Look At Who Was On My Desk This Morning

Tuesday was a bad day for me.  I’d rather not discuss what exactly happened, but it was upsetting enough for me to call in sick at work and stay home to sulk.  And I have almost decided to hate all Emiratis for their rudeness and arrogance.  But it didn’t feel right to think that way.

As I lay in my bed that afternoon with my favorite pillow covering my face and trying to ignore the horrible headache, I thought about the nice Arab people that I’ve met during my stay here in the U.A.E.:

  • the Arab taxi driver who, at first, drove past me but then came back to where I was, and let me in.  He apologized for his behavior.
  • the Emirati man who stood waiting for an elevator before I arrived, but courteously allowed me to go first.  He decided to wait for another elevator since I was alone.
  • the Emirati man who, after noticing my mother-in-law pacing back and forth in a reception area of an office, asked her so kindly in Hindi whether there was anything he could do for her.
  • the Emirati lady at the immigration who smiled at me when I returned from a recent trip, and told me that children of parents from intercultural marriages are smarter.

I’d like to think that I am a very optimistic person by nature.  But that day was when I thought I have had enough.  So I took some time alone to contemplate and think about the nice people I’d met.  That, plus my very patient husband, made me feel better.  Alhumdulillah.

This morning, after a long time, I took Nikon out of his (yes, I decided he is a boy) bag and started cleaning him while waiting for my ride to work.  Poor thing has dust settled on his lens, even though he has been carefully wrapped and tucked into my closet.  As I held him, I started to feel even more better.  I decided to bring him to work today.

And guess who was on my desk when I arrived …

I have no idea who this cute fellow is.  But he surely made me smile!  I placed a pencil next to him so that you have an idea about how small he is.   Here is another picture of him …

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Look At Who Was On My Desk This Morning

  1. I am wondering what some Emarati did so rude and unkind to make you so upset…!

    • nadia says:

      It is a very long story, Ahmed Irfan. It is such a shame how some Muslims behave in such a horrible, un-Islamic manner. Bas, Allah hum sab ko hidayat ata farmaaye.

  2. Ohhh he is so adorable!!
    I hope you are feeling better now sis (hugs)

  3. Cosmic Cook says:

    Hope you’re feeling much better 🙂

  4. Humaira says:

    I’m sorry to hear that hun but your photo made me smile!

  5. masood says:

    Just keep smiling always my dear 🙂

  6. Behbood says:

    You got my hydro curiosity on sis… what happened that changed your perspective of Arabs? Koi battameezi?

  7. moukound says:

    that is a nice thing to have on your desk I say.. Btw the old header was nice.. .

    • nadia says:

      Yes, he is nice, but he belongs to someone else 😦

      Oh, I love the old header too. It was special because a blogger friend’s little brother made it for me. But I had to change the theme of this blog and that header was way too small for this.

  8. Smiley_x says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear this Nadia. (((hugs)))
    It must have been something really unkind to have you upset like this. There’s going to be rude and ignorant people everywhere, one of the joys of living on planet earth, just don’t let them bring you down eh.
    The little fella on your desk is adorable! Looks like he came out of a kinder surprise egg.

    Stay smiling! 🙂

    • nadia says:

      Thank you so much, Smiley ((hugs))

      Yes, it was really unkind and rude. It feels as if I had been cheated 😦

      Maybe the little fella did come out of a kinder surprise egg 😀

  9. Salams Nadia!
    that little critter with the super soaker(isn’t it??) is superbly adorable!!

    🙂 I’m glad you’re up to ur cheery self by the time u wrote the post! I always believe there’s a group of “black sheep” amongst the society… any society… It’s great that you didn’t “blame the tree for the few rotten apples” and thought of the good apples instead… hehe…
    Take care!

    • nadia says:

      Walaikum Assalam, Sis!

      Super soaker … yeah, I think that could be it 😀

      Yes, you are right there: we should not to blame the tree for the few rotten apples. It’s hard though when you feel cheated; you want to blame the entire society. Alhumdulillah for the patience and clear mind 🙂

      It’s also easier to feel better if you just let go of the negative feelings, take a deep breath and just move on.

      Thank you, Sis 🙂

  10. Frozeefa says:

    Oh I hope things are better sis. Ans ur new friend certainly looks cute.

    Here too we face pple who are so unkind. All I sy in my heart is Allah swt is watching. And in Akhirah everyone has to answer for his or her action. When I feel that I have done nothing wong, I feel so happy and relieved and feel sorry instead for these pple.

    • nadia says:

      Things are better now, Frozeefa, alhumdulillah. You are absolutely right! People may get away with whatever they do in this dunya, but eventually everyone will be held accountable for his or her actions in the aakhirah.

      Thank you so much, Sis 🙂

  11. 'liya says:

    Did you ever find out how he got to your desk?

    I’m happy that you’ve had at least some nice experiences with them. That gives hope!
    (maybe one could be reading your blog and make a change to their behaviour… you never know)

    • nadia says:

      ‘liya, I think he belongs to a colleague who now works from Qatar. There’s a guy who comes into the office each morning before us to clean. I’m assuming he must have found this little fellow somewhere under the tables and put it on my desk.

      Yes! Alhumdulillah for those few nice experiences because they help me believe that there are nice Emiratis too who are, more importantly, not racist at all.

  12. Niyaz says:

    Sorry to hear this sis , hope u r alrite now !!

  13. WAkas Mir says:

    Hope u are well sis and the tiny guy is cute 🙂 And nice shots sis..

  14. Leena S. says:

    there are all sorts of people everywhere, not all fingers are equal but its sad how some people can be just soo insensitive that get so rude and dont ever realize their mistake.
    i hope you are feeling better, people of that sort are not worth wasting our energy on 😀
    *hugs*

    • nadia says:

      Yes, you are right, Leena. I agree with you about not wasting my energy on rude and insensitive people, so I’m back to my happy self again 🙂

      Thank you so much for your kind words ((hugs))

  15. mubi says:

    awwww a cute post by a cute blogger 😀

  16. Lat says:

    Isn’t it awesome sometimes how small things can bring a smile on our faces after a bad experience? I’m glad you’ve gotten over it and hope next time you’re better equipped to deal with such incidents,whatever it is!

    Btw,the pic is very clear.He(Nikon) is super good!:)

    • nadia says:

      Lat, I know! It’s really awesome how small things make us feel better after a rough time. The second picture is a little blurred, and it’s totally my fault. I don’t blame him 😀

  17. Anonymous says:

    Hey.. Is this an “April Fool” kinda post of yours !!
    ( b’cuz I can’t believe this…. how can anybody misbehave with you.. u r such a good human-being)

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Anonymous. I wish it were some kind of a joke too, that at the end of it all we could all just laugh it off. Unfortunately, it isn’t. But then this is how life works; one has to deal with all sorts of people at one time or the other. I’m just happy that I’m able to put this issue behind me now 🙂

  18. Janit says:

    Know what strikes me?
    U have expressed your anger, but in such a civilized manner ….. 🙂 You didnt rant, didnt spew venom, didnt write a scathing piece on whoever made you this angry. But in fact after the first few accusatory lines, you have actually been justifying that not all Emirates are that bad.
    Tells me that you are usually quiet, calm and composed, rarely get angry and when you do so you rationalize. You dont blow ur top even when ur angry. Wow 🙂
    Just an observation.
    Liked the lil fella.

    • nadia says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Janit. Yes, I don’t get angry easily and when I do, I try to rationalize and control myself. But I am definitely NOT quiet 😀

  19. Specs says:

    Aw, I hope you feel better now *hugs*

    The ‘thing’ on your desk is so cute (if a bit creepy in a ratty way, hehehe)… good thing you had your Nikon on you!

  20. Sajib says:

    The second picture is hilarious!

  21. Yasser says:

    sis nadia, i also encountered worst Emirati here in K.S.A, though it’s wonderful to see you only mentioned the good ones in your post. i am not sure you are Indian or Pakistani but i also believe good and bad people exist in every nationality. May Allah help us to control our anger just like Prophet used to do especially in current testing times
    Regards

Leave a Reply

