Customer Service

I went straight to the jewellery shop yesterday from work to pick the ring that Masood had ordered to gift me. I fell in love with the ring the moment I laid my eyes on it, but since it wasn’t my size, the salesman asked us to return in two days, while they fix the size of the ring. This particular shop is quite far from home, so the salesman suggested that they would deliver the ring to their other branch, which is close to where my parents live.

So armed with the receipt, I entered the shop to collect my ring. The staff looked busy, except for a Filipina lady, who was standing in a corner, apparently trying to avoid dealing with me, another tired-from-work customer during the rush hour.

But when I started to walk towards her, she had to force a smile, knowing there is no way she can rid of me easily. “Yes, how may I help you?” She asked. I showed her the receipt and explained that I came to collect the ring. So she looked somewhere in the small boxes under the glass counter, and retrieved a brown paper bag, with my name written on it. She took out the ring and handed it over to me.

“Err, don’t you have a box to put this in?” I asked.

“Just check it first,” She said.

So I slipped the ring onto my finger, where it fitted perfectly. Meanwhile, the saleslady went to the other corner of the store to get a box. I followed her. That’s when I overheard her speak to another Filipina saleslady in Tagalog.

“I didn’t want to give her a box, but when I gave the ring to her, she demanded for a box, so I just told her to check the ring, while I get the box.”

Unfortunately for her, I can decently speak the language. So imagine her shock when I told her,”Do you usually just give your customers their purchased items like this, without a box or a bag? Given the price of this ring, you could have packed it in a decent box.”

“I’m so sorry, Ma’am, but the shop where you bought this ring, they just gave it to us in a small paper bag,” she tried to explain, the color from her face draining.

“But you didn’t even give me that small paper bag. You just handed this ring over like it’s from a bargain sale or something.” Iftar time was just 30 minutes away. I’m trying to calm down.

She kept apologizing.

A couple of minutes later ….

My ring was comfortably settled in its beautiful red box, which in turn was comfortably settled in its beautiful red paper bag.

A birthday and Eid gift from Masood
A birthday and Eid gift from Masood

 

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Customer Service

  1. ummtravis says:

    Ma shaa Allah it is beautiful!

    I am surprised, Damas usually has lots of gorgeous bags and boxes!

    Check out this link sis, if you like I can find more for you, but this one is most simple in shaa Allah.

    http://www.fatwaislam.com/fis/index.cfm?scn=fd&ID=440

    ~ Thanks, sis.

    Regarding the link that you have provided, I can’t seem to load the page 😦

    Fifteen minutes later….

    Finally got through your given link; it seems as if it is somehow being blocked here in the U.A.E.

    Thank you for your reminder regarding celebrating birthdays. I truly appreciate it πŸ™‚

    Please allow me to clarify though that neither Masood nor I celebrate birthdays. Masood is a very loving man, who tries to grab every single opportunity as an excuse to give me a gift. This ring is mainly his Eid gift for me. However, my birth date is also a few days away, so he just thought that it could also be a present for that day.

    That’s why the caption there says, birthday and Eid gift.

  2. Niyaz says:

    wow its looking cute sis , maashallah !!

    i guess u had a bitter experience in damas ..worthless employees spoiling the shops name doin things like this…..

    ~ Thanks, Niyaz πŸ™‚

    We always have had good customer service at Damas, it was only this particular saleslady who didn’t seem so enthusiastic about her job. And yes, it does have a bad impact on shops like these.

  3. masood says:

    I dont understand why some people could not digest Asians purchasing high profile gifts…. the customer care lady would have reacted differently if the customer is westerner..I had observed lot of times these differences based on colors.

    ~ Most Filipinos have this “craze” for Caucasians, mainly because they have been ruled by Spaniards and Americans for so long. But then, this kind of thinking is not limited to only Filipinos.

  4. Pingback: Customer Service | Tea Break

  5. Ordinary Girl says:

    Oooohhh!! Must be fun catching someone ‘red-handed’ like that! πŸ˜€ Sadly, I haven’t ever had the pleasure! 😦

    MashaAllah, wonderful ring! πŸ™‚ I have always liked these band-looking rings.

    ~ At that moment, it wasn’t fun. I was actually disappointed because I find Filipinos to be good in sales and customer service. Later however, when I was narrating this to Masood, it did feel like fun having caught her off guard πŸ™‚

    Me too, I never had a band-looking ring. I had those gold rings that comes with the jewellery set. This one is really cute, the band actually overlaps slightly at the point where the diamond is embedded πŸ™‚ Simple, yet very elegant.

  6. mubi says:

    ring as its turning out..everyone’s loving it mashallah
    and lol, wow ,,you knew the language..thats cool!
    and did i mention i LOVE damas..sigh!

    ~ Thanks, Mubi. It is always an advantage to learn a foreign language πŸ™‚ Yeah, I am also a Damas fan!

  7. serendipitouslife says:

    Congrats on getting a lovely present, mashaAllah!

    I had my newly purchased ring from ARY cut to size. The salesman was very curteous. I didn’t even expect it, but when i went back to collect my sized ring, they even gave me back the tiny portion of the gold that was cut out!
    Don’t know what to do with it, though.

    ~ Thanks πŸ™‚

    Lucky you πŸ˜‰ Nobody usually returns the cut-out portion. You can just keep it somewhere, I guess, as a remembrance.

  8. Nisa says:

    Awww, thats a really sweet gift Mashallah! Next year, I’m sure Masood bhai is gonna give u an even bigger piece πŸ˜›

    I love catching ppl off guard with a language they think we dun speak/understand! I pity the filipina lady but i wish i can see her reaction too! LOL.
    I get into situations like these when ppl assume i dun speak urdu/punjabi.

    ~ Thanks, Nisa πŸ™‚

    The Filipina lady literally turned pale when she heard me speak her language, hehe. Yeh log boht jaldi dar jatey hain, ghabrajatey hain (based on my own experience). Perhaps you should tell some of your own experiences too πŸ™‚

  9. BholiBhali says:

    Awwww MashAllah such cute lovely gift πŸ™‚ Congratulations! Allah bless u both with lots of happiness and may ur love grow with every passing sec, Ameen!

    As 4 that lady and the service, Its sad that this take place, but I guess there are lots of ppl out there who get “ashamed” like that every day by their assumptions that the other person dont know what they talking abt πŸ˜› but gr8 done sis, im sure she will be giving gud service in future, if she 1of those who learn from their mistakes that is.. πŸ™‚

    ~ Ameen to your dua, and thanks! πŸ™‚

    I hope she does learn from her mistake, because if customers complain a lot, she might just lose her job. She kept apologizing when I spoke to her in the same language. And once somebody apologizes to me, the issue no longer matters πŸ™‚

  10. Ab says:

    1) My mom got a gift from my dad while we were in Dubai this summer also, which was from Damas and came in that little red bag :-). The bag is still sitting on the kitchen table lol at my parents’ house.

    2) You are so cool because you can speak Tagalog. lol :p

    ~ Hope you had a great time here. I tried to comment on one of your posts, but it somehow didn’t get through. And yes, I am also planning to keep the bag πŸ˜€

  11. Aadil says:

    Lovely gift! MashaAllah!
    Its amazing you know tha Filipino language as well πŸ™‚

    ~ Thanks, Aadil πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Customer Service in 2020 « Thoughts From Dubai

  13. Serene says:

    Wow! This is a lovely gift! Happy birthday! Don’t let the memory spoiled by the lady reaction.

    ~ Thanks, Serene! I am in seventh heaven lately, nothing can spoil my mood πŸ˜‰

  14. UmmAbdullah says:

    Masha’Allah, beautiful ring! Congrats!

    You speak Tagalog? Wow! How did you learn it?

    ~ Thanks πŸ™‚

    I was in the Philippines for a decade πŸ˜€

  15. Wakas Mir says:

    Lovely gift .. and for a moment I thought the language was TagAlong πŸ˜› Rock on sis how many other lingos you speak btw..

    ~ LOL @ TagAlong πŸ˜€

  16. Π΄Β§mΠ΄ says:

    In the end all that matters is the gift. And thats one gorgeous ring, congratos πŸ™‚

    If you be me, save the box too .. its pretty too πŸ˜‰

    ~ You’re absolutely right! And yes, I’d be saving both the box and the bag πŸ™‚

  17. Amir says:

    That is a beautiful ring, mashallah. Sometimes I wish I knew a language that wasn’t apparently obvious. People can be so cruel when they don’t think you understand.

    ~ Thanks πŸ™‚ Yes, that’s true. People will be taking about you, right in front of you. But then, at least they’re not “back” biting, hehe. Of course, it’s still very rude.

  18. Mezba says:

    I liked the damas bags when I was in UAE – that’s where I bought most of the jewelery I had to for gift purposes. Of course if you are in a store when an Emirati lady and her entourage walks in, be prepared to see all the sales associates gravitate towards them while you are left stuck with the one attendant who doesn’t really want to help you! πŸ˜›

    ~ LOL, yeah, I can imagine that scene πŸ˜€

  19. awahid says:

    I can understand the presentation matters alot
    BTW
    what did you do with the box? πŸ˜€

    ~ Nothing, I will just keep the box in the red bag, and keep it with the other beautiful boxes that has somehow become my collection πŸ™‚ Or perhaps recycle them when the time comes, like to use them to pack gifts and such.

  20. Ab says:

    “~ Hope you had a great time here.”
    It was pretty fun, I must say!

    “I tried to comment on one of your posts, but it somehow didn’t get through.”
    This is why one uses wordpress and not a made-at-home copy of wordpress (because the one made at home has bugs!).
    I fixed the comment error though, it should work now πŸ™‚

    ~ LOL @ homemade copy of WordPress πŸ˜€

    And yeah, that bug is fixed. My comment finally got through πŸ™‚

  21. Haleem says:

    this is nice!

    here in Toronto they use Dubai gold as a standard actually! apparently gold from Dubai is truly authentic and one you can trust whereas subcontinent apparently is the worst, while in Toronto it depends where you buy it from (some desistani places most likely to rip you off).

    As an aside, I am reading your first comment, WHY would birthday be haram?

    ~ I think Dubai gold is a standard in a lot of places, the authenticity is due to the fact that the government is very strict with their regulations and frequent checking. We have also purchased gold in India and Pakistan, but made sure we went to those shops with “name” and good reputation.

    I don’t think celebrating birthdays is haraam, it’s just discouraged by Islamic scholars. In our family, we don’t throw birthday parties and invite friends. Personally, I take this day to pray 2 rakat nafl as a gratitude to Allah for His blessings. My sisters and I would gift each other during birthdays. Masood also loves to give gifts. I believe there’s nothing wrong with that. We also have this family tradition of exempting the ‘birthday person’ from household chores πŸ˜€

  22. Mary says:

    I tried to comment here the other day, and it wouldn’t work. Here goes again. This ring looks beautiful and you deserved much better treatment. Glad you were assertive and got yourself a box for your ring. I’d love to see a closer up picture!

    ~ Thank you, Mary. I tried for a close up picture, but didn’t turn out well.

Leave a Reply

