A Clumsy Tuesday

We both decided to sleep in the park last night.  I incidentally brought along a couple of thick shawls, which helped us keep warm from the wintry breeze of the desert.  “It’s okay,” Masood tried to assure me, “it will be dawn in three hours and then we can head back home.”

I woke up to the gentle rays of the morning sun filtering through the yellow curtains.  I felt so warm and cozy.  It took me a while to realize that I was in my own bedroom, and much longer to realize that it was already time for me to get up and prepare breakfast.  Reluctantly, I got up to start my day, trying to recall what I had been thinking of the previous day that made me dream about us sleeping in the park, of all places!

While chopping onions, I placed a plate on a plastic bowl that contained diluted dish washing liquid.  Later when I tried to take that plate, the rim of the plastic bowl clung to it.  Before I knew it, I had lifted the plate up, while gravity pulled the plastic bowl down, where it landed dramatically into the sink, splashing liquid soap on my clothes and face.

spilled-coffeeAfter breakfast while pouring out tea into the cups, the tea leaves overflowed out of the sieve, as I mentally planned what to do during the Eid holidays.  Hot tea spilled over the counter, reminding me that Eid is still a week away and that I need to concentrate on now.

Then I had my abaya to iron.  So while I was at it, Masood complimented on how good the tea tasted.  He offered me a few sips from his cup.  “Just hold on to it for a few seconds,” I told him, “don’t put it down on the table.”  He had better things to do than stand there with the cup of tea, so he placed it on the table.  I looked towards him for a second and next thing I know, the iron dropped on the floor!  For all I knew, I had carefully placed it on the side of the ironing board.  Masood didn’t react.  He casually left the room after getting dressed.

I dropped my cellphone while rushing to make it to the elevator.  Unfortunately, it still works.  My ever faithful, 53-month-old cellphone simply refuses to give up.  If only I hadn’t promised myself that I won’t buy a new piece as long as this one worked fine.  You see, I had bought this cellphone from my own money while still working in Manila, and it meant a lot to me.  But this is already OLD, yet stubbornly refuses to retire!

And last, but not the least, clumsy act of mine would be in the office.  I just spilled coffee on my laptop.

And it’s only 6 pm.

PS:  It’s the 37th National Day of the U.A.E. today.  Abu Dhabi is going to host the world’s biggest fireworks later tonight.  And we’re the only one working today, well except for some policemen, a few doctors and nurses, sales people at the mall, security guards, and hotel staff.  Ok, we’re not alone, but you get the picture.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Clumsy Tuesday

  1. masood says:

    It’s a really clumsy day for you. But no need to worry or to feel bad as there’s only a few hours left to finish the day 🙂

    Jaan,

    Yes, I’m glad it’s over!

  2. hfm says:

    Those days happen.
    Just try to get through each moment
    Take care.

    hfm,

    I did get through each moment, although it was definitely frustrating 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Clumsy Tuesday | Tea Break

  4. Niyaz says:

    koOOl Down sis !!

    Niyaz,

    I already have, thanks 🙂

  5. Daanish says:

    Interesting, refreshingly chaotic !

    Daanish,

    I’m not sure about the interesting part, but it had certainly been a chaotic day for me 🙂

  6. Amir says:

    I guess the day is over now, but here’s hoping tomorrow is much much better!

    Amir,

    It’s mid-Wednesday already and haven’t dropped a thing 🙂

  7. saadil says:

    lolls @ your frustration .. it happens .. hope you enjoyed it as it was a funny day .. wasn’t it? .. 🙂

    Take care!

    Aadil,

    It wasn’t funny yesterday, but today it is. I can just laugh over it now 🙂

  8. Serene says:

    Well just call it a day, it happens with me all the time 🙂 By the way I might be visiting Manila maybe early next year for a business trip. I m a little bit excited and nervous! Is there something in Manila that is uncommon to see?

    Serene,

    My first advice to you would be: bring an umbrella all the time; rain is highly unpredictable. It’s a very crowded city, some parts can be flooded during heavy rains, traffic jams, pollution, and lots of pickpockets (be extra careful of your wallet and cellphone).

    You won’t have any problem regarding transportation though, the metro is a great way to travel around the city (make sure it’s off peak hours). You may want to visit Rizal Park, Intramuros, University of Santo Tomas, and some old church (I don’t remember where exactly). Malls are same as anywhere else. Oh, and people are quite friendly. Also, everyone can speak English 🙂

    If you can manage to visit the beaches, like Boracay and Palawan, the better. These places are simply breathtaking 🙂

  9. mubi says:

    aww you are doing a me!!!! hehhehe :p
    lol, is ur laptop working :p

    ooo i love fireworks!! i was born in jan, and my mum prayed that i be born on 2nd dec, coz then the govt gives some special gift to the babies lol,,but i came a whole month late 😀

    Mubi,

    This happened a day after I read that post of yours 😉

    Yes, laptop is still working, hehe.

    So you didn’t qualify for the special gift, hehe, but one month late is a bit too long, isn’t it? Well, unless they miscalculated the due date 🙂

  10. mubi says:

    haina, its never funny when u are deep into trouble and think how clumsy you are..but later, its all about laughs 😀 thats the best part

  11. SEO Dubai says:

    well it happens sometime.. but don’t worry everything will be alright.

    SEO Dubai,

    Thanks 🙂

  12. Serene says:

    Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  13. moukound says:

    Old phones make you happy… I have one since two years(That’s a medic\val phone these days) amd it Never has let me down!!

    Hurrah to my phone!!Your phone!! And all old phones!!

    Moukound,

    Hehe, your comment made me happy 🙂 Hurray to our phones!

  14. frozeefa says:

    what do they call it?
    A Bull in a China shop… haha
    It happens to me dear..
    It’s like after all that happens..i would feel am i jinxed or what?
    After all surprisingly i would feel very gd and refreshed : ) did u?

    Bull in a China shop, yeah that’s what I was – LOL. It’s very rare that I’m clumsy, so that day was like,”What’s happening to me?” I’m not sure if I felt refreshed after wards, but I certainly felt good that the day was over 🙂

Leave a Reply

