A Happy Thursday

I woke up this morning with a smile on my face.  But doesn’t mean that I  felt like making breakfast.  When my beloved mother-in-law was staying here with us, we always had roti and stir fried vegetables in the morning, and had a late lunch at work.  We used to cook rotis together, chatting away while standing side by side in the kitchen.  Now, I don’t feel like cooking rotis alone.  I’m just too lazy.

lebanese So I woke Masood up from his sleep this morning to ask what we were having for breakfast.  “We’ll have bread and omelette,” he murmured, eyes closed.  Looking at the clock, I went back to bed for a 20-minute nap.  No, that didn’t happen.  I actually got out of bed and went to check my blog stats.  I’m so busy at work lately that I don’t get time to check my stats and comments, let alone publish a post.  Anyway, the bread that we had at home has expired.  So Masood called up the supermarket downstairs and had a packet of Lebanese bread delivered.

cloudsOn our way to work, I noticed that the sky was unusually cloudy.  It looked so beautiful!  Afterall, we don’t get clouds here all throughout the summer.  So that justifies my excitement.  I kept looking at the thick, white clouds and had this silly smile on despite the fact that we were stuck in horrible traffic.

The weather is definitely changing.  It’s quite pleasant during the day and cool in the evenings.  I am in love with the U.A.E., and this feeling will last until March next year, when it’s summer again.

 DUBAI TRAFFIC This is the traffic frenzy that we get stuck into every single day, despite our office timings starting at 12 noon.  It’s not even rush hour, so to speak.  But this didn’t bother me at all today (I was captivated with the sight of clouds, remember?)

Anyway, amidst this chaos today, we saw a couple of men on the road.  One was holding a huge camera and his partner had a microphone in hand.  They appeared to be interviewing the drivers.  They’d probably wanted to know what the public feels about the traffic, for all I know.  The point is, they contributed more to the traffic as they stood there interviewing people.

Oh yes, we also saw this famous Big Bus Tour of Dubai today, where you get live English commentary and recorded commentary of eight other languages while they show you around the city!  They tell you,”Ladies and gentlemen, if you look towards your right, you can see the buildings being constructed.  Now, look towards your left and you can see the roads being constructed.  Look right ahead, that’s a new bridge being constructed.”

All you have to do is pay $55 per person, hop aboard the bus, and enjoy the construction, I mean the ride.

sheikh zayed roadThis is my favorite, the Sheikh Zayed Road.  This is where we travel every single day to go to work.  We usually get out of the office at 9 pm, and I just love the lights along this road.  I love the way the glass buildings glitter in the dark.

Today, these buildings looked extra special because it’s a weekend!  We laughed and chatted all the way home, knowing that we have two days off ahead of us.

To sum it up, it’s a happy Thursday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Happy Thursday

  1. misspecs says:

    Sounds like an exhausting Thursday! But happy, yeah. Alhamdulillah. 🙂

    ~ Yes, Alhumdulillah indeed 🙂

  2. masood says:

    For me it’s a happy Thursday because next day is Friday and so we have two days off this weekend:)


    ~ Ah yes, I love it when we get Saturdays off too 🙂

  3. ummtravis says:

    I miss Dubai 😦

    ~ Aww, sis. Perhaps you and your husband can visit sometime soon, InshaAllah. I’ll cook Pakistani food for you and try to keep it less spicy 🙂

  4. Ab says:

    awww.. you’re feeling happy today 🙂

    I love those days too

  5. Ab says:

    Continued…

    Too bad i havent had many of those in a while.

    @ masood Why do you have two days off?

    ~ Friday and Saturday off 🙂

  6. Pingback: Outdoor Activities

  7. Pingback: A Happy Thursday | Tea Break

  8. Niyaz says:

    Happy weekend guys 🙂


    ~ Thanks, Niyaz. Enjoy yours too 🙂

  9. Sabiha says:

    😆 Sis if you want clouds you should come visit me. We are having lots of cloudy and rainy days right now, it will even snow here soon (it snowed last month, but has not since then)!


    ~ Hmm, I’ll have the clouds, but not the rain. I’ve had more than my share of rainy days in the Philippines. I’d love to have “some” snow 🙂 Masood spent his winter last year in Boston and sent me photos. The snow was just too thick! I don’t think I can survive in that much cold 😦

  10. mubi says:

    lol at the Dubai tour bus commentary nadia!!!! good one ;p


    ~ Hehe, thanks, Mubi 🙂

  11. serendipitouslife says:

    I know what you mean about being happy at clouds.
    Its funny how those very clouds can have the opposite impact on people in other parts of the world.
    People in UK for example, can never understand the love affair we desert nomadians have with clouds & rain.

    ~ Ah, so true, sis 🙂

  12. Haleem says:

    Is it a five or six day weekend in Dubai?

    You must be lucky, staying where its all happening, tax free and that Aquarium mall! I could look at it all day.

    ~ Masood and I get every second and fourth Saturdays off, otherwise it’s a six day weekend for us here. And yes, I absolutely love being in Dubai 🙂

    I read in someone’s blog (I don’t remember the name, sorry) that a young boy was asked to describe Dubai, and he replied, “Under construction!”

    Indeed, so much is happening here and it’s so lively!

  13. Sabiha says:

    Haha the snow in Boston is nothing compared to what we get in Erie Sis. If you want to experience winter you have to do it in Erie! We get this phenomenon called “Lake Effect Snow”, which means that everyone else around use gets 3-4 inches of snow and we get anywhere from 6-18 or more inches 😆 But it can be fun! Can even go out on the frozen lake and go ice fishing!

    ~ Hehe, you shall not see me in or even around Erie during the winters then 😆

  14. Ordinary Girl says:

    Weekends are lovely!! 😀 And their anticipation on the day-before-weekend is even lovelier!! 😀

    ~ Today is Sunday morning, first day of the week, aur tabiyat bhaari lagrahi hai 😀

  15. beyond says:

    yeah i remember this road-but are the tall bulidings offices?

  16. nadia says:

    Yes, mostly offices, others are hotel apartments. Anyone visiting Dubai should definitely see Sheikh Zayed road at night 🙂

  17. Wakas Mir says:

    Aww hehe I am sure jitna bhi waqt us ke baad ka tha wo bhi acha guzra hoga.. keep smiling 🙂

  18. nadia says:

    Wakas Bhai, aap ka boht boht shukriya. Yes, I am still smiling, Alhumdulillah 🙂

  19. aglaonemaku says:

    Hi… I am from Indonesia…
    nice blog… success for all activities

    salam
    aglaonemaku

    ~ Assalam o Alaikum, Aglaonemaku. Thanks and welcome 🙂

  20. IAN JAY says:

    You have a very interesting blog. Would you care if someone different joined? I would say that your blog has a positive light. (Others are mostly are just plain negative or depressing) I hope that your blog gets more audience.

    More Power!!

    IAN JAY

  21. nadia says:

    Ian Jay,

    Thanks a lot for your sweet comment. As long as your comments aren’t offensive in nature, you’re most welcome to stop by anytime you wish 🙂

Leave a Reply

