The Chowmahalla Palace

Hyderabad, India.

Nadia Masood

Chowmahalla literally means "Four Palaces", and wasn't only a home to the Nizams of Hyderabad, but most importantly, this was the center of the city back in the 18th century.

Construction began in 1750, and took a hundred years to complete!

Construction began in 1750, and took a hundred years to complete!

Tickets:  Indian Visitor - Rs. 25 / International Visitor - Rs. 150.  (I got in as a local for Rs 25)

Tickets: Locals - Rs. 25 /Foreigners - Rs. 150. (I got in as a local for Rs 25)

Notice that clock on top?  It's affectionately called the "Khilwat Clock", and has been ticking away for around 250 years now!  An expert family of clock repairers winds the mechanical clock every week.

Notice that clock on top? It's affectionately called the "Khilwat Clock", and has been ticking away for around 250 years now! An expert family of clock repairers winds the mechanical clock every week.

We sat and enjoyed ice cream under these trees while the birds cheerfully chirped in the background.

We sat and enjoyed ice cream under these trees while the birds cheerfully chirped in the background.

The design was inspired from Mughal and Persian architecture.

The design for all the four palaces was inspired from Mughal and Persian architectures.

Takht-e-Nishan (Royal Seat) in Durbar Hall

The heart of the Chowmahalla Palace: Takht-e-Nishan (Royal Seat) in Durbar Hall.

Gorgeous interiors!

Love the details!

Recently installed chandeliers made from delicate Belgian crystal.

Recently installed chandeliers made from delicate Belgian crystal.

Where are the horses?

Carriages that were used to transport royalties a long time ago.

I suppose less important meetings are conducted in this room here on the second floor.

I suppose more intimate meetings were conducted in this room here on the second floor.

The English Bracket Clock

The English Bracket Clock

The ladies

The ladies in the house: preparing the bride for her wedding ceremony.

A great place to have tea and biscuits.

A great place to sit with friends or family and have tea.

Private time

Less glamorous carriages.

Nadia Masood

The enormity of the place amazes me!

The window - up close

The window - up close

Nice place

I imagined a 'Romeo and Juliet' type of scene here.

Last

There were a LOT of photographs of the nizams and their families within these palaces. Also on display are the weapons they owned/used, books, kitchen wares, letters, coins, important manuscripts, clothes, furniture, etc. I recommend people visiting Hyderabad to definitely visit the Chowmahalla Palace.

More beautiful pictures of the palace here.

Take a virtual tour of fabulous places from around the world by clicking on the image below:

That's My World

This entry was posted in Hyderabad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The Chowmahalla Palace

  1. masood says:

    Absolutely incredible! Thanks for the details, I myself don’t know these hidden details being a Hyderabadi.

    Hehe, it’s okay – we’re learning together, and that’s more fun 🙂

  2. Umm Travis says:

    MA SHAA ALLAH! I want to go toooooooooooooo!

    Come along with us next year; it’ll be so much fun!

  3. Pingback: The Chowmahalla Palace | Tea Break

  4. Francesca says:

    These pictures show that side of India that really makes me dream: that place is wonderful!
    Thanks for the suggestion: I think I could be ready to leave tomorrow!

    Hehe, I know! And the country is full of photo ops 😀

  5. Haleem says:

    I guess the foreigner/local will always be by skin color! 🙂

    Even when I go to the touristy parts of Bangladesh I always see this – and then pay the local rate even though I am anything but local!

    The palace looks really grand.

    lol – same here 😀 Although the Taj Mahal guys were highly suspicious that I was Pakistani, but I still went in as a local.

  6. Niyaz says:

    wow wonderful pictures,surprised to see its cleanliness. Thanks for presenting the hidden beauties of our country!

    And I can’t wait to explore more!

  7. Guy D says:

    Stunning images, what amazing architecture. Thanks for sharing these with us.

    Have a great week
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  8. Serene says:

    Lovely picture! It makes me think of visiting India. Thanks for sharing your wonderful experienced. I just wonder do you always take the picture, why is that I dont see you in these picture? Are you a camera shy? 😉

    lol – yes, I take the pictures, 99% of the time 😀

    I’m actually making an effort to not have myself photographed because taking pictures of/painting/drawing/sculpting images of people and animals are actually discouraged in Islam. In my previous posts, you may have noticed I have taken pictures of people and animals, but I’m trying to avoid those now. Hope I remain steadfast in my choice.

  9. thoughtsunchecked says:

    Really beautiful…you seem to know a great many facts about the place. 🙂

    I usually read up about a place before visiting it; makes the trip more special 🙂

  10. lawstude says:

    These are beautiful shots. I would have the time of my life just exploring the place. Great Job.

  11. amatamari says:

    A series of stunning images, rich detail, beautiful!
    Thank you, truly a precious gift!

  12. magiceye says:

    thank you so much for the lovely trip to chowmahalla!
    twas a pleasure!

  13. Mamapippa says:

    What a beautiful place !

  14. Ubaid says:

    WOW, amazing pictures 🙂

  15. falakk says:

    I love all the photos! I wish I could take good pictures *sniff* 😦

    Love, Falak
    PS. The glamorous carriages remind of wedding dholis, ha ha.
    I am weird. 😛

  16. Alicesg says:

    Wow such magnificient building and rich culture. Love the way you took photo of the doorway too.

  17. Beautiful palace architecture and chandelier.
    Interesting that a clock could continue to function for so long.

  18. ladyfi says:

    What intricate doors and fabulous, over the top chandeliers.

  19. Indrani says:

    I haven’t been to Hyderabad yet.
    Nice shots of the place.

  20. Specs says:

    The darbar! The carriages! The clocks! The windows! Lucky you!! The place looks awesome.

  21. seniorhiker says:

    Thanks for the tour of this beautiful palace. I think it would be wonderful to see it in person.
    Thanks, too, for visiting my site.

  22. Wolynski says:

    Incredible – look at all the detail… No wonder it took a 100 years to build. Absolutely gorgeous.

  23. The Ruler says:

    W-how. They’re pretty pretty. O_O

  24. You have turned the place inside out and offered your visitors as if on a platter. Great work. I hope to return again to your blog. Best.

  25. Fishing Guy says:

    Nadia: When I see a place like this palace I’m in awe of construction from the 1700. It is truly without compare.

  26. Sally in WA says:

    Wonderful post and the pictures are stunning!

  27. Gaelyn says:

    An amazing palace. So much detail, and huge. Great post and captures.

  28. feeya says:

    Wow.It’s so pretty and artistic.Mashallah.

  29. Abid says:

    Now I wanna go to India too 😦

    Too bad I don’t actually know anyone there! (except for random cousins of dadi/dada)

  30. Sabiha says:

    Alhamdulillah, really really gorgeous. Thank you for sharing, I love seeing pictures of where you guys live it is so amazing.

  31. Arija says:

    A really splendid and sumptuous palace with lovely garden surrounds ans superb carvings. Thank you for documenting it so well for all of us to enjoy. I loved the Rotunda with the crown on top!

  32. I also want to have a palace like that! 😀

  33. Rajesh says:

    Beautiful snaps of marvelous architecture. This is definitely in my list whenever I visit Hyderabad. Thanks for sharing.

  34. Hajar Alwi says:

    Masha’Allah~! Brilliant photography!!! I love the magnificent grandeur! *well, it is a palace* Oh yeah, I can imagine the ‘Romeo and Juliet’ scene too. Things would have been amazing back in its heydays. Great to know that it is well-kept.

  35. Amazing pictures! And a beautiful palace!
    And to see that its so well preserved is amazing.
    How did you manage to take pic with no ppl around? If its a tourist attraction, i imagine it would be crowded during visiting hours.

    Thanks, Sis. It was 1 pm, that too on a weekday, hence lesser crowd 🙂

  36. MaryAnn says:

    MashaAllah, finally visited your blog. 🙂

    These are beautiful photos. I love the architecture, reminds of some Spanish architecture in Texas, California, and Mexico.

    SubhanAllah how things can be half a world a away and be similar.

    Mary Ann, welcome to the blog, Sis! 🙂

  37. meow says:

    I soooooo want to see Hyderabad!!! I’ve been captivated by the idea of a Chudi Bazaar since forever!!! And after your fantastic post I want to go even more!

    This November we’ll go to Delhi to see the Taj and then next year hopefully we can visit Hyderabad!
    I’ve made up my mind to see all of India first. The rest of the world’s hotspots can wait!

  38. Janit says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful photographs.

    I have been to Chow Mohalla and I also love the place. It is so calm and cool, inspite being so near to the hustle and bustle of the Charminar. I also have a blog on Hyderabad. Please check it out and blogroll me. I am blogrolling you.

  39. mummyjaan says:

    Beautiful photos. Have you done any post on the Falaknuma palace? That’s very nice too – esp the intricate woodwork in one of the buildings adjacent to the main palace – I visited it about 10 years ago but have been wanting to go back – just for the sake of that awesome woodwork.

    Very nice blog, too, Nadia.

  40. nadia says:

    Hello, Mummy Jaan. Welcome to the blog! I haven’t been to Falaknuma palace because it was closed to the public when we were there 😦

  41. savitarahgav says:

    hey………………i really wanna go there.

Leave a Reply

