It’s a Small World

This post is a continuation from yesterday’s photo shoot with my sister, Sophia’s Nikon D3000.  Some of the golden tips of this mini Taj Mahal didn’t make it to my parents’ home …

I wanted a green background, i.e. my mom’s plants (she loves them to bits).  But the sun was setting in the wrong direction, right in front of my lens.  I suggested the plants to be moved on the opposite side of the balcony.  Mom agreed, granted I move all of her plants myself and put them back to exactly where they were … myself.  But that’s way too much work for a photographer, of course, so I decided on doing something easier.

I used mom’s purple towel as a backdrop, put one of her chairs in the balcony, placed the Nikon box on top of it, then covered it up with her green face towel.  The box was for additional height, since I still haven’t mastered the art of crouching for more than a few minutes.

The wind was pretty strong that day, and it almost blew my mom’s face towel off from the 15th floor balcony.  This was happening whilst I was bringing the Eiffel Tower inside to get the next subject out to shoot.

The photo shoot was tiring because of all the walking and bending involved.  But it was fun!

Nikon D3000 is amazing!

I think I left mom’s chair outside.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to It’s a Small World

  1. Pingback: Some Random Stuff In My Parents’ Home «

  2. Pingback: It’s a Small World | Tea Break

  3. Mezba says:

    Lovely macro pics of the small objects. Whenever I try to do a macro it appears dull and it’s not as details as these. The background of the Eiffel tower is really striking!

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Mezba. The Eiffel Tower picture is my favorite too; I didn’t expect the background to turn out that nice. Thanks to mom’s towel 😀

      Actually, if you have those fancy point and shoots like Canon, Pentax or Nikon, you can take very good macro shots with them too, provided that you have a lot of light to work with.

      When I was shooting these pictures, I thought about your Lego collection and how fun it would be to take macro shots of them.

      • Mezba says:

        It’s a towel!!! WOW… even the line across the tower looks good.

        Most of my Lego photos are taken with the iPhone camera! I would love to do a detailed photoshoot of them but have no idea how to start.

        • nadia says:

          Yes, it’s an all-blurred out towel 😀

          I’d love to see macro shots of your Prince of Persia collection! Maybe you can borrow a friend’s SRL for a few hours?

          Also, if you take a look at these lego pictures taken by point and shoot cameras, you’ll see that they’ve done a good job too:

          Sony Cybershot

          Fujifilm FinePix F10

  4. Sumera says:

    Fab little souvenirs 😀

  5. Lat says:

    Pics are real good! And the horses look so tired after all that work! 😀
    So how did you reward yourself? 🙂 Good work! (Hugs)

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Lat (hugs back) 🙂

      Oh, I didn’t reward myself. I totally forgot that I was entitled to one! I’ll have to think about it now 🙂

  6. д§mд says:

    ❤ the pictures :))

    You created some backdrops here … totally dig the purple and rust BGs 🙂

    In your last pic, I can see some peek-a-boo into outside world in the reflections 😉 I like the DOF you created and the vividness 🙂 totally dig the post

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Asma! Those backgrounds are just my mom’s towel and chair, but I’m actually surprised at how nice they turned out in the pictures.

      You are the first to comment on the DOF! (hugs)

  7. 'liya says:

    Beautiful pics! I don’t know which I like best, they’re all so good 😀

  8. Anonymous says:

    Its a “wonderful” home..with most of the wonders of the world available under the same roof.. 🙂

  9. Adesi says:

    absolutely delicious!
    i m pic addict!

  10. adeelkunwar says:

    Nice Pics,
    specially the Eiffel tower looks amazingly real.

  11. Sajib says:

    LOVABLE!

    Thanks for sharing those cute photos with us. 🙂

  12. GeekiSiddiqui says:

    Very nice! The Eiffel Tower one is my favourite!

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, GeekiSiddiqui, and welcome to the Purple Journal! I heard that you are in Egypt. Are you back home? I should go and check your blog to find out 🙂

  13. Janit says:

    My fav is the Eiffel Tower… the new york reflects light well but seems to be lighted with a tubelight….loved the focus on the horses as it makes them look so prominent.
    Nice Snaps…..keep posting.:-)

  14. Mridula says:

    Have you been to India, asking this after looking at the Taj miniature.

  15. Hajar Alwi says:

    Salams sis. That’s a towel??? I thought it was some kind of fancy wallpaper! I have to admit, you got me there with the Eiffel Tower! Brilliant captures! 🙂

  16. toomuchtotake says:

    Love the pics. Makes me wanna pick up the DLSR again… 🙂

    And i do remember the crazy windy Friday – the sand storm really felt like a hurricane or something – probably becos i was stuck in a beach then…! 🙂

    Beautiful pics..

    Cheers

    • nadia says:

      Welcome to the blog, Anu! Oh, I had the worse attack of dust allergy last Friday, and that was even before I even looked out to see what was happening!

  17. Specs says:

    OMG OMG, I ❤ these pictures! They're amazing, Nadia!

  18. Shahrazad says:

    Mashallah, mashallah Nadia, AMAZING! You’ve gone a loooong way in photography from the last time I visited your blog (I vividly remember your first Nikon shoots, specifically learning “focus” through tomatoes :)) – you know I’ve stopped blogging for a while)..

    Eiffel tower is SOMETHING!

    • nadia says:

      Shahrazad, welcome back! I missed you! I’m so happy you’ve returned to the blogosphere.

      Awww, you remember the tomatoes! *hugs* I’m delighted to know that you think I’m making progress (it’s a slow one because I am not shooting as much as I am supposed to).

      Thank you! 🙂

  19. Those souvenirs tell me that, someone has been all around the world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

