Biggest Qur’an

 

 

Source

 

Sayed Najmul Hasan Chisti claims that he has prepared the biggest Qur’an in the world, which is 8 feet broad and 5 feet long. It has 63 pages, which took 9 years to complete.

The display will be held in the Ajmer, India. The occasion? Devotees of Khwaja Garib Nawaj Chisti, the most famous Sufi saint of South Asia, will be celebrating the 796th Urs of the saint.

Urs pertains to the death anniversary of a Saint.

So this biggest Qur’an will be kept in the dargah or shrine’s premises.

“A team of Guinness world records Book would reach here on July 6 to verify the claim of biggest Qur’an of the world.” Said Najmul. The dargah committee agreed to display the Qur’an for the devotees who will come here to participate in the Urs. Source

But how about those who don’t want to participate? Won’t they be allowed a glimpse of the Qur’an?

And what’s the deal behind this Urs, anyway? I have seen dargahs – shrines of saints. But I have never been into one. When I was still in grade school, I remember one of my Aunts had problems conceiving a child. So an elder woman, a neighbor, suggested that my Aunt go to this dargah in Clifton (Karachi) and sacrifice a goat, and ask the saint to intercede in her prayers. I’m not sure whether my Aunt followed that advice or not.

During our recent trip to India, Hubby and I came across a famous dargah in Agra, while sightseeing. Our guide insisted that we visit the shrine. We refused and explained that we do not believe in making our du’as over someone’s grave. He said ok, but then asked us to buy a green chadur, or cloth, and offer it to the shrine. By offering, he meant, he would place that chadur over the grave. “The money will go to charity,” he insisted. But Hubby knew well enough that after we’re gone, they will remove the chadur from the grave, and sell it to the next person.

Just to give you an idea …

Source

 

But what do these people do inside the dargah? First, they come with the intention to pray to Allah, but with the intercession of a saint, who is believed to be so holy that Allah would listen to him. People, with all their problems and burdens, come with an unwavering faith, but not in the Almighty, but in the “capabilities” of the saint to help them get their prayers answered.

Some buy the chadur, others buy flowers to place over the grave. Some sacrifice a goat or lamb, even a cow. Others cook an entire meal for 50 – 100 people, and distribute it among the poor. These “poor” are always outside the dargah waiting for such meals.

There are also those devotees who prostrate before the grave. These are Muslims, sad to say. They cover and bow their heads, lift their hands, and pray.

During Urs, a group of people perform the qawwali, singing praises of the saint. People sit, listen to this music, and clap their hands.

 

Source

 

Even women visit these graves.

 

Source

 

There are instances when a mosque is nearby, yet people prefer to go to these dargahs than pray in the mosque itself. How do they know with such great certainty that this saint will be able to intercede in their prayers?

Allah must give permission to the intercessor to intercede, because Allah says in the Qur’an:

 

“Who is he that can intercede with Him except with His Permission?” [al-Baqarah 2:255]

 

“…whose intercession will avail nothing except after Allah has given leave for whom He wills and is pleased with.” [al-Najm 53:26]

 

This is exactly what Allah described the early mushrikeen (people who committed shirk) as doing:

 

“…the contemporary mushrikoon say “the awliya’ (‘saints’) intercede for us; we cannot ask of Allah (directly) so we ask them and they ask of Allah.” And they say that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) and all the Prophets and righteous people were given the power of intercession, and we call upon them and say, intercede for us as Allah has given you the power of intercession…By doing this they fall into the same shirk as those who came before them, and they compare the Creator to His creation.” [Yoonus 10:18 – interpretation of the meaning]

 

So why not ask Allah directly, He who knows the secrets of our hearts?

 

 

This entry was posted in Islam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Biggest Qur’an

  1. Maha says:

    I agree with you on this 100%. I was raised as Catholic where praying to saints is acceptable. In fact, Catholic churches are usually named after patron (guardian) saints and the churches are decked out with statues of saints where people kneel and offer prayers.

    Because I grew up around this, it isn’t strange to me. In fact, my grandmother and I used to ask the Virgin Mary to “intercede” for us and to “deliver” our prayers to God. Growing up around this, I don’t condemn the people who do it, but I completely condemn the practice itself–I would agree with you that from an Islamic perspective it is committing shirk.

    When I started to become more aware of the practice (around age of 10), I began having a HUGE problem with statues of saints. In fact, my family began thinking there was something wrong with me. I began thinking there was something wrong with myself—that I was “evil” for rejecting some part of the religion with which I was raised. I remember a time when I took all the prayer cards and little statues of saints and shoved them in a drawer and my mom totally freaked out. lol.

    As I came to Islam (many many years later), however, I began understanding why I used to resent these practices. And I found great relief to know there was nothing “wrong” with me for rejecting this. I also found relief to learn that the most logical thing is to pray directly to our Creator instead of his creation. Otherwise, whether intentional or not, we run the risk of putting someone/something in the place of God.

    My family is Catholic and most of my friends are Catholics. I cannot condemn people, but I do condemn the practice. For the most part, those who ask saints for intercession, believe that God is the One who answers prayers and the saints “help”. Others don’t pray to saints, but they hold them as role models for living a good life (I personally think there’s nothing wrong with this—I’d like a society that would try to imitate the good deeds of Mother Theresa instead of the wild life of Lindsay Lohan, lol).

    Anyways, thanks for sharing! I will repost this on my own blog and see if I get some of my Catholic readers to chime in 🙂

  2. nadia says:

    Maha, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on the matter! You had been, it appears, kept away from the acts of shirk at a very young age, mashaAllah.

    “I’d like a society that would try to imitate the good deeds of Mother Theresa instead of the wild life of Lindsay Lohan.” Ha ha 😀 I agree to that. There’s nothing wrong in holding a pious person role model in one’s life; in fact, we as Muslims, are encouraged to follow the ways of the prophet (may peace be upon him) and his companions.

  3. Khanum says:

    🙂 I love coming back to your blog time to time and find peace on so rich posts like this. jazakillah for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

