A Train Ride Through Khandala

On our way back to Hyderabad from Mumbai,  Masood booked a non air-conditioned, sleeper class in the train that left in the morning.   That way, I was able to enjoy the gorgeous scenery in broad daylight, plus I was able to take beautiful pictures!  Nothing came in between nature and my camera’s lens.  I could never have taken clear pictures with the blurry (it has a slightly bluish tint) glass windows in the air-conditioned section of the train.

nadia masood

The picture above was taken while we were approaching the Khandala station.  I forgot how far it is from Mumbai, but I think it took us 2 or 3 hours to get there.  I was advised to visit this place, but we didn’t get the time to travel outside Mumbai’s city limits.

nadia masood

Back in Dubai, I’d been dreaming – what seemed forever – to visit a place with mountains and trees and farms and caves.  It was so refreshing to breathe in the cool, crisp air that smelled of grass.  And I’d been so mesmerized by the beauty of nature that Masood had to remind me to take pictures!

nadia masood

Notice that bridge in the middle of the picture above?  It amazes me how people build such huge structures in such dangerous places.

nadia masood

There are so many tunnels throughout Khandala!  I had to stick my hand out – with the point & shoot, of course – and take pictures.  Once inside those tunnels, I can’t help but imagine: what if an earthquake happens right at that moment and the mountain comes crumbling down on us?

nadia masood

Some resort on the hill.

nadia masood

Khandala is actually the most preferred weekend destination of people from Mumbai and Pune, where they go for hiking, trekking, rock-climbing, or simply to get away from the city and enjoy the scenery.

This entry was posted in Khandala and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Train Ride Through Khandala

  1. masood says:

    All the beautiful pictures hypnotized me back to Khandala again. What a lovely and amazing combination of nature by Allah subhanawata’la, MashaAllah. He is the only and best creator, the only thing we need to share it to others is Nikon D40 🙂

    If only we didn’t have Ooty in our list, I probably would’ve been nagging you endlessly to go to Khandala, lol. Oh, and I didn’t use my precious Nikon for these pictures. I can’t imagine putting out my hand from the speeding train window with it!

  2. Specs says:

    The place is so green and pretty… hasn’t winter arrived there yet? It all turned brown here 😦

    Great pictures, I might add… as usual. 😀

    I have only seen India during summer (this was my third trip so far). But this time of the year is lovely there. The wind is cool and trees are still green and lively.

  3. Behbood says:

    Wonderful pics!!

    I couldnt help thinking about the Aamir Khan scene from Ghulam when I looked at the train tracks… And also those cheezy jokes “George Bush, Queen Elizabeth and Lalo Prasad were travelling in a train when it went inside a dark tunnel. All you heard was a slap..” type jokes….

    Thanks, Behbood! I don’t think I’ve seen Ghulam, nor have I heard about the Lalo Prasad joke. Lemme go and ask Masood.

  4. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Hope you are well sis

    Haven’t commented much but I have been living in India through your pictures and adventures 😀 😛

    Walaikum Assalam, Sis! I am doing very well, alhumdulillah. How are you? I know I haven’t been over to your blog for a very loooooong time now. My apologies.

    So you were in India with us all this time? 😀

  5. Pingback: A Train Ride Through Khandala | Tea Break

  6. Humaira says:

    Gosh that looks so beautiful Mashallah! I REALLY want to visit now!

    And that’s just the view from the train. Imagine how beautiful the place must be when you actually visit!

  7. Nizsha says:

    Lovely pictures mashallah …I have never been to khandala myself although I’m indian :~

    Thank you, Nizsha! Well, that’s probably because you were born and brought up in Abu Dhabi, and didn’t get the chance to visit your home country. Perhaps when you plan to visit this part of the world from New Jersey, you can drop by India.

  8. Serene says:

    Thanks for a free tour. Im really enjoying it… Have a great day!

    You are welcome, Serene! Hope you are having a great day too 🙂

  9. Abid says:

    Vajpayee, Musharraf, Aishwarya Rai and Margaret Thatcher are traveling in a train. The train suddenly goes through a tunnel and it gets completely dark. Suddenly there is a kissing sound and then a slap!

    The train comes out of the tunnel. Thatcher and Vajpayee are sitting there looking perplexed. Musharraf is bent over holding his face, which is red from an apparent slap. All of them remain diplomatic and nobody says anything.

    Thatcher is thinking: “These Pakistanis are all crazy after Aishwarya Rai. Musharraf must have tried to kiss her in the tunnel. Very proper that she slapped him”

    Aishwarya is thinking: “Musharraf must have moved to kiss me, and kissed Margaret instead and got slapped.”

    Musharraf is thinking: “Damn it, Vajpayee must have tried to kiss Aishwarya, she thought it was me and slapped me.”

    Vajpayee is thinking: “If this train goes through another tunnel, I could make another kissing sound and slap Musharraf again.”

    LOL … so that was the joke! 😀 Haha, I can visualize their faces as I read the joke.

  10. Abid says:

    ^ BTW that’s one version of the Lalu Prasad joke (the actual names can really be anything you want!)

  11. Alisha says:

    It’s beautiful!! Btw does Khandala mean anything?

    I think it means “valley” in Marathi. Not sure though.

  12. Haleem says:

    I always thought Khandala was a hole and some ruins (see Ghulam).. never knew it was a resort like place so close to Bombay.

    I haven’t seen Ghulam, but I’d also thought Khandala had nothing but ruins! I was so surprised to see the hills and trees and caves. Beautiful! And yes, so close to Mumbai indeed.

  13. and i hummed aati kya khandala all through reading this 🙂

    beautiful it is!

    And now we know why he was inviting her to Khandala … beautiful place! 🙂

  14. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Masha’Allah what beautiful photographs – I really enjoyed reading through this post and the next one!

    Umm Ibrahim

    Thank you, Sis! It’s easier to take photographs of beautiful places. Allah has created so much beauty, subhaAllah. We only capture it.

  15. Ms.Unique says:

    Masha Allah … LOL Khandala and all ruins 😀 … yeah it’s a hill-station as they call it, where week enders and foreigners do visit … for scenery and all … and Matheran and Lonavala too are hill-stations … that’s why I asked you to visit it 😉

    That’s the impression I had all along! How wrong I was, lol

    If only we had more time to spare, we would definitely had visited Khandala. Next time, inshaAllah.

Leave a Reply

