Obsession With Fiber

“Those who think they have no time for healthy eating will sooner or later have to find time for illness.”  – Edward Stanley

I am, once again for the nth time, obsessed with eating healthy.  This time around, my fascination is focused on fiber.  No, it’s not because of some sluggishness or difficulty in evacuating the bowel contents.  There are other reasons too, you know.

Masood and I both have a strong family history for hypertension.  With that in mind, I intend to be more disciplined when it comes to fiber consumption.

And more importantly, consuming food high in fiber helps reduce weight!  It is because fiber-rich food takes a longer time to digest, so you stay full for a greater amount of time.  They also tend to be “less energy dense”, which means fewer calories for the same volume of food.

Now, my taste buds aren’t a big fan of cereals and oatmeals.  Also, I am often too lazy to cut fruit.  But I am determined to make this work and, therefore, aimed at having high fiber breakfasts to start with.  When I had made up my mind, I sweet-talked Masood into buying fiber-enriched cereals.

After spending 30 minutes looking at boxes, reading nutrition facts and a lot of discussion, we ended up buying these on Friday evening:

My current obsession

And here’s what we actually had for breakfast since then:

Yesterday:

Pancakes with honey and butter, Masafi mixed-fruit juice (which isn’t really healthy because it contains sugar and tastes good), a banana, and half cup tea.

Today:

Aalo ki bhujia (spicy mashed potatoes ), chapati, half banana (because Masood and I shared a piece), and tea.

Tomorrow:

Fiber-rich cereals, InshaAllah.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Obsession With Fiber

  1. masood says:

    I hope these awesome-looking boxes of cereals also taste good. As a Hyderabadi, my taste buds are simply over-pampered with tasty food 😉

    Try visualizing parathas and idlis while you munch on these cereals 😀

  2. Umm Travis says:

    Yum I love Weetabix… not that one in the photo though, the ones that are the size of a palm… I usually put low fat yogour on top or bananas or honey, and milk. So delish and very healthy. In the winter I usually switch it up with Oatmeal… so healthy, and low in fat… you can mix it with date pieces, bananas or honey as well with some warm milk.

    We both love honey and bananas, so will try to top the cereals with those. Thanks, Sis 🙂

  3. Pingback: Obsession With Fiber | Tea Break

  4. Abid says:

    @Masood bhai

    As a Hyderabadi, you are probably going to be disappointed with how these cereals taste, which is (in short) BAD.

    Too bad Masood read this before I was even able to ‘edit’ your comment 😀

  5. Asma Ahsan says:

    I was thinking of writing down about the NESTLE cereal in the picture myself as I just finished a box this week. I like it a lot – better than bran flakes from kellogs which are too brown for me! 🙂

    Very good choice on improving meal plan – I am trying same as I need to lose a lot of weight. I thought to go on a healthy diet for ever now, not just for a short while. I like the plan you guys are using. Keep it up! 🙂

    The boxes are still sitting on the dining table 😦

    We’re like small kids scared of the medicine! Masood is reluctant to eat unless I try it out first.

    I know this sounds absolutely silly. I mean, these are just cereals!

  6. Asma Ahsan says:

    By that I meant the future meals, not the aaloo ki bhujia and paratha ones. 😛

  7. hfm says:

    Why is that most healthy foods are weak on the taste factor?
    😦

    Not only that; they also cost a lot 😀

  8. Sabiha says:

    Hehe maybe you should try some high fiber recipes for breakfast instead of cereal if you guys like to eat things like pancakes for breakfast 🙂

    These pancakes look and sound pretty tasty:
    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=459503

    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=439872

    For cereal though, I like to use Grape Nuts Cereal. I heat up some milk, pour grape nuts in bowl and top it with honey and cut up banana and/or blue berries, add warm milk (just to make wet, not Grape Nut Soup for breakfast lol I’m strange like that).
    It’s delicious and pretty good amount of fiber compared to other cereal.
    http://www.postcereals.com/gn/

    Oh Sabiha, thank you so much for these links! *hugs*

  9. Specs says:

    Great post. Love the quote at the beginning.

    Sabiha provided great links! Thanks!

    Oh yes, she’s my inspiration 🙂

  10. mubi says:

    hahaha good start :p
    my dad eats barley…jo dalya hota hai…it tastes eww :p but he adds banana and honey to it…gets better :p

    We finally tried the Nestle cereal shown above. Surprisingly, both of us loved it! 🙂

    Barley is very good too.

  11. Jus says:

    Way to go, babe!

    “which isn’t really healthy because it contains sugar and tastes good” ==> LOL you make it sound as if healthy foods dont taste nice.

    Keep on eating your high fibre Chappatis. =)

    Not all, but most healthy food don’t taste nice – not for the Desi taste buds at least 😀

Leave a Reply

