Al Mamzar Beach

Nadia Masood

Situated in the Al Hamriya area in Dubai, Al Mamzar Beach Park has four inviting beaches with protected swimming areas and lifeguards.

Nadia Masood

Al Mamzar Beach is the longest beach along the coastlines of Dubai, and one of the cleanest.

Nadia Masood

I love leaving footprints in the sand, and photographing them (I have loads of footprint pictures).

Nadia Masood

During Wednesdays, the beach is open to women and children only.

myWorlButtonwhite

This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Al Mamzar Beach

  1. What a gorgeous beach! And your photos are delightful! I love leaving foot prints in the sand, too! Thanks for sharing a corner of your world!

  2. Umm Travis says:

    ma sha Allah! I miss it so much!

  3. ewok1993 says:

    I can never take a “perfect” footprint in the sand image. You should show me sometime.

    Lovely post. I enjoyed it.

  4. koala says:

    Love that feet shot, must try it one day.

  5. Nisa AK says:

    How lovely that they have ladies beach day every wednesdays!
    I have a weakness for beaches 😀
    Having spent most of my childhood and teenage life living near the beach, I have grown to love the sight of sandy beaches and the sound of the waves. Bliss! subhanAllah.

    I have a weakness for beaches myself! The sound of the waves are music to my ears 🙂

  6. Indrani says:

    Great shots!
    Very well captured. I like the Wednesday concept.

  7. Niyaz says:

    This beach seems to be so silent i like it , Footprints photo s a kool idea 🙂

  8. Sally in WA says:

    Great photos. I love the footprint one. We don’t have sandy beaches close to where I live and I do miss them. Thanks for sharing yours.

  9. Serene says:

    I love beach! I can’t believe it…. It only open for women and children every Wednesday! That’s cool!

    I haven’t been there on a Wednesday, but yes, it is very cool to have a day specially where there are no men around 🙂

  10. sakura says:

    salam,

    it is very nice sis… take me there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Walaikum Assalam, I’ll pick you up from the Dubai airport and bring you straight to the beach 🙂

  11. Müge says:

    What a beautiful and untouched beach! Hard to find in most touristic areas in the world. On the other hand, I understand that women are not allowed to swim any day of the week in that region. That is unfair, no?

    It’s not totally “untouched” because a lot of million dirhams were spent to nourish the sand and maintain the beach. Of course women are allowed, in fact, women are allowed to swim 7 days a week in comparison to men, who are allowed 6 days a week 🙂

  12. Specs says:

    Amazing beach!! And great pics!

    I’d never take foot prints-in-the-sand pictures because I’m flat footed and it looks like a foot-type-thing-was-here picture 😥

    I love yours though! They’re so Nadia shaped! (i’m not even sure what that means but I just said it, hahahaha)

    Oh and I forbid you to call flat footed prints ‘Specs shaped’ *hrmph*

    Nadia shaped .. lol

    Okay, although I’m very tempted to, but I’ll refrain from calling flat-footed prints “Specs shaped” 😀

  13. ladyfi says:

    Does that mean that women and children are ONLY allowed on the beach on Wednesdays – or can they go there on other days too?

    I love unspoilt beaches! Fabulous photos by the way…

    Women and children are allowed on the beach every day of the week, but Wednesdays are special because NO men are allowed 🙂

  14. Wolynski says:

    Is the beach open to everyone other than Wednesdays? These are some beautiful beaches and great photos.

  15. Arija says:

    Nice beach, I love photographing footprints too, but mainly bird and animal prints.

  16. Abid says:

    I love footprints 🙂 They’re actually proof of God’s existence!

  17. Pingback: Al Mamzar Beach | Tea Break

  18. Ubaid says:

    mainey bhi yahan jana hai 😦

    Aajao … you’re allowed, except during Wednesdays 🙂

  19. Mark Kreider says:

    I liked the footprint shot too. Maybe there’s a “Foot” blog somewhere out there!

    That would be interesting!

  20. nadia says:

    So a lot of people wondered whether women and children are allowed to the beach ONLY on Wednesdays.

    The fact is, the beach is open to everyone everyday, except on Wednesdays, when men are NOT allowed.

    When I took these pictures in March, the beach was full with people … women in bikinis even. So I had to walk farther away to take pictures.

    Dubai is very tolerant, as compared to other emirates. In fact, way too tolerant I believe. I think I like Sharjah more.

  21. NimzZz says:

    ur a good photographer :] and i love beaches! the pictures look amazing, i would like to visit this place 1 day :]

  22. Ms.Unique says:

    Masha Allah beautiful ! 🙂

  23. I used to live not too far from Mamzar beach, and I remember when it opened in the mid 90’s, we used to practically live on the beach! 😀

    I am glad that most people and tourists ruch to Jumeirah, it give a better and peaceful experience to others over here.

    Love your footprint pic! 🙂

  24. Sabiha says:

    Really beautiful pics sis. I’ll see if the husband will go to the beach with me on our days off this week, insha’allah we’ll have some nice weather and I can post some pictures of our beach 🙂

  25. Annie Ahmad says:

    As Salam O Alaikum Wa Rehmatulahi Wa Barakatuhu

    I like your blog, it serves to be treated as a travel guide to dubai!!

    I would be visiting dubai during May 2010 InshAllah. Can you please tell me what are the entry charges to Al Mamzar beach? and approximately how much per head the meal costs?

    As Salam O Alaikum Wa Rehmatulahi Wa Barakatuhu

    • nadia says:

      Walaikum Assalam Wa Rehmatulahi Wa Barakatuhu

      I’m glad you like the blog, Sis Annie. Thank you so much!

      Entrance to Al Mamzar costs 5 dirhams per head (that’s for adults. I’m not sure about children). Food, fortunately, is not a problem here in Dubai. You can have a very decent meal in a Pakistani restaurant (like Karachi Darbar) for 10-20 dirhams per person, to an Indian restaurant (like Gazebo) for 40-60 per person.

Leave a Reply

