A Stressed-Out Little Girl

A friend of mine, let’s call her Mommy, gets home, exhausted from work.  She calls her daughter, let’s call her Daughter, into the room:

Mommy: Beta, can you please get me a glass of water?

Daughter: Yes, Mommy.

Daughter brings in a glass of water.

Mommy: My vitamins are over there in the first drawer.  Be a sweetheart and get those for me, please.

Daughter: Yes, Mommy.

Daughter gives the bottle of vitamins to Mommy.

Mommy: Oh, and please hand me that small pillow over there.

Daughter *places both hands over her hips* :  Uff, you’re asking me to do so many things.  Mommy, I’m just a little girl, I’m only five years old!

Mommy: But this morning you just said that you’ve grown up.

Daughter *rolling eyes* :  Of course I’ve grown up, but that doesn’t mean I have to do everything around here.  I can do two things at most.  *takes a deep breath* I’m so tired now.

Mommy smiles, while Daughter disappears into her room to play.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Stressed-Out Little Girl

  1. masood says:

    WOW it’s so cute and funny, btw she is absolutely right that at the age of “5” parents shouldn’t expect kids to do more than two tasks 🙂

  2. misspecs says:

    Parents shouldn’t expect more than two tasks at any age! 😀

  3. Sabiha says:

    😆 Children are so adorable.

  4. Ordinary Girl says:

    LOL!! I am so with Specy on this one! 😀

  5. Amir says:

    haha…my eldest said pretty much the same thing to me.

    “why do I have to do ALL the work?!?!?! I’m only a kid!”

    haha

  6. Nisa AK says:

    Heehe.. little gals are so talkative! I love listening to their chatter!

    One evening my son, Sameer announced to me he hates helping around the house. Immediately I too announced that i hate cooking and doing laundry but I do it out of love for him and his dad. There has been no complaints since then 😀


    ~ Hehe. Nice one, Nisa 🙂

  7. saadil says:

    I can imagine the tired little angel 🙂
    To me she sounded like my niece Maheen.

  8. Ab says:

    I have to be with ordinary girl / masood / missspecs on this one!

    But when you move out (like me) you kinda miss doing these things for your mommy. No one asks you to bring them a glass of water, or pass the TV remote or bring the ja-namaaz from the basement, or find the remote! 😥

  9. nadia says:

    LOL, so 4 out of 8 of you believe that our parents shouldn’t expect us to do more that 2 tasks per day 🙂

    Count me in, so that makes 5 out of 9.

    And as the rule goes: majority wins 😀

  10. syamunief says:

    haha, she’s so cute…

  11. nadia says:

    Thanks, Syamunief. Welcome to my blog 🙂

  12. mubi says:

    hehehe…that goes without saying …kids these days :p

  13. nidhi says:

    hehe ..me and my daughter ( 5yr old) have same Conversation in the evening as i m pregnant and having vitamins too 🙂 .she said pretty much the same thing to me.

    Al last, All kids are same n cute, innocent.

  14. nadia says:

    Nidhi Ji, welcome to my blog!

    That’s true, children are all cute and innocent 🙂

Leave a Reply

