A Glimpse of Egypt in Dubai


These are the pictures of the ‘Egypt Pavilion’  at Dubai’s Global Village.  I took these in an attempt to practice shooting in very low light.  ISO was set to 400.

We were walking away towards the exit (because it was past 10 in the evening and we all had to go to work next day) when I heard music.  I turned around to see this … the twirling man …

Though they didn’t have much audience that night, there were also these guys who played the flute …

And of course, there was food …


This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Glimpse of Egypt in Dubai

  1. Cosmic Cook says:

    LOL is this a joke? It sure doesn’t look authentic!

    So which other countries are at the Global Village?

    • nadia says:

      LOL, no. This is business 🙂

      The Global Village is basically an outdoor shopping and entertainment venue that lasts several weeks each year (between November and February). And they have themes – Pakistan, India, Philippines, UAE, Egypt, Syria, Sweden, China, etc.

  2. Pingback: A Glimpse of Egypt in Dubai | Tea Break

  3. Haris Gulzar says:

    The Dubai shopping festival is also going on these days right? Or is this global village thing part of that shopping festival?

    • nadia says:

      No, Global Village starts and ends before the DSF (Dubai Shopping Festival). DSF doesn’t have a specific venue. You can see that it has started because they have put up all these colorful lights every where – including the trees. Also, there is this DSF sale in every mall in Dubai.

      Sharjah – during this DSF season – have their own version. It’s called the Sharjah Spring Festival. I find ‘spring’ very funny 😀

  4. Abid says:

    Good low light shots. I posted some from the Olympics on my blog (also low light), check those out if you have time!

  5. 'liya says:

    The first looks awesome, very clear!

  6. masood says:

    Nice pictures 🙂

  7. mubi says:

    i m also taking pictures set on ISO 400 these days 😀 i will put them up on fb soon :p

    i wana come to this global village too :/

    btw, nadia. i love your template 😀

    • nadia says:

      I’m definitely looking forward to those pictures!

      Jaldi se aajao, next week tak Global Village band hojaayega.

      Thank you, Mubi. It wasn’t love at first sight, but I’m liking this template now too 🙂

  8. We first visited Global Village in 2007 and all I can remember is that it was very cold! or that we were undressed or both! 🙂

    I like the Egypt Pavillon. My Japanese husband was unhappy that the Japan pavillon did not stand on its own but had to share with China and Korea (last 2007, I don’t know now).

    BTW, did you change your theme? I like it!

    • nadia says:

      It IS cold this year too 😀

      Oh, Japan and Korea didn’t participate this year, Grace.

      And yes, I did change my theme. Got bored with the white background.

      Thanks!

  9. A desi says:

    imagine my luck. i failed to visit the global village on my visit to dubai in 2008… shux!

    now you are making me feel like a fool!

  10. Haleem says:

    Love your new template… although it’s a bit too seagreen….

    Pics of the global village reminds me of Vegas!

Leave a Reply

