My First GITEX Experience

GITEX is an annual trade show that provides a comprehensive platform for every sector of the vast IT industry to network, by promoting and showcasing their latest technologies and services.

The main focus is on:

–  Network and security

–  Office technology

–  IT solutions

My colleagues and I went to see the much-hyped about IT trade show at the World Trade Center on Wednesday.  It was my first, and most probably the last.  Not that it was bad;  it wasn’t just my type of exhibition.  Masood is in network and security field, so he had a great time, not just looking around, but by asking questions and learning about the latest products in the market.  While he spoke with the representatives, I spent time looking around in their booth to see what freebies they had to offer.

All I can say is that the place was packed, and filled with men in suits and women in short skirts.  Some big name brands, like the UAE’s own Etisalat had a stage set up, where entertainment shows attracted huge crowd towards their booths.

Several Chinese brands, almost all of them unfamiliar to me, didn’t get noticed.  They didn’t give bags or pens.  All they were giving away for free were candies.  Naturally, people just threw a glance towards them and left.

Here are the free stuff that Masood and I got:

 

Balls and Pens

(Left) Calculator, with scissors + stapler + measuring tape, and flashlights, with alarm clock and times of 8 different cities around the world  (Right)  USB lamp

Actually, after paying AED 40 per person at the entrance, exclusive of the snacks we had inside, these freebies aren’t free after all.

 

This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My First GITEX Experience

  1. masood says:

    It’s a great exposure for the IT buffs and I feel proud that this idea came from Cyberabad (Hyderabad) 🙂

  2. Pingback: My First GITEX Experience | Tea Break

  3. hfm says:

    Where these freebies?
    Then it’s worth it to go such conventions when there’s freebies!
    🙂


    ~ Yes, these were free stuff, and is the reason why I got interested to be there in the first place 🙂

  4. Serene says:

    A very nice experience! Me too I m just collecting freebies and give away when I attend such boring convention, and after I’ll just collect them in a box and sometimes forget to use them. Funny! You should be getting this stuffs beside the convention is not free at all 🙂

    ~ Yeah, collecting freebies are so much fun. Come to think of it, most of the stuff would be just pens, squeezy balls, and key chains, but it’s fun nevertheless. I keep them with me for a few days, and would eventually give away to the kids 🙂

  5. Mezba says:

    Does GITEX charge for admissions now? I used to go to it long time ago (1995-2000) and it was free then.

    It’s not bad, quite fun actually, though you can’t compare it to the tech exhibitions in USA, but I think it’s the biggest in the Middle East.

    ~ Yes, they charge 40 Dirhams per person and also require a business card or company ID.

  6. misspecs says:

    I think if I ever went to a tech fair, I’d keel over and die because its gonna fry my circuits with the excitement. 😀

    The fair sounds like amazing fun!

    ~ Oh yes, I can imagine you having a blast over all the latest IT stuff at GITEX 🙂

  7. Ab says:

    For the biggest trade show in the Middle East, 40AED is nothing as an entrance fee. The tech trade shows here not only charge more, sometimes entrance is limited to press only.

    Also you use a Mac too? Cool!!

    ~ Aww, limited to only the press? That’s sad.

    Yeah, I’m a die-hard Mac fan (although it has been just 8 months since Masood gifted me this) 🙂 It’s such a stress-free machine to use!

  8. Niyaz says:

    hi sis…

    u guys got some wonderful goodies , nice 🙂
    u should hve a grt time there since its first time for u na…

    ~ The goodies are nice, but sadly, I didn’t have a great time. If it had been a medical exhibition, I would have cared less about the free stuff 😀

  9. Haleem says:

    I went to a tech exhibition once and all I got was a lousy t-shirt!

    Here entrance is free though we don’t get much freebies, mostly pens and pins!

    ~ So it’s even: you get in free and get a t-shirt, pens, and pins; while we pay AED40 and get squeezy balls, pens, and calculators 🙂

  10. Amir says:

    Wow, I would love to go to one of those, but like Haleem said, pens and pins, and lots of junk paper (adware hardcopies 😛 )

    ~ We collected a bag full of those “junk paper”, and left it in the expo on our way out 🙂

Leave a Reply

