How Old Is She Again?

In my two months of employment here at the Dubai Internet City, I’ve met all of my new friends (except colleagues) in the ladies’ room.  It’s like a get-together, specially before the 4 pm prayers.  Anyway, I had this conversation with one of the girls earlier today:

Her:  Hey, Nadia.  How are you?

Me:  I’m good.  And how are you?

Her:  I’m so tired.  Went to Zabeel Park with my family to celebrate my niece’s birthday.

Me:  What time did you guys go?  It’s still quite hot and humid during the day.

Her:  We were there by 4 pm, so it was okay.

Me:  By the way, how old is your niece?

Her:  Two and a half.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How Old Is She Again?

  1. masood says:

    Birthday of two and half….couldnt able to digest

    ~ The girl is now three actually, but they just got so used to answering two-and-a-half 🙂

  2. The Ruler says:

    I had to read the statement twice to understand the thing. I read it first and wondered what’s wrong with celebrating birthdays… but then realised that celebrating birthdays of 2 and a half year olds is a wee bit different. 😛

    ~ That’s how I reacted, lol. I had to ask her, ” Something doesn’t seem right. How old did you say she was?” That’s when she realized what she said, and started laughing 🙂

  3. Haleem says:

    What is Zabeel Park? They hired the whole park for a birthday?

    From pictures I know my first birthday was celebrated with a big party but after that .. zlip… 😀

  4. Eerv says:

    I admire the way you put up content in here in interesting forms of conversations.. 🙂 its diff, yet appealing.. 🙂

  5. nadia says:

    Haleem: Zabeel park, spread out in around 47 hectares of land, is the first technology-based recreational theme park in the Gulf. It includes food courts, a cricket pitch, amphitheater, exhibition centers and special facilities for boating.

    One of their main features is the Mega Bowl, a building reserved for birthday parties, wedding receptions, and business conferences. That’s where the party was held 🙂

    Oh, and my family also didn’t celebrate my birthday after the first one.

    Eerv: Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. Ab says:

    “Oh, and my family also didn’t celebrate my birthday after the first one.”

    Ha.
    https://thepurplejournal.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/customer-service/

    What’s this then 😉 😉 :p

    ~ Hehe, Haan na, we don’t celebrate birthdays. That was Masood’s Eid and birthday gift. That’s not “celebrating”. It’s a token of love 😀

  7. mubi says:

    lol, my only question about the whole conversation is what flavour was the cake? i hope the kid got to taste some too :p

    ~ lol, I never got to asking about the cake 😀

  8. ڈفر says:

    i think in advance 🙂
    she might be expecting some credit crunch in ME in next 5 months

  9. dannish says:

    Nice mix of humor and culture to reveal the borring life in Dubai

    ~ Welcome to my blog, Brother Dannish 🙂 Do my posts reveal how bored I am? I don’t know about others, but I have never found my life in Dubai boring. Making a life boring or interesting, regardless of the place, depends on a person who’s living it 🙂

  10. Jus says:

    Or maybe belatedly celebrating the bday in Islamic calendar?

    ~ Hehe, I asked, but she is just used to saying,”two and a half.”

  11. Aadil says:

    I felt the same as ‘The Ruler’ felt 🙂
    Her reply was very spontaneous! 😀

  12. misspecs says:

    That was quiet funny!

  13. Amir says:

    Catching up on blogs 😛 Haha…I see you asked and it was the habitual answer.

  14. nadia says:

    Hey, Amir bhai. It’s been quite a while since you last visited. Welcome back 🙂

Leave a Reply

