holding my tummy @ Prince Charles, hahaha! Even all that money and status can’t make that guy look good. I was all </3

    πŸ˜€

    • nadia says:

      Specs, your comment reminded me about you saying once that we both seemed like living a parallel life; even our childhoods are same!

      “Even all that money and status can’t make that guy look good.” Maybe he did not want to look good πŸ™‚

  13. Leena S. says:

    fairy tales should be banned…they are highly misleading
    And i just loved hanging around on trees branches too!!! I still have quite a few marks to remind me of all the times wen i fell down πŸ˜›

    • nadia says:

      Leena, if not banned they should definitely be re-written. Hanging around on trees is the bestest thing. Too bad I don’t have marks to prove my adventures πŸ˜€

  14. toomuchtotake says:

    2 out of three were the same Nadia…

    I devoured books, possibly that’s what keeps me interested still in reading and writing.. πŸ™‚

    Though a gulf kid, at every given opportunity of visiting back home were spent around the jamun trees that grew in our backyard…

    πŸ™‚

  15. Shamim says:

    To me, you were lucky. Your mother used to tell you the fairy tells at the bed time. But I was too much deprived as I always insulted even reading the Fairy tales though i used to do it just putting the story books below the text books.

    My mom even beat me as I was addicted to read the fairy tales books.

    It’s reality……some body gets affection from his mom with lovely fairy tales and some one is beaten for the sake of reading fairy tales. Duh!

  16. Urban Indian says:

    Poor Prince Charles….he is getting quite a thumbs down from everyone here….:-) Nice post Nadia.

Leave a Reply

