The “I Wonder” Tag

I often write about my husband, Masood.  It won’t be an entire post about him, but I would somehow include him in the topic.  How can I not?  My life revolves beautifully around him.  This has made one of my lovely sisters wonder about me and my marriage with Masood.  Umm Travis, also mother to Mishmish and Mohalebeya, is having some Tea Break Thoughts and wonders:

Sister Nadia, who is Walking Through, often talks about and has comments from her husband Masood on her blog. I wonder, how is marriage for you behind closed doors?  Is it really all pink and fuzzy (ma shaa Allah)?

So Umm Travis, my marriage is a blessing, Alhumdulillah.  After all the mistakes that I have committed in the past, I am forever grateful that Allah still considers me fit for this beautiful gift: the chance to live life all over again, and most importantly, with the man who fears Him most.

Masood and I are best friends.  Over the year that we’ve been together, I have learned so much from him.  He’s the most soft-spoken, caring, gentle, and responsible person I have ever known.  We have our own share of arguments, but they remain behind closed doors, uttered in soft whispers of carefully chosen words, and sorted out in less than 30 minutes.  I’ve grown so used to having him around that I can’t imagine life otherwise.

So yes, overall, my married life is all pink and fuzzy with lots of sunshine and roses, Alhumdulillah.  Most of us, as married couples, spend a lot of time and energy working hard to make our marriage work, when all we often need is to just sit back, relax, and enjoy each other’s company.

That said, I also wonder about some of my blogger sisters.

Jussaemon has been squeezing out some great-tasting Original Juice about her life as a Singaporean married to a Pakistani man, Zubair.  Now that she’s going to become a mother soon, InshaAllah, I wonder about her plans on how to bring up their child.  Will she still work full-time?  Which of the two cultures will she want the child to be more adapted to?

Leaving a lucrative job behind, Mary has been taking Everyday Baby Steps, to find self-fulfillment through writing.  She is, in fact, already on the road to becoming a professional writer!  She’s currently contributing to several interesting websites.  I wonder how she manages it all:  her new writing gigs, home, husband, and three adorable kids?  I wonder what she wants to accomplish next.  Will she start her own website?

Misspecs gives us The View From Behind My Specs, by writing beautifully about life and what goes on around her.  I love the words that she chose to convey her message accross.  I wonder where she sees herself five years from now?  I wonder how she’s like as a person; what it would be like if I get to meet her in person?

Mubi is one of the several talented, young female bloggers, who I love to visit often.  I love reading her posts on about everything.  She manages to add a dash of humor in almost every situation. I wonder how she is really like under those Scarlet Wings.  How will she describe herself in 5 sentences?

Juggling a career, home, and husband, Nisa still finds time to blog and sew!  She’s like a super woman who somehow finds time to work everything out.  She’s a Pakistani living in Singapore, with an Indian husband and an adorable son.  I wonder whether she has plans to settle in a different country.  I wonder how a weekend is like in her household, and hear her personally say, “What a life!

So ladies, you’re tagged!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The “I Wonder” Tag

  1. Pingback: The “I Wonder” Tag | Tea Break

  2. Haleem says:

    At least you don’t wonder about your husband! lol… first when I saw the tag I was like why is she talking about her husband?

    ~ LOL, Masood and I are past the “I wonder” stage now 😀

    That reminds me. I’ve already met three women (not just one) who didn’t know what their husbands did for a living. When I asked them (on different occasions), “What does your husband do?” They had replied, “He works in an office.” When asked what is the nature of their respective husband’s job, they had replied,”I don’t know, he just works in some office.” *me = shocked beyond belief*

  3. Many in the west do not understand the “womanhood” of a Muslim wife. Myself included. Alright with you if I continue to monitor your blog?

    ~ Hi, Patrick. You’re welcome to my blog 🙂

  4. Specs says:

    Oh, Nadia, that means a lot to me! Thanks!

    I’ve already done this tag just about three posts ago, so do i do it all over again or do i just answer your questions? 🙂

    Just by the way, I think we’d get along really well if we met!

    ~ Sorry, I didn’t notice (or remember) that you’ve played this tag *old age*. Just answering my questions would be great! 😀

  5. The Ruler says:

    So yes, overall, my married life is all pink and fuzzy with lots of sunshine and roses, Alhumdulillah

    that’s really sweet 🙂

    ~ Thanks 🙂

  6. beyond says:

    Most of us, as married couples, spend a lot of time and energy working hard to make our marriage work, when all we often need is to just sit back, relax, and enjoy each other’s company

    yeah i suppose you are right.i think now a days there is too much emphasis on how to deal with marriage,work at it etc that sometimes i wonder how do you enjoy it if you are working and thinking about it all the time.

  7. mubi says:

    i come to your blog, get through the first half of the writing and then i ogle at my name 😀 😀 😀 and then i am all smiles ehehe
    so i guess the tagging season is on again 😀 thank you, *hug*
    do i need to mention how many times i read the words you wrote for me ehehehehe.

    and prayers for ur blessed happy life. ameen

  8. nadia says:

    Mubi,

    LOL

    I get the same reaction as yours when someone tags me. I feel so cool!

    Summa Ameen to your dua. You’re such a sweetheart *hugs back*

  9. hfm says:

    This is so sweet!
    I hope you and your husband are always happy!
    Ameen.

  10. nadia says:

    HFM,

    Thanks a lot, dear. And ameen to your dua 🙂

  11. Nisa AK says:

    Wow, someone actually wrote a paragraph abt me!!!!! WOw again 😛
    Superwoman!!!!!! hehehehe…
    I wud have screamed and jumped if i was at home but I’m in the office right now and the accountant is talking to me from across the office even as i type this line!! LOL

    Thank u Nadia, Inshallah will fulfill the tag asap 🙂

    ~ LOL 😀 You girls are absolutely amazing!

  12. Serene says:

    This is cute! Giving testimony about our marriage is always inspiring! People commits mistake in the past but what is important is today and how you handle your life with God in your Heart. Have a great day!

    ~ I agree! Thanks, Serene 🙂

    Do you blog? If not, you should; BUT I want to be your first comment 😀

  13. Serene says:

    Wow! Thank you Nadia, I really appreciate your encouragement 🙂 But as of the moment I don’t have yet the guts to blog, like what I told you the first time I wrote comment and ask for the password to read your blog, is that Im the type of person who only reads but never write… Maybe in due time I will find ways out of my busy day. But I really enjoy reading blog like yours because I learn a lot and know some of the culture that I don’t have. Just continue writing, you have the gift of being a writer and share this talent to those who don’t have 😉

  14. nadia says:

    Aww, thank you so much, Serene. You’re an absolute sweetheart!

    PS: Hope that “due time” is soon 😉

  15. butterfly says:

    dear sister, i found your blog by chance today and i’m touched by your lovely writing. i understand and agree completely with your thoughts on marriage… its so blissful isn’t it, to be married to one’s best friend? may Allah protect our hearts and keep us close to Him through this blessing….

    you are added to my list of must-read blogs!

  16. nadia says:

    Sister Butterfly,

    I’m glad you found my blog, welcome aboard!

    Ameen to your dua.

    Yay, I’m in your “must-read blogs list” … I am so immensely flattered *blushing* Thank you much! 🙂

    Love and prayers,

    Nadia

  17. Mary says:

    Nadia, I love this meme! It’s the best I’ve seen, and I will absolutely participate. Please forgive me if I don’t get it up until next week, though. I love reading about you and Masood and what a special bond you have. Thanks for tagging me and for being my friend.

  18. Asma R says:

    I dont know if I’ll sound creepy here, but as a girl of 20, trying to figure out her role in this world, it’s really interesting to see the life of a married muslim woman. I love your work, great blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

