Job Hunting

I am one of those fortunate people who didn’t have to struggle hard to secure a job., alhumdulillah.  I didn’t experience going from one office to the next, dropping off my CV, and I didn’t experience being turned down after an interview either.

Masood’s experience, however, has been different. He landed in Dubai for the first time five years ago, on a visit visa which was valid for only sixty days. He would leave his apartment early in the morning after reading the classified section, took the public bus or walked in the scorching heat of the desert, visited office after office, and on the 58th day, even got frustrated. Not that he wasn’t getting any offers at all. The ones he was getting at that time was either not directly related to his profession or the pay was just too low.

It was on the 59th day, just a day before his visit visa was supposed to expire and when he was supposed to board his flight back home to India, that Masood finally received the call he was waiting for. He got accepted for the job! And, he has been working in the same company since then.

I am narrating this because last Thursday, a man walked into our office. He approached Masood (who happens to be our HR guy besides being our full time network engineer) and asked whether we had an opening for an Oracle-related job. We didn’t have any, so Masood asked him to leave his CV and said the usual stuff HR people say,”I’ll keep your CV, and when there’s an opening, I’ll call and let you know.”

Curious, I read this guy’s CV. He is 46 years old, single, and with 8 years of experience in Oracle – working in India, Singapore, Qatar, Bahrain, and even the USA. But here he was, currently unemployed and looking for a job, walking in office after office.

Later that day while we were walking back to the office from the Mosque, I noticed someone else’s CV lying down on the floor, just outside an office door. I asked Masood, “Do these CVs actually make it inside the office?” He said that they usually don’t. I felt sad for that person.

For those of us who are employed, we should be grateful for this blessing instead of voicing out our discontentment and work-related frustrations at every given opportunity, specially during office hours.

This entry was posted in People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Job Hunting

  1. masood says:

    Absolutely correct…I will never forget my hard and struggling hunting days. Even now, whenever I go through those roads, streets and buildings, I will see myself over there remembering my past days. Alhumdulillah that Allah Subhanawata’la has given me a job with great blessings and I wish that no one would return to their country empty handed from this land:)

    ~ Ameen.

  2. ڈفر says:

    الحمدللہ کہ میں تو بہت سوں سے اچھا ہوں
    i never applied for a job. since five years i get calls from employers without applying. Allah has so much blessings upon me that im unable to count those.
    وہی حساب ہے کہ کنواں پیاسے کے پاس خود آ جاتا ہے
    😀

    ~ Then you’re among the super blessed individuals 🙂 Do continue being grateful for these blessings, because we’re not sure what tomorrow brings.

  3. Pingback: Job Hunting | Tea Break

  4. farhan says:

    I agree with you nadia. Some people moan and complain about their jobs almost all the time. They never seem happy with whatever they get. One should always be dedicated towards his or her job and should be content with whatever he has.

    ~ Also, if they are not content for whatever reasons, they should at least not be overly vocal about it. They can do something constructive in order to be content: more action, less words 😀

  5. Niyaz says:

    i have experienced the same bfre 4 years , as a fresher i went to Singapore on visit visa & finally got a job dre..Those are unforgettable dayz in my life .
    Reading ur post makes me realizing myself at this stage , alhamdhulilah god has given me a nice job , hope i vl come out of ma dream world in to this real life.

    Thanks for your post sis.

    ~ For those who strive hard, nothing’s impossible 🙂 May Allah bless you more, my brother.

  6. misspecs says:

    OMG, i’ve just started looking for a job and I’m quite sure that’s what happens to everyone’s CV. All that hard work and in the end it just boils down to luck in a way. 😦

    ~ Don’t be discouraged. I’ll be praying for you 🙂

    Is it true that it’s easier for women to get a job in Pakistan as compared to men?

  7. misspecs says:

    Yes, that’s true. But it comes with certain, shall i say, commitments, which girls like me cannot do.

    Of my class who graduated, those having a ‘dinner with the boss’ are much better off (right now) than those who are not. You need some looks and some nakhra… then, its easy. If you’re not that type, you have to try as hard as the men, then!

    ~ Hmm, that’s sad.

  8. Shan says:

    I have been through this,,,,,, not the same situation as u stated i was lucky to be hunting for job in Paki land so obviously had no tension for place to live and conveyance ,,,,, after passing out of my business school it took almost 4 months to get a job,,, i have been giving interviews though,, but i was going sick sitting at home had to do nothing,,,,,, Allhamdullah i got settled down now,,,,, have been thinking the other day to go to dubai for a job hunt but ur post has really discouraged me 😀

    ~ This post is definitely not meant to discourage those who aspire to try their luck here in the U.A.E. I just wanted to show this side of the story: the struggles that some people go through finding a job here. Unless you try your luck here, you’ll never know what’s in store for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

