Weather Changes and Flu

Dubai is starting to experience a drop in temperature:  from 45+ to 30 C.  Please note, however, that this is the evening temperature.  It’s still quite hot during the day.  And since we’ve got so accustomed to living in the 45+ C range, walking out on a 30 C moonlit evening is really pleasant.

Also, ’tis the season to spread the virus.  So, I am currently down with the mandatory annual flu.   I’ve got the complete package:  fever, runny nose, throat pain, body malaise, and cough.  I’d spent the weekend, all cozy in bed.  I normally don’t take any medications for flu, so while I sat in front of my laptop sipping a cup of warm Joshanda and wiping my nose red with boxes of tissue paper, my dear husband couldn’t bear my condition.  He decided that it was time I took some medicine.

Being the obedient wife that I am, I took a pill before going to bed.  Actually, I took two pills.  Yesterday morning, I woke up feeling my chest all congested. The medicines had done their job:  I am no longer febrile and my nose isn’t runny anymore.  Now, this congestion is making me very uncomfortable at work.  I started coughing.  So I asked Masood to buy me an expectorant.  I took 10 ml of cough syrup and my throat felt grateful.  A few hours later, I threw up, making me feel a whole lot better.

And I’m thinking:  first, I took pills to stop my nose from running by thickening up the secretions, then I took a syrup to loosen the thickened secretions.  Great!  I stopped both medications, and returned to drinking joshanda later in the evening and eating the egg, boiled by my mother-in-law.

Although I hate being sick, yet a part of me sort of enjoys the attention I get.  I love it when Masood looks at me with those caring eyes and rubs vicks on my forehead.  I love it when my mother-in-law lovingly stops me from doing the dishes.  I love it when I’m asked whether I wanted soup, or anything else in particular.  I love getting that “extra” care.

On our way home from work last night, we stopped by a mall.  I bought a gorgeous watch (a surprise gift) for my mother-in-law before she returns to Hyderabad later tonight.  She absolutely loved it!

Today, I feel so much better, Alhumdulillah.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weather Changes and Flu

  1. masood says:

    I just Love it; not the Flu, but the way you expressed it.

    ~ Thanks for taking care of me. You’ve been exceptionally caring and patient 🙂

  2. Ordinary Girl says:

    oh, I hope you get well soon.

    Joshanda and boiled egg are the things for flu and cough. In our house, medicines are just for emergency situations! 😀

    ~ Sounds like both our households have the same home remedies for cough and colds 🙂

  3. misspecs says:

    Yeah, for once, someone sounds like they are enjoying having a flu!

    ~ Oh yes, it’s fun, alright! Getting everyone’s undivided attention 🙂

  4. Niyaz says:

    hii sis same here..:-(

    it started frm yesterday , one of the worst thing i hate is this “flu”
    lucky i took medical leave n rocking n home today hehe….


    ~ Aww, so the virus is also “in” over at your place. May Allah bless you with a swift recovery from flu, Ameen. It’s a very uncomfortable state to be in. However, I’m glad to know that you’re on sick leave. Get well soon! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weather Changes and Flu | Tea Break

  6. Sabiha says:

    Alhamdulillah, glad you are starting to feeling better sis 🙂


    ~ JazackAllah khair, sister. I’ve been reading your posts with great interest 🙂

  7. Sumera says:

    Ive also had the case of bad flu over the past week. Even had a raw throat and a chesty cough which is rare for me. But I agree, the extra TLC you get from husband is lovely – poor things can’t bear to see us like that lol 🙂

    ~ So true, they get all “pareshaan”, which I find very cute and sweet 🙂

  8. Niyaz says:

    Thanks alot sis 🙂

  9. Ab says:

    “a surprise gift for my mother-in-law before she returns to Hyderabad later tonight”

    Haha…my grandparents are on their annual visit to their children also (my uncles and possibly us also) 🙂


    ~ So ’tis also the season for annual visits 🙂

  10. Nisa AK says:

    So ur MIL has went back, hehehe, now u have to worry abt ur dinner and stuff around the house :P:P

  11. nadia says:

    Ah yes, Nisa. I’m back in the kitchen, not as an assistant anymore, but as the cook 😀

Leave a Reply

