Al Qasba

I just wanted to take a walk. I thought Hubby will take me to a nearby park. But we arrived at Al Qasba, just in time for the Maghrib prayers.

Since we usually hang out in Dubai, I really haven’t seen much of Sharjah yet. Qanat al Qasba, as previously known, is situated in the heart of Sharjah, the cultural capital of the U.A.E.

On March 12, 2008, this cultural hub unveiled its new face with the brand new image “Al Qasba“.

Al Qasba is definitely a place to unwind and relax, alone or with your family. There are lots of food chains to chose from. Being a weekend, there were lots of women and children, so I refrained from taking photographs of the restaurants and the musical fountain.

I have only one regret: I wasn’t able to bring my camera and had to take these photos with my cellphone.

This entry was posted in Sharjah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Al Qasba

  1. Jus says:

    Oh Wow.. they have rivers .. I thought its like desert thru out.

  2. nadia says:

    There are no rivers or lakes in the UAE. That is a man-made canal and goes into the sea (I think). The country has a coastline, dotted with islands, along the Persian Gulf and Gulf of Oman.

    Tap water comes from treated sea water. We use that for cooking, washing, and bathing. We buy bottled water for drinking purposes. UAE is already the largest consumer of bottled water in the world. Oh, and water here costs more than gasoline.

  3. Jus says:

    I see i see.. oh my gosh you read a lot i can feel… your vast amount of knowledge of the things you write about… =)

  4. nadia says:

    Hehe..well, I love to read, that’s it. And I love to share.

  5. methewriter says:

    Please also note the fact that for ten dirhams you can get a boat ride through the corniche. That is really wonderful..Right? Next time, dont miss this opportunity.

  6. nadia says:

    Thank you. Fact noted. I’ll be visiting the place again soon, so will definitely try the boat ride.

  7. Denis Eugene Arackal says:

    Al Qasaba offers more these days

  8. nadia says:

    Hi, Denis. Welcome back to my blog!

    My husband and I do have plans to visit Al Qasba again soon 🙂

  9. Pingback: Al Qasba Revisited « Walking Through

  10. Denis Eugene Arackal says:

    Nadia, The bookshop has some reduction offers going on now….

    ~ Where exactly is that bookshop? And until when is the offer?

  11. Pingback: Al Qasba Revisited | Nadia Masood

Leave a Reply

