A Second Look at the City of Nizams

Week 1.

The city reminded me of Karachi, except that Hyderabad has a lot of temples and fewer power interruptions.

Since this was my second visit, I realized that the place looks familiar and that I already knew my way home – but only after arriving at Medhipatnam, which is a mere 30 minutes drive from where our home is.  “Not bad,” I thought proudly.

I looked at Masood.  Poor guy.  The taxi was a small car and we were four adults with 3 large suitcases.  Masood still managed to give me smile, despite one of the suitcases already sitting on his lap.

It drizzled when we arrived.  The city didn’t change much in a year’s time, except that there’s a huge supermarket/department store right across our home now, and several clothing stores and a couple of big bakeries have opened nearby.  Oh, and the chocolate factory at the corner of the street has closed down.  I was, instead, greeted by a huge “Hot Chips” sign board, which also announced:  “We also sell minaral water”.

I found it a huge relief to not see any metal cranes at all.  It was refreshing to not see huge glass buildings being constructed.  It felt wonderful to look at the trees with their bright green leaves.  I smiled when I saw old buildings and structures.  I was greeted by chirping birds each morning, when the breeze is pleasantly cool.  And the city smelled of ripe, sweet mangoes.

Our home becomes the hub during the summer break:  imagine 15 of us, including four very active kids, living under a roof! My Mom-in-law and I had to cook 30 rotis in the morning for breakfast!  I’m in-charge for making and serving tea – twice a day.  The house is constantly abuzz with youngsters laughing, kids quarreling and aunties shouting at them.  Masood brought Play Station games, and the kids fought more over who gets to play first.  We would all sleep at 2 am, wake up for Faj’r at 5 am, then back to bed until 10 am.

Sometimes before going to bed, we would go to the terrace on the third floor and enjoy the cool evening breeze.  Often times, it would drizzle.  We would bring a straw mat and some throw pillows with us and spend time looking at the stars and tell stories.

Then there was this small party where close relatives were invited.  Masood’s four-year-old cousin got circumcised, and we all had biryani and sweets.  I decided to wear my colored contact lenses that evening.  As Masood put them on me (because I don’t have previous experience in wearing them), children gathered around, oohing and aahing, until the youngest of them declared, “Your eyes look like a cat’s.”

The picture below shows one of my favorite roads in Hyderabad. Please don’t ask for the names; I had a hard time pronouncing them, let alone memorize.

Nadia Masood

One of the quieter neighborhoods in the city …

Nadia MasoodOld city …

Nadia Masood

This entry was posted in Hyderabad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Second Look at the City of Nizams

  1. masood says:

    Refreshing virtual tour to Hyderabad again. lol @ your eyes look like a cat’s.
    I started missing Hyderabad again:(

    I miss the kids most, and the mangoes.

  2. Ubaid says:

    so bajo you are having fun in hyderabad!!

    when’ll you be coming back ? 🙂

    I AM back in the UAE already, hence the new posts 🙂

  3. sakura says:

    awesome.. this makes me to miss my home n relative in india.. 😦 i also like when the kid say ur eyes is like the cat.. 😀

    hope u had an awesome day there.. 🙂

    After I was told by the child that my eyes look like a cat’s, I said, “Okay, I’m taking these off right now.” She hugged me and said, “No, I meant they look very pretty!” 😀

    Where in India are your relatives from?

    • sakura says:

      that so sweet….. my relatives from tamil nadu.. we live in the village side.. totally different from the life im living in malaysia nw.. 😀

      Two contrasting places 😀

  4. Umm Travis says:

    ma shaa Allah 😀

    I just love joint family system 🙂

  5. Pingback: A Second Look at the City of Nizams | Tea Break

  6. Ubaid says:

    oh didn’t ghorify on that part :p

    hehe, koi baat nahi.

  7. Nisa AK says:

    welcome back Nadia!
    i must ask Mr Sheikh to bring me to india too sometimes 😀

    Thanks, Nisa! Yeah, you really should 🙂

  8. Abid says:

    “I miss the kids most, and the mangoes.”

    What kind of mangoes can you get in Hyderabad? As a Pakistani, I tried buying Alphonso mangoes, but nothing compares to anwar ratol!

    “Please don’t ask for the names; I had a hard time pronouncing them, let alone memorize.”

    What language is spoken around Hyderabad? Not Urdu, I take it.

    There was a huge mango festival in Hyderabad during the last week of May, but due to some emergency we couldn’t go. I read in the paper that Baneshan, Totapuuri, Neelam, China Rasam, Pedda Rasam, Daseri, Himayat Pasand, Alphonsa, Kesar and Sora are some of the varieties on display (had to check the paper again to type these names).

    Urdu is the major spoken language in Hyderabad, next is the regional dialect “Telugu”.

  9. Hajar Alwi says:

    Welcome back sis~!!! Masha’Allah, lovely photos and a delightful post! I happen to have a couple of friends from Hyderabad and it feels nice to be able to see their end of the world through your eyes. But cooking 30 rotis! I’m truly amazed. 🙂

    Thanks, Sis! Yeah, 30 rotis – that too in summer. But mealtime was one of the fun moments 🙂

  10. Tauqeer says:

    What is that road sign in first pic?

    It simply means “no left turn into the water”.

  11. Francesca says:

    Your pictures (as usual!) make me wanting to be there! But, how come they closed down a chocolate factory?! It’s a loss! ; p
    Thumbs up for the bakeries (uh! the smell of fresh bread!), but not for the big department store… (even in my small area, in about five years, they built up four (:lol) big supermarkets/malls, with tons of cement).
    You are lucky for those authentic moments of happy family-life you’ve been able to live.
    Great holidays: I’m glad for you!

    Thanks, dear! Not sure what happened to the chocolate factory (never bought anything from them anyway 😉 ) I was actually glad a supermarket opened just across the street; I’d rather buy veggies and meat from there than go to the crowded, hot market.

  12. Behbood says:

    Aah….the Yellow Auto’s… they are an important ingredient in making Hyderabad….. Hyderabad!!

    And they’re actually much more roomier than Karachi’s auto rickshaws.

  13. Mezba says:

    It does not look crowded at all!

    I particularly chose these ‘peaceful’ pictures, else it’s chaotic on the road.

  14. Thanks for taking us on a virtual tour. Making 30 rotis, mashaAllah, is some achievment.
    From the pictures it looks a lot like khi, just less crowded.

    Actually, Hyderabad has a population of about 8.8 million. During the rush hour, it’s so crowded on the streets that it seems every single person in the city is outside!

  15. mubi says:

    o thats cool..you have a home in hyderabad…
    good to see u bk 🙂

    Thanks, Mubi! 🙂

  16. Haleem says:

    Couldn’t tell if this was in India or Pakistan.

    Or Bangladesh, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

