On the First Day of 2010

After seeing Masood off at the airport on the eve of December 31st, my sisters and I drove to our parent’s home.  I’ll be staying here for as long as Masood doesn’t return from his trip (he won’t be away too long because his UAE visa will  expire on January 9.  Yes!).

Anyway, later at midnight the girls and I went up to their rooftop, which is the 34th floor, to watch the fireworks.  The view was spectacular!  Masood took my Nikon with him (and I’m having separation anxiety because of that) so I didn’t take pictures.  But we could see the fireworks from Atlantis Hotel, Burj al Arab, Madinat Jumerah, Dubai Marina, and an unknown place.  We were timing who’s fireworks would last the longest;  it was a tie between Atlantis and Burj al Arab.

We woke up the next morning to this …

Clouds started to gather across the sky and within minutes, it was dark everywhere.

It poured heavily for an hour or so.  There was a series of lightning right above the Palm Jumeirah but I was unable to capture it.  See those twin towers on the picture above?  Few minutes after I took that picture, I could hardly see them!  The visibility dropped that much.

Later during the day, we drove over to Global Village only to find out that it’s closed for the day (it got flooded).  So we turned and proceeded to Festival City Mall.  We had Japanese food for dinner (tepanyaki and teriyaki), bought ice cream (light) and drove towards the Palm.

We parked somewhere on the Palm where there wasn’t anyone around (construction of several more hotels going on that side).  The wind was cool, the place bathed in moon light, and waves crashed against the man-made shore in a rhythm:  it felt so great just being in that place at that time.

An old picture (Googled) for the purpose of illustration:

So we stood on a bridge and, while eating ice cream, tried to imagine how deep the water might be (we were physically so far away into the sea).  “How come I don’t see any whales yet?” asked the youngest.  We gave her more ice cream.  Then it started to rain again, and we ran.  We raced towards the car, slowing down considerably because we were laughing like crazy!

When I lay down to sleep later that night, I thanked Allah.  I thanked Him for these special moments that I shared with the girls.  For sometime, it felt as if we were transported back in time when we were very young and carefree.

It was a beautiful start of the year 2010.

But I still miss Masood terribly.

And my Nikon.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On the First Day of 2010

  1. Pingback: On the First Day of 2010 | Tea Break

  2. Ms.Unique says:

    Awwww … Masha Allah that was a really nice … Lord! the weather’s been changing a lot these days … we never heard of so many rains in year b4 … Does UAE also have sewage probs? God! the rain in Jeddah just makes one so creepy :s

    We didn’t have much rain this season, but I’ve read about how it is in the Kingdom, specially the situation in Jeddah 😦

    Yes, we do have sewage problems here.

  3. masood says:

    Missing you too and I feel my presence in your anxieties 🙂

    May Allah keep you safe all the time. Ameen.

  4. Sadia says:

    Happy new year to you too and I have *thiiiiis big smile* on my face after reading your post! Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by, Sadia. Have a great year and keep smiling 🙂

  5. Specs says:

    Your last two sentences made me go aww and laugh my head off at the same time 😉

    Sounds like you had a fun time. I hope the camera comes back soon with Masood. Sorry, I mean Masood comes back with the camera. No, wait, I meant…. never mind! *wink*

    LOL … I want them both back together 🙂

  6. Niyaz says:

    Wow , thats a nice start of the year at a wonderful location.
    Between we missed your photography sis…

    Yes, it’s beautiful at the Palm, specially at night.

    I had been too busy the past couple of months with work so didn’t get the time to take pictures, and now that I have time (and opportunities), I don’t have the camera with me 😦

  7. Nisa AK says:

    Aww, there’s no time like the time we had in childhood na? 😀
    It’s nice that u shared those moments with ur sisters. I sorely miss my sis who is long gone 😦

    Yes, bilkul, Nisa. These are precious moments.

  8. Haris Gulzar says:

    I think Masood took the camera with him on purpose, so that you miss him :-P… Kidding…

    I am hearing about all the fog and low temperatures back in Lahore but it isn’t all that cold here in Karachi :-(. I’m terribly missing Lahore and my family…

    Happy new year to you…

    lol, actually he took the camera so can take pictures of his sister’s wedding 🙂

  9. Mezba says:

    Happy New Year! Today must be another big day of fireworks in Dubai!

    Yes, indeed! I don’t have the words to describe last night’s fireworks 🙂

  10. Sounds like you guys had a great time!
    There’s nothing like spending time with your sisters eh.
    Hope Masood and Nikon return home safely 🙂

    Sisters are Allah’s cute blessings 🙂

    InshaAllah! I miss both of them so much.

  11. 'liya says:

    I love how you pointed out where you ate the ice cream on the bridge – very cute 😀

    “We were timing who’s fireworks would last the longest; it was a tie between Atlantis and Burj al Arab” that’s funny, V and I were comparing Canada and America’s fireworks at Niagara Falls. I’ll post about it!

    Comparing is fun! Looking forward to that post 🙂

  12. Shahan Ur Rehman says:

    Mashallah!
    Allah has showered His blessings upon you in all the shapes and kinds (as your sisters ;-)) and the best of times.
    I loved the Palm pic Especially the description
    Dua hai Nikon sahi salamat aye Masood bhai ke sath .. or vice-versa 🙂

    In ALL shapes and kinds indeed, lol. But seriously, alhumdulillah! Yes, both Masood and Nikon are finally back. I checked Masood, he’s ‘sahi salamat’; haven’t checked Nikon yet.

    Aur haan, welcome to the blog! You’ve finally commented 😀

  13. Frozeefa says:

    I long to visit Dubai one day. Insya Allah

    Hey, Sis! How are you doing? Haven’t heard from you lately.

Leave a Reply

