I Must Shoot More

details of a bench

We all went for an afternoon walk today:  Masood, myself and Nikon.  I read in a book earlier today that really good photographers take thousands of pictures per week.  I just started on my DSLR sometime in July last year, and I’ve barely taken two thousand pictures in 7 months!  Oh, and these really good photographers also said that if they didn’t take a single photograph in an entire week, they feel rusty.

Time to unwind

So unless I go out there and shoot, I’m not going to improve.  Because I noticed that I spend more time reading than actually shooting.  But where will  I get the time to go out and take thousands of pictures per week?!

Lens cap on a bench

On a positive note,  I already have something planned for the next weekend!  It’s going to be a lot of fun with loads of opportunity to shoot, inshaAllah.  No, I can’t disclose the location yet (we’re known to change our minds/plans in the last minute).

Lens cap sitting on the grass

Take note of the dust that has settled on the lens cap in the picture above.  That is the amount of dust that has accumulated in the short span of time:  between taking the lens cap off the camera, taking one quick picture of it on the bench, and then placing it on the grass to take another shot.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I Must Shoot More

  1. 'liya says:

    I love the bench shot! – the colours and the layout is unusual and pretty 🙂

  2. Urban Indian says:

    The bench shot is undoubtedly the best one. But the last shot is also superb – how the background has blurred so well and the Nikon cap is so well in focus.

    And yes, do start taking more snaps. For a start, you can photograph the house. I have seen some brilliant snaps – macro and silhouttes taken all inside the house itself.

    Looking forward to more of these.:-)

  3. Urban Indian says:

    And btw, I shifted my site to this new url. Hope u like the new look. 🙂

  4. Specs says:

    I love all the shots! Specially the cap-on-the-bench

    And barely 2000 pictures? What were you thinking of, woman!

    Sorry, I’m just making a lame joke here because as best as I can remember, I haven’t even taken 20 pictures in my entire life. Haha. anything above that seems… out-of-this-world! 🙂

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Specs!

      Haha … You took less than 20 pictures in your entire life?! Now THAT is definitely ‘out of this world’! 😀

      I was actually hoping – ever since you got that cellphone last year – that you’d be including random pictures on your blog. Show us your city.

      • Specs says:

        My ‘cell phone’ is just that- a phone with a ‘cell’ hahaha… its my Dad’s old phone with no cable to hook it to the computer… how awesome is that? 🙂

        The office was providing me a Blackberry at half the cost but I don’t have half the cost- I spent it on sales. *ashamed*

        • nadia says:

          LOL 😀

          But then, how did you manage to get that office pictures during the flood?

          Blackberry at half the cost?! If the offer’s still on, grab it! Ask J for the other half.

  5. I also think of takings shots like these! I liked the bench shoot! I will buy a DSLR some day.

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Vikas! If you are truly interested in taking good pictures, go for the DSLR. It’s a learning process – a slow one. Because a fancy camera doesn’t make one a good photographer, so there’s lot of hard work, patience and experience involved in the whole process.

  6. Nisa AK says:

    sorry Nadia, I don’t have much knowledge on photography but yeah thats a hell lot of dust on the lens cap! and i thought singapore was bad 😀

    • nadia says:

      Haha! I’m sure you clicked on the picture to enlarge it for closer inspection 😉

      Yes, that’s how bad the dust situation is around here … but then, what else can one expect from a desert?

      I’m scared to imagine that all those fine particles are having a grand party inside my camera!

  7. Great Snaps Nadia!
    “Masood, myself and Nikon” that made me smile, the perfect family eh?
    😛

  8. Abid says:

    Good pictures Nadia baji!

    Unfortunately I never find the time to shoot these days with school.

    But I promise LOTS of Olympics pictures!!!

  9. Nizsha says:

    Assalamalikum Nadia,

    I’m not much of a photographer :~ I still like your pics only cos you’re the photographer 🙂

    Anyway, I’ve been so busy with my graduate classes.I’m enrolled for MS in Chemical Engineering inshallah khayr.Been wanting to write to you for so long so anyway.

    Oh and do check out my blog http://land-a-job.blogspot.com/

    You might find something very interesting.Do check it out and pass it on.I wish I could participate. Its such a cool opportunity free training and all.I might have had I not enrolled for graduate classes cos my parents still live in AD.inshAllah some other time.

    • nadia says:

      Walaikum Assalam, Nizsha! Aww, you’re the sweetest ((hugs))

      MS Chemical Engineering .. mashaAllah! May Allah help you achieve your goals.

      Thank you so much for the link. It sounds so interesting! I’ll call them inshaAllah and ask for details … see if I can squeeze sometime out from work. It’s a good opportunity to learn.

  10. Mezba says:

    The bench shot is pretty neat! It’s not just the camera, it’s your eye for a picture too!

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Mezba. That bench shot was totally spontaneous! You know, the ones where you didn’t even check for shutter speed and aperture, etc.

      Oh, and I am trying to develop my ‘eye’ so that my camera takes better pictures 😀

  11. Haris Gulzar says:

    The bench picture is great (Y). One thing I always miss is having a camera with me whenever I’m in the streets. A blogger really should have a camera :-). And have you really taken around 2K pictures in only 7 months? I mean for me that’d be an achievement…

    • nadia says:

      Oh yes, a blogger should definitely have a camera. Photographs make very interesting and nice posts 🙂

      Two thousand pictures in seven months shows how I am not taking photography seriously, lol

  12. seanhenricus says:

    Great set of random pics! Plus… I love the fact that you refer to your Nikon as a person 🙂 I call my DSLR ‘Oly’… he joins me where ever I go!

    The dust looks pretty bad… does the D40 have in-built sensor cleaning?

    • nadia says:

      Thank you, Sean, and welcome to the blog!

      Nikon (that’s what I call ‘her’ for the time being, until I think of a nice name) is a part of our family. Unlike your Oly (nice name 🙂 ) she doesn’t join me where ever I go. For everyday (spontaneous) use, I have a Kodak P & S in my handbag.

      No, D40 doesn’t have a built-in sensor cleaning. But I only have the kit lens, so there is really no need to change, thus reducing the chances of dust getting into the sensor. Plus, I use a glass filter on top of my lens – that’s where the dust settles on – and for that I just use a rubber blower (came with a removable brush).

Leave a Reply

