When You See “Stuff” You Aren’t Supposed To See

“What is it?” I asked my sister, S, who was sitting besides me, staring out of a window into the dark. It was a hot summer night, and would we usually leave our bedroom window open and curtains drawn to let the fresh, cool air in. That night, my two sisters and I slept in one bed after staying up well until midnight sharing childhood stories. The bed was placed against the wall, just below the window, where I had been lying. S was in the middle, and N was fast asleep at the other end of bed, away from the wall. I woke up from my sleep and found S sitting besides me.

“Nothing, Appi.” She answered casually, and lay down besides me. “Nothing? Why were you staring out of the window in the middle of the night? Is something bothering you?” Being the oldest, I had to know everything. That’s when she finally told me, “I saw a girl; she’s crying.”

Those words were enough to give me the goosebumps. I had been terribly afraid of the unseen ever since the incident happened when I was still too young to commit to memory all the details. I went into the kitchen to get a glass of water, and when I didn’t return to the balcony right away, where the family had been gathered for some coffee, my Mother got worried. She found me unconscious on the kitchen floor. My Mother later told me that I was very frightened when I regained consciousness, and told them about a dark shadow blocking my way. I do not remember the details, and perhaps I’m glad that I don’t.

But S is different. She doesn’t get scared. I assume it’s because she sees them so frequently that it has become so natural to her. But how can someone get used to these sights?

During summers in Karachi, we would go to the roof at night whenever there’s power failure. The breeze is cool and the skies are clear so we enjoyed gazing at the stars until we fell asleep. Sometime during the night, my Mother would wake us up and tell us to return to our rooms downstairs. The roofs of the houses in the neighborhood have low boundaries or walls, and people say that thieves usually pass through these roofs to make their way into the next house. So it wasn’t considered safe to sleep there. But one evening, S came down telling Mother, in a very calm tone, that she saw an old man with a long, white beard telling her to return to her room, and that’s why she came down.

I tell her not to discuss these visions of hers with me. I am not comfortable, and never will be. I think I have seen shadows and the sort, but nothing too detailed for me to make out what exactly they were. I would usually end up reciting the Ayatul Qursi, and feel so much safe afterwards.

Since marriage, however, my fears have subsided dramatically, Alhumdulillah. I know that I must not let these fears consume me. For if there’s someone that should be feared, it’s the Almighty.

…and fear Allah, for He knows well the secrets of your hearts.” [Quran 5:7]

 

How about you? Have you seen them?


This entry was posted in Family, Islam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to When You See “Stuff” You Aren’t Supposed To See

  1. Pingback: When You See β€œStuff” You Aren’t Supposed To See | Tea Break

  2. masood says:

    I have also gone through similar experiences in my college days at the hostel. Allah has given us the strong shield, which protects us from the unseen and that is nothing but the Ayatal Qursi. SubhanaAllah!

    ~ You’re right, Allah is our Protector.

  3. Nice Melons says:

    Wow, this sound very familiar.

    Thanks for linking me to your post.

    ~ You’re welcome. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  4. Umm Travis says:

    Assalamu alaykum,

    Sis, please read more on the “unseen”

    Although their affects are very real, our ability to see them is NOT, and I have heard this from a number of sources, but here is some which you can refer to in shaa Allah

    http://www.troid.org/new-basics/more-important-basics/the-world-of-jinn-spirits.html

    http://www.troid.org/ibaadah/more-benefits-./what-you-cant-see-can-hurt-you-the-jinn-magic-and-the-evil-eye.html

    ~ Walaikum Assalam, my dear sister. I’m glad you stopped by πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the links. I’m going to read them, InshaAllah.

    I am in the process of writing a follow-up post on this topic, on how Islam views the ‘unseen’, and will publish it soon, InshaAllah.

  5. Haleem says:

    Things that go bump in the night indeed!

    I too have had some “experiences” that I can’t explain away – except that I am glad I am still one whole piece!

    Oh well .. it was either that… or a really bad night of solving Quantum Physics equations …

    ~ I guess we all have our own share of experiences with the unseen.

  6. Amir says:

    I haven’t ever experienced this, but have heard stories, yours is just one more. It kind of freaks me out too πŸ™‚ I believe Saif at one point could see or sense them, when he was younger. There would be moments where he would refuse to enter a room/space out total utter fear, where he’d been many times before. Nothing we could do could convince him to enter, and if we held him, he would cry and cry.

    ~ Honestly speaking, when kids do that, they totally freak me out! I regret the day I watched ‘The Omen’. How old was Saif then? Does he not mention anything now?

  7. moukound says:

    well yeah… there’s something above that guides us. You never know in what form HE wants to guide you. He may come in the form of a stranger also….. I know lots of people who have had such experiences πŸ™‚

    ~ Allah definitely has His mysterious ways of helping us.

  8. Yawar says:

    This was really well written. I, for one don’t get scared easily but I know other family members who’ve felt a “presence”.

    ~ Thank you πŸ™‚

  9. Amir says:

    Oh, he was about 2 or 3 at the time. He doesn’t mention anything now.

    ~ Oh good. It must be such a relief.

  10. Ghazala Khan says:

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Pakistani side of Internet. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the blogistan.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable Pakistani bloggers, writers and web masters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you dont mind. Please send me your approval for your interview at ghazala.khi at gmail.com, so that I could send you the questions. We would be extremely grateful. We have done many interviews with many bloggers from Pakistan like Dr. Awab, Kashif Aziz, Fahd Mirza, Unaiza Nasim, Omer Alvi and host of others. We have also interviewed prominent figures like renowned writer Dr. Ayesha Siddiqa Agha, Dawn Columnist Urdsher Cowasjee and plethora of others.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com

  11. sistersabiha says:

    I see them often and have mixed feelings about them. I don’t know what it means though now that I am a convert, before it was just a “gift” though it doesn’t always feel like that.

    ~ Welcome to my blog, sister Sabiha! I’m so glad you stopped by. I am going to write a follow up post on this topic, so that I may provide you with some answers, InshaAllah. Until then, you take care. πŸ™‚

  12. Niyaz says:

    yes it happened lot of times in ma childhood , quiet scary at those days…alhamdhulilah god s dre to protect us ..

    ~ Are these visions common with children? Is it because they are innocent?

  13. supersizeme says:

    Hi,
    I just found this on teabreak, I did a similar post last year. http://supersizeme.wordpress.com/2007/11/15/do-you-believe-in-ghosts/

    I believe in the supernatural, not spirits but jinn. they’re around us, i like to blank that thought out though and always read ayat-ul-qursi. i’m really afraid of the dark, which sounds silly and unexplainable to people these days, so i dont admit it out loud as i’m ‘bravely’ doing now.. haha. sometimes i dont know whether it’s just me and my imagination or those eerie presences are real but they do make your hair stand on end.

    ~ Oh dear, your experiences are pretty scary. No wonder you’re afraid of the dark, I would be too! I hope things are more ‘quiet’ over at Lancashire now.

  14. Pingback: Islam on Ghosts and Visions « Walking Through

  15. Sumera says:

    I just get a lot of deja vu. But never seen anything out of the ordinary.

    ~ Hope it stays that way, hehe. I wouldn’t mind not having any of these visions ever! πŸ™‚

  16. Niyaz says:

    we cant say it is common for children , i also heard these kinda things frm my relatives who r old people indeed…Something is dre but i don knw whether our religion believe this..i’m blank n this.:-(
    sorry !!

    ~ Islam believes in jinn as the ‘unseen’ dwelling amongst us. There is, however, no basis for ghosts or souls of the dead returning to visit us.

  17. Niyaz says:

    thnks for the info !

  18. Niyaz says:

    i jus read ur latest post , which explains well abt ma doubts ..

    ~ I’m glad you found the info useful πŸ™‚

  19. Sabiha says:

    I remember that night when you told us (Nikki, Sumaiya, Mateen and me) about your sister’s visions of unseen in Hyderabad last year. We were very much interested to listen :D. And I think you was also enjoying by seeing our scared faces;)

  20. nadia says:

    Oh, that. Yeah, I love scaring little kids like that πŸ˜€

  21. Pingback: Islam on Ghosts and Visions | Nadia Masood

Leave a Reply

