Do You Suffer From Internet Addiction Disorder?

The Internet Addiction Disorder or IAD was identified or named sometime in 1999. The research methodology has been weak, and therefore this particular disorder hasn’t seem to make it in the official guidebooks of mental disorders. Mental health professionals, however, recognizing the very obvious symptoms of internet addiction, classified it as an Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

Internet addiction is not simply an urge; it manifests itself as a craving.

Four distinct symptoms:

1. Withdrawal, associated with sense of anger or depression when user can not use the computer.

2. Constant need for better equipment.

3. Social isolation

4. Fatigue

Curious, I took an online Internet Addiction Test here.

My result:

32 points: You are an average on-line user. You may surf the Web a bit too long at times, but you have control over your usage.

Thank goodness!

So, what’s your score?

PS. You might want to try Laila’s Twelve Step Internet Recovery Program here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Do You Suffer From Internet Addiction Disorder?

  1. Julien says:

    Funny… my core is 54. here what they say: “You are experiencing occasional or frequent problems because of the Internet. You should consider their full impact on your life.”
    Well, I guess I’ll have to refrain myself from surfing on th web!

  2. Jen E says:

    I got a 41 – I was actually worried it would be higher… hmmm…

  3. serendipitouslife says:

    I, too, took the test nervously….aniticipating a very horrendous score. But thank God. I scored 36! Not bad, but i still need to work on reducing it (online time & score) further.

  4. SAWJ says:

    Crap…I’m just a 40! Need to spend more time on the internet. πŸ™‚

  5. basra says:

    Boy am i glad im only at 23! lol yippe for me i guess…a year ago i may have been at 50 or above but of late the net has just gotten too dull…with the exception of blogging ofcourse.

  6. Ash says:

    gawsh!! even being a computer science student, my score is just 15
    wow!!
    i was afraid as i kept thinking by my own tht i am to addicted but i am noit(if this test is not fake:))

  7. nadia says:

    I can not guarantee the credibility of this test, but it’s certainly fun to take. Have you answered all the questions honestly? πŸ˜‰

    Just kidding! Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

  8. Nayni says:

    ……….. Oooooo Unexpected Result……

    And the result is …

    ” YOU are not addicted to internet , INTERNET is addicted to you ” πŸ˜‰

  9. nadia says:

    I should’ve installed that anti-virus. Online tests can be so vulnerable πŸ˜€

  10. Laila says:

    OMG I got 66. You know I had a post about internet addiction a while ago with all the symptoms associated with it and what you can do about it.

  11. Ordinary girl says:

    Oh thank God! I thought I was going to get somewhere around in 90’s but I scored 47. But then it IS on the higher side!

  12. Yazi says:

    Haha, i shld be taking tht!!
    8 hours of work on cpu/net, than blogging/chatting/emailing/facebook

    πŸ™‚

    good day!

    PS. OMG its only 35
    “You are an average on-line user. You may surf the Web a bit too long at times, but you have control over your usage.”

    wow, i thought i did spent a lot of time netting, 2-3 hrs besides work, amazing

  13. nadia says:

    Yazi, perhaps you answered “does not apply” instead of “rarely” πŸ˜€

  14. Niyaz says:

    hehe i’m having all d symptoms for almost past 3 years even now its same !!
    sure its an addict , i can realize it but hard to stay away frm internet…its a kinda air 4 me πŸ™‚

  15. hungrybritain says:

    I have been increasingly troubled by my internet addiction. At first it didn’t seem so much as an addiction as an enjoyable pastime then slowly but surely I began to see even the most menial task on the Net as having way too much importance in my life. While spending more than 10 hours a day on the Internet I began to realise that actually I could only get less than half the things done that I used to. Productivity and work are all suffering not to mention my relationship with my wife.

    Trouble is I know I need some sort of help but am at a loss for what to do? I tried looking at professional psychiatric help for addictions but I don’t know if I am using a sledgehammer to crack a nut. And it takes way too much time and costs way above my means. I have also tried scouring the net and managed to pick up a lot of reading material such as Dr Young work on the subject which has been quite helpful and detailed. I also came across a neat piece of software which automatically stops you from surfing too long on specific sites which has been rather good at stopping me being addicted for too long you can find this product at http://www.internetandaddiction.com well worth a try. But the fact remains that this problem has not been taken seriously enough by the people who really matter i.e. the ISP and Major Internet players for obvious reasons you might think but isn’t it about time they did ??

    Would love to know how others cope with the same issues and what people think of Dr Kimberly Young suggestions and the software mentioned above.

  16. Emily says:

    Hi

    I am a researcher working for a TV company that is looking to find people who have an addiction to the internet, and who are willing to talk about how this has affected their life, eg relationships, work, family life. If this has affected you, and you would be interested in talking candidly with me (in a non-virtual way) please email me at: emilie.h@rapidbroadcast.co.uk
    Many thanks, Emilie

Leave a Reply

