Dubai’s Summer Sky

“Heat, ma’am! It was so dreadful here, that I found there was nothing left for it but to take off my flesh and sit in my bones.”

~ Sydney Smith, Lady Holland’s Memoir

Summer time!

The Burj al Arab stands tall behind the villas.

That’s our exciting summer sky:  gray and cloudless.  We live in air-conditioned environments 24/7:  in our homes, cars, offices, malls, bus stops, restaurants, restrooms, etc.  And the two-minute walk that we take from the house to the car, we spend that complaining about how hot the weather is.  The water from the tap is hot.  Not just warm, but hot.  Which means, it’s unbearable to take a shower after 9 am.

weather

“If I sit with a chocolate bar during the afternoon, I will not be able to relish it till the end as halfway through, it starts to melt into a sauce.”

~ Serendipitous Life, blogger and friend.

Skywatch Friday

This entry was posted in Dubai and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Dubai’s Summer Sky

  1. masood says:

    Hot Hot Dubai. We have somehow adjusted to the weather now, but still have loads of complaints 😀

  2. Behbood says:

    Atleast Middle East is known to have hot weather during summer months. Toronto is becoming like a cousin to Dubai in terms of weather. Even though we have 30 degrees outside today, with humidex it feels like 35.

    Some people complain and cry, others just enjoy and wait to head to the beaches.

  3. Ubaid says:

    it’s really really hot in lahore as well its 49 degree today!!

  4. Mezba says:

    When we were kids we used to store cold water in a HUGE separate bucket (giant bucket) for use in the summer. Hard to believe they don’t use chiller system to supply cold water in UAE.

  5. Niyaz says:

    hey guys u can adjust since its less than 40 ….here its above 45 and this tuesday it went upto 50….OMG such a heat cant stand wid it….

  6. Pingback: Dubai’s Summer Sky | Tea Break

  7. Umm Travis says:

    Yup. I can relate. It was 40in Egypt this week! Except here nothing is properly airconditioned. I miss central air. Basically Egyptians use wall Ac’s like really cold fans… in the malls it is dreadful. When I go out I feel ill. Basically I think I will just stay at home for the next 3 months. Yup. Summer’s the bomb. Oh wait.. can I say that? I AM NOT A TERRORIST> Hehe. Sorry.. just the heat. U know. I am a lil wacked. 😉

  8. Guy D says:

    Wow is that ever a cool shot,thanks for sharing.

    Have a great weekend
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  9. That is a great shot! Don’t envy you the heat, however, think I’ll stay in Seattle and complain about the rain!

    Enjoy your weekend and stay cool!

  10. ewok1993 says:

    I can’t imagine the heat you are experiencing. Just keep cool then.

    The image is wonderful. I wouldn’t associate the desert with such skies, but I haven’t been to a desert so what do I know.

    http://www.calrat.blogspot.com

  11. babooshka says:

    That does look like blistering heat. You can see the haze.

  12. Sally in WA says:

    I think I’ll agree with Sylvia and not complain too loudly about our rain. I’m not much for heat any more, I’ve acclimated to Seattle weather.

    Nice pic. I like how you can see that now famous building in the background. I saw a story on TV about it.

  13. Serene says:

    Have a great and blazing hot weekend! I just can’t imagine how will I survive in that weather. Good for you, for having cooling system in your house 😉

  14. Margy says:

    37, that’s warm! They are forecasting 34 for us here in Coastal BC in a week. For us that’s HOT! And we don’t have air conditioning. I’ll spend my time in the lake for sure. But for now we have clouds and rain. I invite you so come see some low flying clouds. — Margy

  15. Sanna says:

    Now I feel a bit ashamed for complaining over +25c temperatures being way to hot for me. Nice photo and capture. =)

  16. magiceye says:

    thank god for the aircons!

  17. hfm says:

    Ouch, I’m no fan of heat!
    Stay cool
    🙂

  18. Margaret Ann says:

    I can totally understand…written from the desert of Arizona…:) Wonderful quotations! 🙂

  19. um almujahid says:

    assalamu alaykum

    I don’t like the heat either! SubhanaAllah, A/C 24/7 ??? In the kitchen too I guess… 😆

  20. Wow that’s hot! In Cairo the AC never works properly…either too high (meaning you have to wear a sweater going out in 45 degree weather) or non-existent (90% of places). At least in the Gulf most places are air conditioned, or so I’ve heard.
    Nice pic!

  21. sandysays1 says:

    Wow, that’s hot. We live in a warm place, Florida, but its sub tropical so when it gets between 95 to 98 degrees F it rains. My human has been to many places where its hot includung Dubai, Cairo, Jedda, Wewak, Jkarta, etc. and he says those are hot we’re not. Our humidty stays around 95% so its not pleasant. Hope your AC keeps on keepin’ on. Sandy
    Visit me at http://sandysays1.wordpress.com/

  22. Sumera says:

    It was so horrible when boiling hot water came out the taps – washing your face (or any other part of your body) became an ordeal in its self!

  23. Amir says:

    Wow that’s hot! Low of 31!! We rarely get a high of 31, let alone a low!

  24. This year has seen the hottest summer with temperature going above 50degrees in Al Ain. Few more months to pass by before we can heave a sigh of relief! Good blog…

Leave a Reply

