Happy Meal

We had a scrumptious BBQ meal with friends on Eid.  We gathered at around 2:30 pm, which is a very normal time to have lunch here.  The adults had warm lintel soup, Pizza Hut style salad, followed by luscious, mouth-watering BBQ:  chicken, mutton, and seekh kabab.  These were served with either rice or puri.

The kids, however, demanded happy meal.

Our host went to the fast food,  just next door to where we were having lunch, followed by all the excited kids.  She walked up to the counter and ordered 4 happy meals.

“Would you like to have chicken burger, beef burger, or plain cheese burger?”  asked the crew, ever so politely.

“Don’t bother about the hamburgers.  Just tell me what toys you have,”  replied our host, with a smile.

Fifteen minutes and four made-in-China toy trucks later, one of the kids, aged 6, realized that he didn’t get a happy meal.  So he bugged his mother for one.  The mother tried turning a deaf ear to him, but the boy was persistent with his demand – after all, he has the right to a happy meal.

Giving in, the mother finally reached out to her handbag and pulled out a wallet.  The father was now standing nearby our table.

“Go, give this to your father and buy a happy meal,” she instructed the boy and looked up at her husband.

Lekin Ma, ismain paisey nahi hai! (But Ma, there’s no money in it!)” cried the boy, making sure we all hear him.

“No, beta.  There is money in my wallet!,” exclaimed the embarrassed father.

The boy took the bag from his mother and pulled out another wallet, apparently his mother’s, and took out a 50 fils coin.  Then he marched off to buy his happy meal.

It turned out that the boy thought that only the coins are real money!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Meal

  1. Sabiha says:

    Masha Allah, kids are precious. More and more I think about having one, but I am still pretty certain that I am not ready for that test.

    Glad to hear that you had a good Eid celebration though sister 🙂

    Oh yes, kids are so precious and a good source of entertainment, specially if they don’t belong to you, haha. Oh boy, I can’t forget the embarrassed look on the faces of that kid’s parents! Anyway, how was your Eid, Sabiha?

  2. misspecs says:

    I was 13 when McDonald’s debuted n Pakistan and no one would buy me a happy meal 😦

    LOL@ coins being the only money. Which kid hasn’t thought that once. Haha.

    I never had a happy meal myself. And fast food was a luxury, reserved for special occasions.

    PS: 13-year-olds still qualify for happy meals?

  3. ڈفر says:

    Haye 😦
    my group wasn’t complete on this eid, and remaining could not take time out of their “Eid Services” to hang out for our special BBQ event. ek to yeh shadi shuda bandon nay group ka record kharab kar dia hai. hope we’ll have some event this weekend 🙂

    Yeah, with shaadi comes rishtey nibhana x 2

    Hope your weekend plans pulls through. Have a great time!

  4. masood says:

    LOL @ “Don’t bother about the hamburgers. Just tell me what toys you have”. It’s really an unintentional insult of the restaurant.

    It’s like telling them: “Stop making burgers and manufacture toys instead.”

    You’ve seen the kids, they didn’t touch the food at all.

  5. Abid says:

    “It’s really an unintentional insult of the restaurant

    But really though, what praises can you sing of McDonald’s lol?

    Strawberry sundae. That’s all 🙂

  6. misspecs says:

    No, I did NOT qualify for a happy meal. THAT is why I was so sad. My Dad’s all 😮 but specs, that’s for children..and I had to go for the Mc Spicy or whatever.

    One day, I’m going to sneak out and get a happy meal. With the toy and all. 🙂

    LOL – I had similar thoughts not so long ago. I’m waiting for the right toy, so to speak 😉

  7. mubi says:

    hehehe, HAPPY MEALS.. are you kidding me. i still take that meal for the toy! recently i got a tigress from kung fu panda 😀 lol

    aw the kid was so sweet

    You are an inspiration! Hehe

    Perhaps they’ll have some Madagascar toys out soon 🙂

  8. Abid says:

    “Strawberry sundae. That’s all 🙂 ”

    Good call. That and 99-cent ice cream! Me and my mom love that!

  9. Sabiha says:

    I spent my Eid reading stories of the prophets and then at work. Our car broke down recently and the only back up we have is a very illegal car, so I was not able to attend the prayer at the convention center. 😦

    Oh, I’m so sorry that you weren’t able to attend the Eid prayers at the convention center. I know you were really looking forward to it. But look at it this way: for Eid prayers next year, you’ll be better prepared emotionally and spiritually to make the most of it, InshaAllah 🙂

  10. Amy says:

    aww.. the kids are so adorable!

    Hope you had a great Eid day!

    xx

    This was our first Eid without family around, so it was spent with friends. Alhumdulillah, we had a great time 🙂

  11. Asma Ahsan says:

    Its true – The kids buy the meal for the made in China toy only – Its not an insult I think, its a marketing technique. 😛

    I have been busy Nadia, will now check your posts as I like to take time over a good piece of writing. 🙂

    A very effective marketing technique, I shall say.

    “…good piece of writing” – I am really very flattered, Asma *blushes* Thank you so much.

  12. lolsss… i remember when my brother use to bug mom n dad for happy meals…..

    it was the first time i visited ur blog….. i love the way u express urself…

    keep it up

    And you didn’t bug your parents for a happy meal, ever? 😉

    Welcome to my blog! And thank you for such a sweet compliment 🙂

  13. mubi says:

    o btw i forgot to tell you, i tagged you

    Oh thanks, Mubi! I’ll go check it right now on your blog; see what’s it all about. Hope it’s not too tough, hehe 🙂

  14. hfm says:

    Awww-so adorable!
    I used to always think that the MORE of the coins you have, the MORE money you have.So if I had loads of pennies I was happy!
    :]

    Me too! I’d rather have lots (3 or more) coins than a worthless piece of paper money 😀

    PS: I’ve changed with time.

  15. Haleem says:

    it’s funny how in Bangladesh, KFC and Pizza Hut are seen as eating out and here it’s trash food.

    As long as food is served outside the home, it’s considered as eating out, hehe 🙂

    I’ve seen people dress up for Pizza Hut as if there’s a valima party.

    By the way, have you received the email?

Leave a Reply

