A Date Outside Burger King

Photographed by Nadia Masood

During one of our afternoon walks, we spottted this couple engaged in some serious conversation chirping.  Oblivious to everyone around them, these two took their sweet time in discussing matters pertinent to them, like where to migrate during the summer, for example.  They can’t possibly stay here in Dubai, where the temperature can rise to 50 C in June.

In the background, you can see more of the construction work, something that is becoming an eyesore after living here for 2 years.  Sometimes I wonder, “Will this ever end?”  You can also see the line for the metro system, set to operate later this year.  And of course, there’s the Burger King sign.

This was a peek into my part of the world.  Please click on the image below to see fascinating places from around the globe.

myworlbuttonwhite2

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Date Outside Burger King

  1. Specs says:

    I’m loving the chirping ‘couple’. I hope you made them sign a waiver before you posted their photo; everyone seems to be aware of their intellectual property rights nowadays.

    Islamabad is getting new roads; I think we’ve almost doubled the number of roads we had in the past two years and the construction makes it all so ugly!! I hate it! Even if the end result is good, its such an eyesore, true.

    Haha, the waiver thing didn’t cross my mind while I took and posted their pictures. I’m hoping they don’t read blogs 🙂

  2. marites says:

    I have the same sentiments with you about seeing some new construction around our place. I guess, that’s progress. Aren’t those two cute:) Seems they are so engrossed with their own world.

    My world entry is up too.

    There is actually a coffee shop nearby – Costa – and these birds just love the cake and pastries. They hang around the place, hoping to get food 🙂

  3. Deepa says:

    Cute Couples…Their chirping seems interesting.
    And what you said about ‘Work in Progress’, I can’t but totally agree with you on that. It’s a terrible menace. I live in Dubai & I can say everyone here is facing trouble coz of it.
    Anyways, your couple birdies did lighten the situation..I believe.

    I think you’ll like this one:
    http://deepazworld.blogspot.com/2009/04/cactus-missy-on-go.html

    LOL – I really love Missy’s adventures. Very creative!

  4. Indrani says:

    I get the message.
    The world all around is changing at a fast pace.

    Incredibly fast paced and at the cost of anything 😦

  5. masood says:

    Very Cute post, Sweetheart :). I am sure they were discussing what you’ve mentioned in this post. We won’t see them during summer hence we are gonna miss them:(

    Crows will be there 😀

  6. ipv6 says:

    Will this ever end
    The global financial crisis slow will definitely slow ’em down for sure.

    Construction has slowed down – but it’s still there on an enormous scale.

  7. yogi says:

    Great post. I love the birds. As far as the construction goes, it must be a pain in the rear but sometimes I think if a city is not growing then it might be dying.

    Thanks, Yogi. Regardless of the ‘pain’, I still love living in this country.

  8. sakaigirl says:

    Umm, i do not understand why burger king got to do with the construction? where there is more ppl, they’ll be more construction going on.. its bad for mother earth, we either live with it or stay away from it.. I wish i have a house up a cool mountain^^

    Burger King has nothing to do with the construction. It’s just a sign board along the road.

    I wouldn’t mind a house in the mountain – as long as there’s internet connection 😀

  9. Pingback: A Date Outside Burger King | Tea Break

  10. Mog says:

    Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad you did as it lead me to yours.

    I enjoyed reading about those birds, they look like sparrows. When I was in England recently several people commented that there were virtually no sparrows around, maybe they are all vacationing in Dubai?

    Yes, they are indeed sparrows. Aha, so that is where these little creatures have flown in from 🙂

  11. Erin says:

    you think they might be full from their trek to bk?

    some times i find the fact you can find american fast food places in remote corners of the world not a good thing…it bothers me some. might just be me.

    cute post.

    Well, in this corner of the world, you can find brands from every country!

  12. magiceye says:

    that is a cute post!

    have been reading horror stories in various newspapers around the world about how the construction activity is slowly becoming a liability. but am sure its a temporary thing. like all things recession will pass too 🙂

    Yes, I hope it does. The state of the laborers here are of great concern. I hope the government does something good for them, soon.

  13. Ubaid says:

    I miss burger king so much 😦 !!

    Don’t we have BK back home?

  14. Cute post! I like your ideas about what the birds maybe chirping!

    Thanks, Louise 🙂

  15. soulbrush says:

    what a good post, showing that no matter how much concrete we have around us there will still be birds…delightful.

    It surely is wonderful seeing them flying around.

  16. Syaa_Fiqq says:

    Yeah, it looks like they gonna have long, serious discussion, please do not disturb.. :-), Nice picture and have a nice day..

    Thank you! I just took one picture and left them to enjoy their date 🙂

  17. Sidney says:

    Sweet… but it looks they still have to do some talking before they get a bit closer to each other… 😉

    I think they are still in the getting-to-know-each-other phase 🙂

  18. Lantaw says:

    great contrast. when the development comes, the wildlife goes away ..

    Or kept in the zoo 😦

  19. Haleem says:

    mmm… burger king!!

    here they are going to start construction of new subway lines.. part of the stimulus package… I guess we will now have eyesore for years to come.

    Welcome to the club 🙂

  20. Jenn says:

    I am lovin’ your blog, love your wit. 🙂 And yeah construction is definitely an eyesore but sometimes inevitable. Great bird chirping story! 🙂

    Thanks, Jenn!

  21. Arija says:

    I think you need to take a leaf out of the book of the discussing couple and opt for change of scene. I suspect the expected temperatures as well as the Burger King sign are wearing you down. Don’t take my ideas as gospel, but do consider….

    Oh yes, we are actually going out of town soon. Can’t wait! 🙂

  22. mubi says:

    hahaha when the pic was loading i cud only see burgerking sign..and i was like okay…….expecting some human date :p lol

    😀

  23. Deepa says:

    Thanks for dropping in.
    Good Day:)

  24. A striking contrast. I think I would do like the birds; fly to another place. 🙂

    If only it were easy to just fly away to wherever the climate is pleasant 🙂

  25. Francesca says:

    I don’t like the wild, fast-growing urbanization, but I would really like to have my own apartment in Dubai… ; )
    Absolutely the green areas (and the wildlife which can live in there) should be considered more important inside the urban centers, so, bigger efforts should be spent to preserve and enlarge them, instead of focusing only about building up…

    The only natural green area that I have personally seen here in the UAE is in Al Ain, where urbanization hasn’t quite catch up yet. It’s a nice, cool place to visit.

  26. hfm says:

    They’re so oblivious to their surroundings. Sweet 🙂
    Animals can show us the beauty in nature only to be scarred by the ugliness humans love to create.
    :/

    That’s true. We often forget that nature isn’t only for us humans.

  27. Cavaliere says:

    You always surprise us with your beautiful photographs 🙂

    Thank you!

  28. The Explorer says:

    it is wonderful that sometimes we understand them…c”,) nice pic

    If you pay close attention, you’ll realize that birds are pretty smart 🙂

  29. Mariz says:

    Enjoyed the amusing commentaries. I think everyone in Dubai is wondering about the same thing – “when will all these construction works ever end?”…but come to think of it, Dubai isn’t Dubai if you don’t get to see those cranes everywhere, i’m starting to believe that “cranes” here are icons as significant as Burj Dubai or Bur Al Arab..hihi.

    Haha, that is so true. I do think it would look strange if ALL the cranes were gone 🙂

  30. Behbood says:

    hi. salam..first time here…. nice post!!! 🙂

    Walaikum Assalam. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

