The Nikon D40

Nadia's first DSLR

is now officially my first DSLR!

Right after Masood read my 10 Honest Things About Me list, he decided to buy me an SLR camera himself.  When he told me that he’ll give it to me as an Eid/Anniversary gift in advance, I politely said, “I can wait until Eid.”  But deep inside I prayed that he’d disagree to wait THAT long.  And he did!  He believes it’s pointless to wait when I’m already dreaming about the thing every single night (and day).

I chose the D40 because it’s the least expensive of the Nikon DSLRs series, and it’s the smallest as well.  It’s not like I’m going out to pursue a career in photography next week;  this is just a hobby.  But most importantly, I’ve read and heard great reviews about D40;  people who own a D40 for the past couple of years still love it.  The 6.1 MP doesn’t bother me because I have no intentions to take huge prints of the photographs that I take.  The pictures, I’m sure, will only grace this blog and Facebook.

I haven’t taken any serious pictures yet.  Since opening the box last night, an hour was spent on simply holding the camera in my hands and soaking in that feeling of pure bliss and happiness.  I spent the rest of the evening going through the manual (which is something I rarely do),  reading about the D40 online, watching countless YouTube tutorial videos, and cooking dinner.

I’m not sure when I’ll go out to try my camera yet, since the weather is too hot to venture anywhere outdoors, plus there’s a lot going on both at home and work.  Also, I have my upcoming parallel parking test sometime next week, inshaAllah, and it’s making me nervous.

My favorite quote of the day:

Buying a Nikon doesn’t make you a photographer.  It makes you a Nikon owner.

~Author Unknown

Hence,  I need to learn a lot – and practice –  to make the most out of my DSLR.  Oh, and my point-and-shoot camera is still with me – in my bag – for those everyday, anytime shots.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Nikon D40

  1. Ubaid says:

    bajooo am jealous from you now 😦 😦 😦

    waisey i wanted d60 thats the best… but there is e240 in olympus thats really good too ….

    but both are for 40k

    i want a dslr 😦 😥 😦 😦 😦 😥

    mayrii shadii ker wa dohh mayri biwi hi shaid gift ker day mujhey :p

    • nadia says:

      No need to be jealous, I didn’t even have a film camera when I was your age 🙂

      D60 isn’t the best; it is actually a D40 body with a few more card-clogging pixels, a VR lens and adaptive dynamic range, but a slower maximum shutter speed with flash.

      Also, the D60 is less sensitive to light than the D40. Since the D60 is half as light sensitive, the D60 has to use twice as long a shutter speed or a larger aperture, which makes it more likely to make a blurry picture than the D40.

      There, I did my research and got the D40, and also saved money.

      PS: Shaadi ke baad she’ll be the one asking you for a dslr 🙂

    • Abid says:

      “mayrii shadii ker wa dohh mayri biwi hi shaid gift ker day mujhey :p”

      Aap ko apni biwi ko SLR camera dilwana hoga, jaisay Masood Bhai nay kiya hai, not the other way around as you are hoping 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Nikon D40 | Tea Break

  3. Humaira says:

    Wow Mashallah! Congrats! Looking forward to your pics.

  4. Amir says:

    Congrats!! Very cool…I want an SLR as well, but can’t justify the expense right now as its only a hobby. Maybe within a year or so inshallah.

  5. Abid says:

    I was SOOO excited when I saw this in my RSS! Congrats!

    Megapixels are pointless; my Point and Shoot is a cheap $100 (AED367) Olympus camera, which can take 8 megapixel pictures. From day ONE, I set it to 5 megapixels just because I don’t need large pics.

    What lens did you get with the camera? The only real problem with the entry level Nikons is that they don’t autofocus with some lenses (that’s why I got a Canon. All Canon cameras work perfectly with all Canon lenses).

    • nadia says:

      Aww, thanks Abid! I totally agree on the megapixel part. It really doesn’t matter if you don’t want large pictures.

      Actually the camera came with the 18-55 mm lens with autofocus. It didn’t matter to me that not all lenses will fit, because like I mentioned in the post, I’m not into professional photography. I don’t think I’ll be spending hard-earned money on lenses (which, by the way, costs as much as the body of the camera itself!).

  6. Umm Travis says:

    ma shaaaa Allah mubrook! u deserve it!

  7. Serene says:

    Congratulation! We will be able to see more nice picture here in your blog site. Im excited! Im happy for you Nadia!

  8. masood says:

    Congratulations, Jaanu. Nothing is more relaxing than your smile to me 🙂

    @ Ubaid: Brother, start saving money from now onwards for the post coming demands after marriage;) (Experience speaks louder than actions).

  9. Specs says:

    Wowowow! Congratulations!

  10. frozeefa says:

    Al hamdulilah sister..

    Happy for you. Make good use ot the device..take useful pictures and entertain us…

    Am pleased that u hav taken measures to enhane ur talents..al hamdulilah

    Surprise Meeeeeeeeeeee

  11. Haris Gulzar says:

    LOL @ Experience speaks louder than actions :-P. Thats well said :-). And congratulations Nadia.

  12. uneekmuslimah says:

    Congrtas! well i said that b4 too LOL … I’ve sent the link to U ..

  13. how much did it cost you? congratz!

  14. Wolynski says:

    Good for you. What kind of lens does it come with – the 18-55 or something else?

  15. This Nikon series is amazing. I own one of them too and the photos are great, even without editing. Congrats!!

    Yay, that is great! No wonder your photos turn out beautiful 😉

  16. Niyaz says:

    Mabrook sis 🙂

    waiting for your amazing clicks

  17. Hijabi says:

    as-salamu ‘alaikum,

    Found your blog by chance, and I like it *thumbs up* and guess what? my sister is out buying a d40 for me! so inshaAllah soon I’ll be a proud D40 owner too :d

    Walaikum Assalam, Sis Hijabi. Congratulations on the new camera!!! I know it’s still not with you, but I understand the excitement 😀

    I’m glad you liked the blog; thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

