Overwhelmed

I want him to take me to a remote village where there are lush green trees, cool breeze, sparkling lakes, and cows – or horses.

My Facebook status read something like that.

And Specs sent an IM, “What’s with the remote village and cows?”

Umm Travis sent a tweet, “I will come too, k?”

The thing is, I am simply overwhelmed by all the concrete and glass around me.  As much as I love the country, it gets tiring to the senses.  Perhaps it’s human nature to get bored and seek change.  And no wonder everyone here gets paid annual leaves – you would crave for a change of view.   The last time Masood and I vacationed was nine months ago, in India.  No wonder I want to go away again;  it’s been almost a year!

This overwhelming desire for a holiday is further fueled by the mandatory monthly mood swings.  So I’ve been crying over the littlest, most insignificant things.  Last night while cooking dinner, I accidentally dropped a few tomatoes and while picking them up from the kitchen floor, I started to cry.  Later, Masood apologized for being too busy at work and not being able to spend time with me, and that made me cry too.

This morning when I got up to make some breakfast, I felt depressed not knowing what to cook.  We decided on pancakes (boxed one which only requires to add milk, eggs and oil) so I prepared the batter.  When I turned on the stove, I realized that we ran out of gas!    I wanted to cry right then, but then thought that it’s much better this way:  no gas, no cooking.  We’ll eat out!

And because there was so much time (since I wasn’t cooking nor we were eating breakfast) I watched Disney’s Aladdin on Youtube and replayed A Whole New World a dozen times.  Masood was kind enough to tolerate.

Then, we had a sumptuous breakfast at a restaurant near the office at 1 pm.

Oh, and Masood has promised to take me out of town soon, InshaAllah.  I won’t disclose the location just it.

And in the meantime, I shall be content to feast my eyes on this picture I took when I visited Hyderabad, India …

Picture taken by Nadia Masood

I’d like to end this post with a valuable PMS survival guide:

Dangerous:  “What’s for dinner?”

Safer:   “Can I help you with dinner?”

Safest:  “Where would you like to go for dinner?”

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Umm Travis says:

    Your post almost made me cry tooooo! I am with you hun! (((BIG HUG))) The bottom was nice — ma shaa Allah Big D offered to take out for me last night. Arent we blessed? Really. Lets keep things in perspective here.

    Oh that pic is sooooooooooo nice! Whenever I look at pics of Canada, I cry too! HAHA

    Aww, thank you so much for the warm hug, Sis *hugs Umm Travis back*

    Yes, Alhumdulillah, we’re lucky to have such a supportive and understanding spouse.

    Haha, looking back at old, beautiful pictures provide me some relief (and home sickness too) – but can’t help it 😀

  2. Pingback: Overwhelmed | Tea Break

  3. Asma Ahsan says:

    Hey cutie – dont be upset – check this out. Real Punjabi village with real cows too. 😛

    http://asmaahsan1974.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/bmk-this-ones-for-you/

    I want to go there! But our immigration people always give Masood a terrible time, so he’s always hesitant to go to Pakistan 😦 And I don’t want to go anywhere without him.

    Thanks for those pictures, Asma.

  4. Abid says:

    LOL @ PMS survival guide.

    Take a vacation in three months, when it is the middle of May and it is 45 degrees C outside. Then you will really appreciate going someplace cooler!

    Don’t just LOL at the PMS guide; you’ll find that useful in the future 🙂

    Yes indeed, we’ll be out of here in May for our annual vacations, InshaAllah!

  5. meow says:

    it’s not weird for you to want to escape from Dubai. everything here is so fake. *everything* is manmade. it gets to you. i’ve lived here all my life and it still feels unnatural.
    sometimes i feel ashamed that people from other countries have seen more of india than i have and i have decided that before we go on any vacations abroad, we have to first visit all the exotic places in india!
    i hope you have a super duper vacation and get to soak yourself in nature.

    Where in India are you from, Meow? I love the long train rides! There’s so much in India that I want to see. May seems to be so far away *sigh*

  6. masood says:

    Dangerous, Safer, Safest…looks like it’s also swinging around the mood. InshaAllah we will make out a good vacation this time.

    You already have a PhD in PMS Survival. You should guide our younger brothers 😀

    InshaAllah, can’t wait to be surrounded by lush, green trees and dust-free air.

  7. meow says:

    Bombay. But I’ve lived here all my life and my entire family is here too.

    My husband is from Manglore and his parents are there so we’ll have to make atleast 1 trip there every year. I want to make the best of it!

    I would LOVE to go to Hyderabad. I want to check out the Chudi Bazaar 😉

    Ah yes, the Chudi Bazaar – you’ll want to buy everything you see 🙂 But I highly recommend bringing a Hyderabadi (should have the accent and negotiating skills) along with you to get the best price.

  8. mubi says:

    love the song a whole new world 😀 😀

    aww *hugs* for feeling low :/

    and lol, the survival guide was quite helpful :p

    That song makes me feel good every time 🙂

    Thank you so much for the hug *hugs Mubi back*

  9. Niyaz says:

    Cheer up Sis 🙂

    Take a short vacation , guess bro hve already planned for it hehe !!!

    so hw abt ur dinner today? goin out huh!

    Yes, he has planned already. It’s a Thursday night, so dining out 🙂

  10. Sumera says:

    As enamouring as Dubai can be, I did wonder during my brief stay there that it can begin to get to you after a while. After all there’s nothing natural about glass buildings and construction where-ever you go. Hope you get to enjoy your lush green pastures soon 🙂 I hope I get to go on holiday sometime soon too (with the Mr that is – already been on my own lol)!

    Oh yes, it does get a little too much to bear after sometime – an overdose of artificial stuff. But I also start missing this place when I’m away 😀

    Hope you get your holiday soon too. Where do you plan to go?

  11. Specs says:

    Aww! I came here just to check things out and there’s a new post that I don’t have on my reader. 😦

    I didn’t realize it was so bad… but I can understand why you’re feeling so overwhelmed with the concrete and glass. *hug* Some days, life’s too fast to let you stand back a moment, put a hand on your neck and take a deep deep breath.

    LOL@ the survival guide. 😀

    P.S. The picture’s beautiful!

    Yes, you’re right – life is indeed moving too fast and I’m just tired of running after it. I need to slow down and catch my breath. Thanks, Specs *hugs back*

    Oh, that picture is one of my favorites! It makes me just take the next flight to hyderabad 😀

  12. Haleem says:

    If I lived amongst 24 hour construction I would be depressed at times too… life seems very fast over there!

    Chin up, take a look at your office’s magnificent parking area!

    Thank you, Haleem. I’m feeling much better now; Masood took me out for a long walk yesterday 🙂

  13. frozeefa says:

    HI sis

    There were also so many times i had cried over little things..And surprisingly its during my pregnancy period….

    Maybe we are just emotional..At those times i will hate myself for being such a failure..The silliet moment for my tearing is becos the Chappti flour would not form into a dough..and i called my busy hubby, made him rush down to form it for me…
    Another occasion as u may have read from my blog is when the mynahs would have their droppings in my just laundried clothes 🙂

    Haha, we’re so normal then! 🙂

  14. Sabiha says:

    Hang in there Sis :hug: I don’t think I’ve ever been on a proper vacation, we usually will just go camping during the summer (but that is not what most people consider a vacation! lol).

    Thank you so much *hugs* – as long as it’s out of town, I consider it as a vacation 🙂

  15. Asma Ahsan says:

    I wish you could get visa – If you ever do manage to, go to Lahore and visit my parents – better still, I will go with you. 🙂

    Whenever we plan to go to Lahore, I’ll let you know, InshaAllah 🙂

Leave a Reply

