Queen Elizabeth 2 Has Arrived In Dubai

QE2 retires from active service.

She makes her final journey from the UK, arriving in Dubai at 6 pm today, where she is warmly welcomed by a glittering display of fireworks (although not quite as glittery as the Atlantis opening night) while the Dubai police played Scottish bagpipes.  That’s not all.  QE2 is also received in Dubai by a flotilla of 60 yachts, including My Dubai, the world’s biggest yacht, owned by Sheikh Mohammed, the ruler of Dubai, and a low-flying Emirates Airline A380.

One of the world’s most famous liners, Queen Elizabeth 2 has, in her 39 years of service, sailed 5.9 million nautical miles, completed 806 transatlantic crossings and carried more than 2.5 million guests.

QE2 has been purchased by Dubai World sometime last year, for Dh276 million (US$75m), to become a floating hotel at the Palm Jumeirah.

Plans for the QE2 include its transformation into an ultra-luxury floating hotel, featuring public promenades, retail outlets, cafes and restaurants, as well as heritage museum displaying artifacts from the QE2 and maritime history.

 

From Gulf News

The QE2 at her new home, the Palm.

 

Learn more about the Queen Elizabeth 2 facts here and news of her journey and fate in Dubai here.

 

 



This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Queen Elizabeth 2 Has Arrived In Dubai

  1. masood says:

    Awesome!!! I just love it.

    Jaan,

    Personally, I think this obsession with luxury is getting slightly out of hand 😀

  2. Saad Ibrahim says:

    I was thinking where they were going utilize the ship halfway through the post because it must cost a lot but then i found out and I think Floating Hotel idea is interesting!

    Saad Ibrahim,

    Buying the QE2 is just half the total expense; they are going to spend as much (or perhaps even more) to refit her into that luxury Floating Hotel, which they estimate to take around three years.

  3. Haleem says:

    So many hotels!

    Haleem,

    And they still feel the need for more!

  4. Umm, I have to admit, at first I thought you were talking about the QUEEN queen elizabeth the second retiring. Talk about confusion.. half way through I actually reread it to see if I’d mistaken the name. I mean I know studying has me under a figurative rock, but not so I’d miss the retirement of the queen, you know?
    Lol.
    Sorry… I’m not normally so thick ;). Exams are killing my brain cells though, so I’m functioning on about same amount that a zombie would have =/
    Anyways.. now that I know, I think that’s really wicked! A floating hotel…. hmm… it has its possibilities 😉 But I agree. Overdoing the life style of the rich and famous just a tad, aren’t we….?

    S&S,

    Haha, take a break! 🙂

  5. Asma Ahsan says:

    The cafe idea sounds good – Once it’s opened to public it will be cool to sit up there and have a nice cup of tea or coffee. 🙂

    Reading about the QE 2’s history and learning about the notable people who sailed on it before actually having a cup of tea on board will surely make the experience all the more special.

    I think I’m more interested in the museum within the ship than the restaurant itself 🙂

  6. jon says:

    where is it located now???

    Jon, I heard it’s located at Port Rashid now. More information here.

Leave a Reply

