Al Ain: An Oasis in the Desert

Literally translated as the spring, Al Ain is a fertile oasis in the vast deserts of the U.A.E.  It is the country’s fourth largest city and is dubbed as the Garden City of the U.A.E.

Masood and  I went to Al Ain for the first time a year ago, in October, when the weather was still warm.  We hadn’t stayed until sunset then and missed out on the opportunity to immerse in the beauty of the magnificent Jebel Hafeet.  I’d taken a few pictures that day, had a quick lunch, and returned to Dubai.

This Eid, alongwith 16 friends, Masood and I drove up to Al Ain again.  We left Dubai before noon and had lunch at Pizza Hut in Al Ain.  I had wanted to eat something traditional, like mandi, which is the local version of our desi biryani, but majority voted on pizza.  Afterwards, we headed off to Jebel Hafeet, the highest tourist spot in the U.A.E.

Off We Go! Great Weather!

On our way up to Jebel Hafeet.

100_2449 100_24431

That’s the Mercure Grand Hotel in the left picture.

100_2451 100_2494

“We placed firmly embedded mountains on the earth, so it would not move under them…(Quran, 21:31)

100_2475 100_2468

“Oft did I wonder why the setting sun should look upon us with a blushing face: Is’t not for shame of what he hath seen done, whilst in our hemisphere he ran his race?” (Lyman Heath)

100_2490 100_2509

“Lo! We subdued the hill to hymn the praises (of their Lord) with him (David) at nightfall and sunrise.” (Quran, 38/18)

100_2518 100_2548

“Which then, of the favours of your Lord wills O Jinn and men you twain will deny?” (Quran, 55:13)

This entry was posted in Al Ain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Al Ain: An Oasis in the Desert

  1. masood says:

    We had a wonderful time together, Alhumdulillah. We will arrange for BBQ next time, InshaAllah. All the pictures are simply amazing:)

    Oh yes, it was fabulous! Yes, we should BBQ next time; don’t want to eat pizza.

    My favorite part would be when we climbed the hill. Oh, and I also loved the hot water spring. I couldn’t dip my feet in the water for even 20 seconds!

  2. Umm Travis says:

    OH! I miss Al Ain!

    But you’ve got the beautiful views of Alex instead 🙂

  3. Asma Ahsan says:

    Wow – I like the ride up to Al Ain and the ride to Hatta is fantastic too!

    You have a very good camera – and a great eye for taking pics, which is more important than the pixel of the camera 🙂 – I was very impressed by the Dubai mall pics too – good work!

    I own a 7 mp Kodak camera which, I think, is good for amateurs like myself. I’ve grown to love this camera so much, even though the reviews aren’t so good. I’ve read in one of the reviews about a man hating this camera so much that he gave it away to his 12-year-old daughter to play with.

    I’m glad you liked the pictures. Thank you so much 🙂

  4. Haleem says:

    You can drive the car UP the mountain?

    Eid Mubarak!

    ps. got your email. Thanks. Been busy with work and exams so will reply on the weekend, InshaAllah.

    Eid mubarak to you and your family 🙂

    The Jebel Hafeet Mountain Road extends for 11.7 km up the mountain, rising 4000 ft. With 21 corners and three lanes (two climbing and one descending), the immaculate road was called the greatest driving road in the world by Edmunds.com. (Wikipedia)

  5. Aadil says:

    Should I call it the best of your travel posts!
    It definitely stands out for the relevancy of the quotes you put under the beautifully captured photos.
    The last two pictures are wonderful! 🙂

    Thank you so much, Aadil 🙂

  6. Amy says:

    Wow! Man!( or should I say woman :p)

    Your posts are making me dream to travel U.A.E.. I’ve never ever thought of going there.. cos nothing had fascinated me ‘yet’ 😀

    InshaAllah its gonna be my next trip.

    Thanks a bunch for taking us along on a visual trip. 🙂

    Actually, I also had never thought of the U.A.E. as a place that I would like to visit, let alone live here. It was only after getting married that I got the chance to learn about the country. And I absolutely love this place!

  7. Abid says:

    Nice pictures!

    Thank you so much 🙂

  8. mubi says:

    i like the way you quoted the Quranic verses!
    there are so many memories related to al ain from my childhood 🙂
    oo btw i love the 6th pic from the top, where darkness surrounds the top of the mountain and the street lights lit the lower half of the mountain wall…

    Thank you, Mubi. We had to climb up a hill to take good photographs 🙂

    Do you and your family, by any chance, plan to visit the U.A.E. again anytime soon?

  9. بلوُ says:

    بہت اچھی تصویر ہے

    Shukriya 🙂

  10. Asma Ahsan says:

    I would really like you to join the new blog I just linked to – do give it a try – hoping you will.

    http://skyley.blogspot.com/

    🙂

    I just checked Skywatch Friday and think it’s pretty cool. Thanks for the link, Asma 🙂

  11. Niyaz says:

    wonderful pics & worth to visit 🙂

    Thank you, Niyaz

Leave a Reply

