The Grocer, His Supermarket, and My Bread

I needed a loaf of bread and some coriander leaves, so I dial the grocer’s number.

“Hello,” answers the Irani grocer. That’s it: just hello.

“Umm, is this the grocery?” Who knows I might have dialed the wrong number.

“No. This is the supermarket.” He sounds offended.

“Oh ok, sorry. Can you please send a bunch of coriander leaves and bread to Flat Number 123 please?”

“Bread?”

“Yes, bread.”

“What size?”

“Medium.”

“Ok.” He hangs up.

Minutes later, he sent someone with a bunch of coriander leaves and a bag of medium-sized pita bread.

Of course, it is my fault.

This entry was posted in Msc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Grocer, His Supermarket, and My Bread

  1. masood says:

    lol.. that’s the reason why I prefer going down and bringing things myself without wasting time.

  2. Pingback: The Grocer, His Supermarket, and My Bread | Tea Break

  3. Ordinary girl says:

    of course, the shop keeper is always right! 😀

  4. Amir says:

    This is interesting 🙂 Never had the opportunity to have a grocer deliver my food (well I have but it was online grocery 😛 )

  5. Mary says:

    Did you enjoy the pita bread? I think it sounds good – wish I had some! : )

  6. Jus says:

    Irritating! Is this a new grocer you’re calling or just a new employee?

  7. nadia says:

    Ordinary Girl ~ Sometimes, if they’re in a good mood, they often acknowledge their mistakes.

    Amir ~ That’s one of the luxuries we have here. You can have any food or household item delivered without any additional charges 🙂

    Mary ~ I wanted to make sandwiches, so I had to return the pita bread. But the grocer did eventually deliver the bread, hehe.

    Jus ~ No, he is not new. It’s just language problem. He doesn’t understand me, and I don’t understand him.

    I once asked to have a raspberry jam delivered, and since he didn’t quite understand what that was, he sent one jar each from ALL the jam flavors that he had in his store!

    I think I’m past the irritating phase myself. But Masood prefers to get the stuff himself, hehe.

    Oh, and never call his supermarket a grocery store!

  8. Hina says:

    You should have sent him the wrong amount or the amount in a different currency… 😛

  9. nadia says:

    Too bad I didn’t have Pakistani rupees that time, hehe

  10. Yazi says:

    It reminds me of lil manifesto i had written back in days for a marketing pitch and named it:

    “If you don’t take care of your customers, Someone else will.”

    It takes about 7 times the effort to get a new customer than to continue serving a satisfied customer who returns and returns and returns..

    Oh yea giving him a wrong number everyday or two and i wonder will he continue providing that service… i wouldn’t recommend that for sake of humanity.

  11. nadia says:

    I guess this particular grocer do need some training in marketing skills.

    Although it’s pretty tempting to give him the wrong flat number, but I don’t think I have the courage to do that…besides, it’s the poor delivery boy who’ll suffer the most.

    I think it’s best if I learn the Arabic names of the basic commodities to avoid confusion in the future.

  12. Rainbow In the Grey Sky says:

    cool home delivery for small items , thanks for commenting on my blog , nice post you have here, read you again real soon!

    ~ Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

